We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Great Staff, Great Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay, Great Staff, Great Time!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed as a couple at the Old Vic for one night, in preperation for our Kruger Tour which we started the next day. The hostel itself is a few miles out of town, so unless you have your own transport, you'll need to get a taxi anywhere you want to go (although, the hostel will pick you up for free from the bus station, if you arrange it with them in advance). The hostel has good facilities; kitchen, cash bar, braai, sun deck, swimming pool (in need of a clean), table tennis etc. and the staff are friendly and helpfull. Our double room was a good size with a comfortable bed and amazingly soft pillows! The hostel was a bit quiet as it was out of season, but served it's purpose as a starting base for our Kruger Tour, whilst offering a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Dave the owner (and also our tour guide for Kruger), was great fun and very helpful - well done for having such a great set up! Would definitely recommend. Jonny & Claire

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuelBenitez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    39
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
18
38
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Hot water died after 3 minute shower. Owner forbids alcoholic beverages other than from his own bar..Parking is very restricted, he declared than anyone one who could not squeeze in would have to park on the street.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thanks for staying with us and we are sorry about the hot water (signs are on the wall as the hot works on gas and gas needs to be replaced)Alchol laws state if you have a licensed bar as we do have you may not bring alchol on to the property,sorry that is the law of our land.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of South Africa,and thanks for staying with us.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The dorm room was fantastic, with our own kitchen, bathroom and private deck with a lookout over the park. The staff was very helpful. The bar was well stocked and the food was great, both dinner and breakfast. Dave drove me to the orphanage that they support. That was a wonderful experience and definitely worth seeing if you're there. He was also very attentive to other guests and drove them to town for example. He even drove us all the way to Johannesburg to our next backpackers.

Room Tip: The dorm room in the back has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeske v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thanks for staying with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We were a group of 44 and Dave and Bella bent over backwards for us. They made sure we were always comfortable, gave us rides places cheaper than the taxis, and were always at the ready to help us with whatever we needed. The accommodations were fantastic with a bar on the premiss, a pool, and great hiking trails right behind the lodge. I would definitely recommend staying there if you go to Nelspruit!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the chattels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thanks for staying with us and hope you enjoyed our country,Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Very pleasant stay. Staff were friendly, helpful and obliging. Owners were happy to store several of our large suitcases and boxes for us for a few days while we traveled in Mozambique, which was very useful.

Rooms were clean, nicely decorated and homely feel. Only negative was the rowdy family staying in the house next door, so not the best sleep. Also, our room lacked air-conditioning or a fan -- not ideal in the Lowveld Summer months. I would recommend that the owners buy bedside or ceiling fans, which would make the heat more bearable...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonidies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thanks for taking time to write on Trip Advisor,thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

You got what you paid for. Room was quite dark, walls were very thin, but the owner was friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Only stayed a night. Room and most of all bed was awesome! must say the female owner eas everything but friendly!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lipstixartillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
2.6 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
0.6 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#6 of 19 in Nelspruit
42 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bundu Lodge
Bundu Lodge
#5 of 66 in Nelspruit
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Vic Traveller's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Vic Traveller's Inn

Property: Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Address: 12 Impala Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Vic Traveller's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the South African Lowveld like never before ……Kruger and More caters for the international traveller visiting Southern Africa. Our accommodation is suitable for South African sport groups, families, couples and single travellers. We are situated in Nelspruit, the capital of Mpumalanga, and will accommodate you with real South African hospitality. Crazy Dave (who did the travel thing himself for 4 years) and Bella believe in comfort and value for money. We Offer: Accommodation Travel Desk Tours in and around the Big 5 countryside. Car Rentals Adventure Trips . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Vic Traveller's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing