We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cycad Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I visited the cycad lodge with my family and it really was a relaxing place.

The staff were all very friendly and did all they could to make our stay enjoyable.

The rooms were clean and the food was fantastic.

The pool was clean and garderns were beautiful especially at night when the lights switch on.

Although the lodge is a bit far from Kruger, mac mac falls etc it is stil a very lovely place to stay in.

Will definitely be returning!! I hope all the best for the owner of the lodge and that he keeps on doing an excellent job!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank UKathrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved the hotel. Especially the bidet, really makes your stay so much more relaxing. They cater for everything from food to prayers to wifi and there isn't much else one could ask for! To top it all off, there's a lovely atmosphere around the place and I would really recommend staying there. We had a slight problem with the beds (they were a little harder than we preferred) and as a teenager friends trip, we were asked to be quiet a few times (understandably). However, it was an unforgettable weekend and Muneera, Marcia and Mohammed made our stay pleasant and were very helpful. Would be a perfect place for a family stay but did the job for teenagers too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Zayyaan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Cycad Lodge is a beautiful place in a beautiful location. It is a must stay as it is also very clean. The beds are comfortable and the rate is very affordable. The meals at the restaurant are delicious. The owner and staff bend over backwards to make sure that you are taken care off and your needs are serviced. I will be back there soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are generally of an exquisite nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tahiressack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Modern, very neat, well equipped, serene environment, with helpful staff, and within close proximity to all amenities. Highly recommend will most certainly will stay there again. My stay there was a most pleasant one. Management and staff where very helpful. They made every effort to make me comfortable and accommodate my requests without hesitation.

Room Tip: would recommend the room I stayed in 8B had spacious shower and bath and fully equipped kitchen with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ameena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stay at Cycad quite a number of times and it is home away from home. Peaceful and relaxing.
EVERYONE at Cycad matters and all of you are Family to us.
Thank you for the hospitality n excellent service recived time and time again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mehnaaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A special thank you to the management and staff who accommodated my family and our 60 guests over the Easter weekend 2014. Service was excellent and staff were efficient and ever ready to assist us with anything making our stay and our ability to host and entertain our guests a very pleasant and enjoyable weekend. Our guests from Durban and Jhb were equally pleased with the lodge, rooms, ambiance and standard. We definitely received value for our money and better than most 4 star hotels we have been to both locally and internationally.
Management was even willing to help me with an outfit minutes before my brothers wedding due to a wardrobe emergency.
We will definitely be back over and over again.
Special thanks to Muneera who went more than the extra mile to assist us with bookings and hosting a memorable event.

Much appreciated Nadia Jamadar and Family

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherries2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Manager at The Cycad Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Mrs Jamadar
The Cycad Management and staff sincerely appreciate the acknowledgement of our services rendered. it was more than a pleasure hosting your family. hope to see you soon
Hospitality regards
Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked in for 3 nights over easter 2014. The first night, there was a function in front of our chalet. The 3rd night, the same happened, which meant we had to finish our supper braai by no later than 6.30pm. We paid for privacy and use of facilities but this was non-existent as other functions were being hosted without notifying us at the time of bookings. There is a so- called play room with pool tables etc, but we couldn't use this either as it appears that a private business is running in there - looks like sewing or something to that effect. There is a notice that no braaing or swimming after 9 but both functions were loud and noisy until after 12 at night! First and last at this place#veryverydisappointed...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweety333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Manager at The Cycad Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Sir / Madam
thank you so much for the review, it can only assist us in improving our services in the future.
Only to highlight a few issues before your arrival and during your stay
A member of your group was informed prior to your arrival about the function, as well as on the night of the function, the person had no objection
The function ended 30 minutes later than the agreed time of 22:30. Only one function was held i.e. Friday only, not Sunday
It was only brought to our attention on Sunday afternoon that the noise on Friday had affected you, we immediately made moved the unplanned Sunday dinner to an alternative venue in order to keep you happy
The games room is a multifunctional room, therefore the sewing machine, we are currently undergoing a revamp, it is not a private business.The room was set up. Members of your group had visited the room
I had visited a member of your group to address the issue on Sunday, he seemed very understanding and I assumed it was resolved
We humbly apologize for the misunderstanding and inconvenience caused during your stay and would be honoured to host you in the future
Yours in Hospitailty
Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#9 of 18 in Nelspruit
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#7 of 18 in Nelspruit
50 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#11 of 18 in Nelspruit
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
2.6 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#3 of 80 in Nelspruit
156 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bundu Lodge
Bundu Lodge
#6 of 73 in Nelspruit
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cycad Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cycad Lodge & Chalets

Address: 17 B Koraalboom Avenue | West Acres, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range: £51 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cycad Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cycad, situated 370km's east of Johannesburg, nestled in the heart of Mpumulanga's capital, Nelspruit. The lodge boasts a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere in contrast to the buzz outside, where the city's malls, theatre, and business district are conveniently a stone throw away. The Cycad is the perfect combination of corporate and holiday. Brought about with years of planning, this dream see's the family getaway, and businessman's needs evolve in one. Guests can expect a warm welcome, with service being of top priority. The ambience set is one of low lighting and luxury, with accommodation masked by the botanical feel of the Cycad gardens, instilling a warm sense of security and privacy. For a more intimate view, enter the Gallery & Virtual Tour section and experience for yourself how best Cycad can suite you or your family's needs, from our Standard, Executive or Honeymoon package, to Family Unit and Self-Catering Chalet's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Cycad Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cycad Lodge & Chalets Hotel Nelspruit
The Cycad Lodge And Chalets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing