We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Elegant,Tranquil location and a home away from home !”
Review of Matumi Golf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matumi Golf Lodge
Ranked #26 of 80 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I had to attend a wedding in Nelspruit on the10th of September 2011 and we somewhat apprehensive about our accomodation. Nevertheless we went ahead and booked at Matumi Golf Lodge. In hindsight this was an excellent choice. The Lodge is filled with all the amenities that you require and breakfast was served in style. Our stay was epitomized by the warm and friendly service received from Yolandi, George and the rest of team. We had picked up a puncture and due to it being a Sunday could not immediately source a Run Flat Tyre. Yolandi went the extra mile to assist us and further extended her hospitality to my parents who attended the wedding and were booked in at the Lodge. I definitely will return to Matumi Golf Lodge and recommend this to all my fellow South African and International travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SandtonWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

we have spend 2 nights at the matumi lodge, both nights we have stayed in, and had 5star dinners, the breakfast was an exsperience on its on, fresh baked bread, stunning fruits! The rooms felt like heaven, crisp white linnen, all the attention to detail, bran rusks with cofffe/tea. modern but warm. service excellent, friendly staff!! we'll never drive past this lodge again on our way to the Kruger!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strydom_law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The personal attention from the owners, Yolandi and George. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 6 is spacious,with a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MILAGAUTENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Our family has stayed at Matumi Golf Lodge in Nelspruit 4 times in the past year. From the moment you drive through the security gates of the golf estate into the beautiful tropical gardens you start relaxing. The views over the golf course are wonderful especially from the beautifully furnished rooms. Everything about the lodge is perfect - the lovely pool and loungers, the dining area under the veranda, the rooms and the gardens. Yolandi and her husband have managed to strike the perfect balance between being genuinely friendly hosts without imposing on your privacy in any way. Thanks to Yolandi, the children feel extra special especially at breakfast and with special turndown treats. The staff is always friendly and courteous. We can’t wait for our next visit. If you are in the area, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceangypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Zeze R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matumi, Manager at Matumi Golf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeroen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matumi, Manager at Matumi Golf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#11 of 18 in Nelspruit
51 reviews
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
3.1 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#9 of 18 in Nelspruit
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Columbus Guest House
Columbus Guest House
#18 of 80 in Nelspruit
28 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 18 in Nelspruit
346 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#13 of 72 in Nelspruit
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matumi Golf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matumi Golf Lodge

Address: 5 Singa Dr, Matumi Estate | Nelspruit Golf Course, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range: £77 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Matumi Golf Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matumi Golf Lodge is a 5 Star bed & breakfast establishment, situated in the tranquil and secure environment of the Matumi Golf Estate in Nelspruit in Mpumalanga, province of the Rising Sun. Just 25 km from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, the Lodge is situated close to the world-renowned Kruger National Park, with the nearest entrance gate to the park being less than one hour’s drive away. Matumi Golf Lodge is the perfect place for quiet weekend breaks, energetic golf trips or a more luxurious, comfortable setting for the travelling professional. The lodge is ideally positioned midway up the 9th fairway of the Nelspruit Golf course (Home of the annual “Jock Open” golf tournament) with magnificent views over the golf course and the Crocodile River Valley. The lodge boasts 7 spacious, luxuriously furnished rooms, tastefully decorated to create a relaxed, sophisticated yet homely atmosphere after a long day for the travelling professional, aspiring golfer or international holidaymaker alike. The rooms are comprised of three different categories, i.e. “Deluxe / Luxury Rooms,” and the “Executive / Honeymoon Suite,” each catering for the individual requirements of residing guests. These differences are mainly attributed to bathroom fixtures and fittings, bed types and overall room size. The reception desk will be pleased to assist you in planning your visits to the numerous tourist attractions the region has to offer. The bar area provides a warm environment in which to relax around the fire stove on cold winter evenings, while during warmer weather, watching the sun set over the fairways from the outside patio is the ideal way to end one’s day. Breakfast at Matumi Golf Lodge is undoubtedly the highlight of the day. The full breakfast is included in the room rate and special dietary requirements will gladly be cater for; these can be stipulated during reservations. Lunch and dinner are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Atrapalo and Booking.com so you can book your Matumi Golf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing