We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disapointing”

Hamilton’s Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Malelane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Named after the first warden of the Kruger National Park Col. James Stevenson Hamilton. Hamiltons offers a Relaxed atmosphere with a colonial touch. Open from 9am offering Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner 7 days a week. The ala cart menu is sesonal, with options from home made Pasta, Bunny Chow and Burger through to deboned Chicken, well matured Sirlon and Prawns. To compliment the menu there is an extensive Wine list.Hamiltons is available for functions and does outside catering, to avoid disapointment it is advisable to make a reservation.We look forward to seeing you.
2 reviews
“Very disapointing”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Arrived at 7. Settled in with a bottle of wine and ordered at 7:30. We only received our food at 9:05, they got the order wrong and the place was only half full. Won't be coming back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeT_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevor T, Owner at Hamilton’s Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Mike, thank you for reviewing us, we will endeavor to improve on on our service and communication skills which must have been below par on the day, we appreciate you bringing it to our attention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    59
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very good food and friendly staff. The food arrived fast and there was plenty of it. Good wines and local (South African) beers.
Nothing we didn't like!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Familien_Kokholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevor T, Owner at Hamilton’s Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback! we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A nice restaurant on the road from Malelane Gate to the town. Friendly service and nice atmosphere. Food can be served outside on request. Good food and value for money. I recommend the springbok carpaccios. Good winelist.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevor T, Owner at Hamilton’s Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Hamiltons may not look like much from the roadside, but the restaurant is actually quite amazing. The deck offers great views over the Lowveld, and has a great, laid-back atmosphere. The bar area also has lots of charm.

During our visit, the waiters were friendly, fast and attentive. The food, however, was simply superb. We opted for the chicken livers light meal to share as a starter. Absolutely perfect! The mains (pork belly) were also great.

The prices were reasonable too, and I can honestly recommend Hamiltons if you are in the Malelane area. We stayed across the road at Pestana, but much preferred the fare at Hamiltons.



Helpful?
2 Thank WallasBallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon T, Owner at Hamilton’s Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
thank you for your comments! we appreciate all the feed back which will help us improve our srevice and food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We arrived late after a long trip from England and got a really warm welcome. The food was excellent (tempura prawns fantastic) and the atmosphere super.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamilton’s Restaurant also viewed

Malelane, Mpumalanga
 
Malelane, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Hamilton’s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing