We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Paradise”

Graskop Valley View Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelspruit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Graskop Valley View Hostel
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our stay at Valley View is in our top 3 of best stays in 6 months of traveling the world. Seldom did we feel more welcomed by or connected to the beautiful owners Melinda and Joseph. And their lovely staff member Lily. We will never forget her "Hellooo, my darling!" in the morning. Hard working Joseph, ofttimes with hammer and nails like his namesake the carpenter, always finds some time to spare for a warm smile and a chat. Melinda is intent on improving their business even though there is hardly anything to improve. She has a great heart and a beautiful vision for the future of their Backpacker's.

Since we were traveling without a car at the time, Melinda offered to pick us up in Nelspruit for a decent price. We spent our days with a walk into town for some souvenir shopping, and cycling to stunning rock formation The Pinnacle and lovely viewpoint God's Window, close to Blyde River Canyon. We also visited Pilgrim's Rest, where we were shown the old ways of the village during gold rush.  We also took a nice walk out the front door through the valley that gave the Backpacker's its name, meeting some locals on their way home.

We had the Valley View Room, with indeed a stunning view, a nice double bed and an awesome bathroom with dito tub. The kitchen was convenient for cooking our own meals and the veranda brought us some nice conversations with fellow travelers. We recommend the Valley View Backpacker's to everyone traveling around Graskop.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hostel has a really nice atmosphere. The owners are really helpful and around if you need them.

We stayed in an ensuite double. The shower door was a little wonky but we got it working..The bathtub was the biggest I've ever used. Everything was clean. We also spent some time chilling in the nice livingroom / hangout area.

Thanks Joseph and Melinda for the great advice on seeing the Blyde canyon in an express fashion! We zoomed to all the sites as we had limited time, but we saw everything we wanted to and still had time to spare.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witek k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The Valley View Backpackers recently changed owners. I don't know how the previous owners were like, but the two people running this place now are amazing.

The backpackers is situated outside the 'city centre' of Graskop and is really quiet & calm. There is a nice view over the valley, and the place gave us a real homey-feeling. We spent tree nights here (camping) and it was more than good: clean, fully equipped self-catering kitchen, nice lounge, lovely outside deck, wifi, and very friendly staff!

Valley View Backpackers is a great place to start your discovery of the Blyde River Canyon!

Room Tip: We camped, so I have no idea about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

we stayed in our own tents. No problem at all. Only internet is not for free.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamIvetka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Stayed 1 night in the rondavel, wide, clean and quite comfortable, although it was cold and no heating was provided. Kitchen available. They said we could have dinner and breakfast at the backpackers but when we got there they told us that since they had few guests they didn't buy perishable food. I agree you don't have to waste food, but they souldn't have written they could provide meals.
Anyway if you want to see Blyde River Canyon I recommend this backpackers. And Graskop is quite a nice place, too, where you can taste wonderful pancakes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penelope72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Valley View Hostel is a very comfortable, quiet, clean, affordable and friendly backpackers situated in the outskirts of the village of Graskop, a few km from famous viewpoints and beautiful waterfalls and within an hour drive to Kruger Park.

You'll find cozy dorms or singles, perfect toilets and showers and a clean kitchen, plus a large fenced car parking and an incredibly helpful keeper.

I had a very pleasant stay, and I recommend Valley View Hostel as a base for exploring the Blyde River area on your way to/from Kruger.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thranduil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Nice_French_Riviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
48 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#13 of 70 in Nelspruit
146 reviews
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Columbus Guest House
Columbus Guest House
#21 of 79 in Nelspruit
27 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#3 of 18 in Nelspruit
331 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graskop Valley View Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graskop Valley View Hostel

Address: 47 Langestraat, Nelspruit 1270, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Nelspruit
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing