We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest Kruger tours in Nelspruit”

Nelspruit Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelspruit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nelspruit Backpackers
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights on the Baz bus. We were looking for somewhere to spend a couple of nights, go and see Kruger in one day and for as cheap as possible and this place was recommended.

We rented a private double for 2 nights. It was pretty much a double bed in one of the bedrooms of the house. The house is massive and includes a huge kitchen, pool table, a couple of computers for internet and cable tv.

Paul, the owner, met me at the gate and like the previous poster mentioned, it is like a family home. There was the family dog and kids and it looked like a normal family home. Paul was one awesome dude to chat with though. He met me at the door with a cold can of black label and we had a good chat for an hour about the local area and Kruger. It was good to get advice from a proper local.

The house has an awesome outdoors area to hang out in, with a bar right by the swimming pool, hammocks and an area for tents. Paul also has one of his mates come in every night to stand behind the bar and play tunes out by the pool. The bar tender was a awesome guy as well, he went right out of his way for me and some others who we were drinking with.

The family don't actually stay in the house, they have their own section just off the back of the house and they're cool and make you feel right at home anyway. The house definitely has the homely vibe. Paul's kids are really nice, friendly and polite and sort of stick to themselves anyway. Paul's wife was also very friendly and helpful. It was like visiting relatives who were just as welcoming.

This hostel made it as one of my highlights of South Africa so thanks to Paul, the bar tender guy (sorry, forgot your name) and Paul's wife and family.

The Kruger trip was just a couple of us from the hostel and Paul in the family car, cruising around Kruger seeing the all of the animals. Paul knew all of the good roads to go down and we saw all of the big 5 including rhino, leopard and lions. Really lucky! Paul even stopped off to let us pick up a six pack for the drive back.

P.S - For anyone heading to Mozambique, Paul has travelled loads throughout Mozambique and is an expert on it. He can help with visas and transfers to the border. Have a few beers with him around the bar at night and he would tell you all you need to know.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benoz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Nelspruit Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

I stayed here for a few days in September 2011. Lovely little place and friendly staff. However, the family who own the place were living there permanently and this made it very uncomfortable as there were 3 children and a few big dogs in and around the small little place that it is.
as it is there home they try o keep guests in the outside rooms and dorms which makes it not so nice feeling like a stranger in someones house

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

the family who runs this hostel make you really feel like home, they are very nice, helpful people. we did the blyderivier canyon tour with paul, the owner and we had a great day, really recommended! the rooms are a little small but very clean and comfy. they have a nice garden with a nice swimming pool. there is also a bar outside and a sofa for watching tv. the kitchen is clean and big enough to cook your own food. we really enjoyed our stay here!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blade29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

You really do stay with the family at Nelspruit Backpackers, as the place basically is their home, but they are a terrific family, and the place is safe, quiet, and welcoming without being in your face. It's an excellent option at a good price, and a very good place to arrange Kruger safaris from.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sodafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Stayed here over a period of two weeks.. spent a few days in the dorm and the rest camping out in the backyard...
Nelspruit Backpackers is located quite close to town and you have the Bar and Mall just up the road. The hosts are great and let you be. The place has a charm to it.. If I may say 'rustic beauty' to it.
The dorms are very comfortable and they have great campsites. Def recommend it to anybody heading to Nelspruit for a Kruger trip..!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galacticinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

They guys who run this hostel and bar are running this place very informaly. The beds are a bit worn out, but the slightly disorganised management makes this place great to stay at. Both guys are really friendly and very helpfull, plus the cleaning crew seem to know what they are doing.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tactix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ZOZORRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#10 of 70 in Nelspruit
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
245 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 18 in Nelspruit
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#9 of 78 in Nelspruit
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelspruit Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelspruit Backpackers

Address: 9 Andries Pretorius St, Nelspruit 1201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Nelspruit
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing