We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cycad Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Modern, very neat, well equipped, serene environment, with helpful staff, and within close proximity to all amenities. Highly recommend will most certainly will stay there again. My stay there was a most pleasant one. Management and staff where very helpful. They made every effort to make me comfortable and accommodate my requests without hesitation.

Room Tip: would recommend the room I stayed in 8B had spacious shower and bath and fully equipped kitchen with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    25
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
5
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stay at Cycad quite a number of times and it is home away from home. Peaceful and relaxing.
EVERYONE at Cycad matters and all of you are Family to us.
Thank you for the hospitality n excellent service recived time and time again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehnaaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydenburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A special thank you to the management and staff who accommodated my family and our 60 guests over the Easter weekend 2014. Service was excellent and staff were efficient and ever ready to assist us with anything making our stay and our ability to host and entertain our guests a very pleasant and enjoyable weekend. Our guests from Durban and Jhb were equally pleased with the lodge, rooms, ambiance and standard. We definitely received value for our money and better than most 4 star hotels we have been to both locally and internationally.
Management was even willing to help me with an outfit minutes before my brothers wedding due to a wardrobe emergency.
We will definitely be back over and over again.
Special thanks to Muneera who went more than the extra mile to assist us with bookings and hosting a memorable event.

Much appreciated Nadia Jamadar and Family

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherries2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Manager at The Cycad Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mrs Jamadar
The Cycad Management and staff sincerely appreciate the acknowledgement of our services rendered. it was more than a pleasure hosting your family. hope to see you soon
Hospitality regards
Mohamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked in for 3 nights over easter 2014. The first night, there was a function in front of our chalet. The 3rd night, the same happened, which meant we had to finish our supper braai by no later than 6.30pm. We paid for privacy and use of facilities but this was non-existent as other functions were being hosted without notifying us at the time of bookings. There is a so- called play room with pool tables etc, but we couldn't use this either as it appears that a private business is running in there - looks like sewing or something to that effect. There is a notice that no braaing or swimming after 9 but both functions were loud and noisy until after 12 at night! First and last at this place#veryverydisappointed...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweety333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Manager at The Cycad Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sir / Madam
thank you so much for the review, it can only assist us in improving our services in the future.
Only to highlight a few issues before your arrival and during your stay
A member of your group was informed prior to your arrival about the function, as well as on the night of the function, the person had no objection
The function ended 30 minutes later than the agreed time of 22:30. Only one function was held i.e. Friday only, not Sunday
It was only brought to our attention on Sunday afternoon that the noise on Friday had affected you, we immediately made moved the unplanned Sunday dinner to an alternative venue in order to keep you happy
The games room is a multifunctional room, therefore the sewing machine, we are currently undergoing a revamp, it is not a private business.The room was set up. Members of your group had visited the room
I had visited a member of your group to address the issue on Sunday, he seemed very understanding and I assumed it was resolved
We humbly apologize for the misunderstanding and inconvenience caused during your stay and would be honoured to host you in the future
Yours in Hospitailty
Mohamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were based at the Cycad Lodge & Chalets from the 29th -31st of December 2013. We were 10(adults) and and 6(kids). The kids enjoyed swimming at the pool, the rooms are perfect, clean at all times and very spacious. The kitchen equipments were in order and we managed to prepare soft porridge for the kids without a hassle, some of the plugs were not working though.

The only challenge we had with this place was the food: for starters the food served on our first day which was Sunday was so dry and on Monday morning they sent one lady to prepare breakfast for all 16 of us (you can imagine the end results). We were not happy about the pink non quality Viennas that wee served at breakfast at all, an we felt like we were not given very much attention. As a result we did our own breakfast the following morning- and this taught us that cycad is so perfect if you only sleep and swim but cater yourself.

PS: We will definitely recommend this place to other families and we will definitely go back in future, but we will cater ourselves this time around.

Room Tip: I preferred the 2 bedroom house as you enter the first gate with parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinyiko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vryburg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We returned from a 4 day visit to Nelspruit and were based at the Cycad Lodge & Chalets during our return stay, the management seems to be taking their work very seriously as many of the issues raised on this platform have been addressed, we could not help noticing the attention to detail to the newly refurbished room we stayed, impeccably clean with all the luxuries of home, dstv, microwave, fridge/freezer and of course the air conditioner all working perfectly.

The staff were always friendly and willing to help when necessary, we needed fresh towels at 23:00 pm and these were gladly provided. Our overall stay was excellent and all our expectations were exceeded, we have indeed found a home away from home!!!

Room Tip: Parents travelling with small children should be mindful of taking the rooms closest to the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Good stopover place. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Good finishes and ambience. Beds were very comfortable and showers modern and clean. Staff were ok, but lacked professionalism and finer training, the day we were there, none of the staff had uniforms and it was difficult to tell the difference between staff and guests

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuazzamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Manager at The Cycad Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Sir, thank you so much for your feedback, I am delighted to be informed that the accommodation has met your standards, I will most definately attend to the lack of professionalism and uniform issue, kindly inform me of progress on your next visit. hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
241 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
1.4 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#12 of 18 in Nelspruit
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#5 of 18 in Nelspruit
44 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 18 in Nelspruit
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nelspruit Lodge
Nelspruit Lodge
#5 of 78 in Nelspruit
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cycad Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cycad Lodge & Chalets

Property: The Cycad Lodge & Chalets
Address: 17 B Koraalboom Avenue | West Acres, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cycad Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cycad, situated 370km's east of Johannesburg, nestled in the heart of Mpumulanga's capital, Nelspruit. The lodge boasts a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere in contrast to the buzz outside, where the city's malls, theatre, and business district are conveniently a stone throw away. The Cycad is the perfect combination of corporate and holiday. Brought about with years of planning, this dream see's the family getaway, and businessman's needs evolve in one. Guests can expect a warm welcome, with service being of top priority. The ambience set is one of low lighting and luxury, with accommodation masked by the botanical feel of the Cycad gardens, instilling a warm sense of security and privacy. For a more intimate view, enter the Gallery & Virtual Tour section and experience for yourself how best Cycad can suite you or your family's needs, from our Standard, Executive or Honeymoon package, to Family Unit and Self-Catering Chalet's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cycad Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cycad Lodge And Chalets
The Cycad Lodge & Chalets Hotel Nelspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing