We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed only one night at the Old Vic. We had a self-catering unit which was price/quality value one of the worst we had during our 4-weeks holiday in South-Africa. The hostel has a gate to close of the property. Apparently the woman on duty has to go to the gate everytime someone rings the bell. The woman of the staff was very nice & helpful. One moment we were coming in, the owner or someone taking people of the hostel on trips, came in with his van. He was unloading the van and had to come in through the gate all the time. The staff woman didn't know this, the gate kept on closing. The guy started yelling at the woman in a very disgusting way. Afterwards, the staff woman had to clean the van of the man who had been yelling at her and who had been calling her a 'stupid woman'. Apparently he did not find her stupid enough to clean his van. The bar is full of t-shirts telling how great the owner is, I guess that does not count for the way he treats his staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veerle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thanks for taking time to write this review.I will just point out that I never have called my staff stupid!!but yes they did clean the car.The gate is always kept closed for you safety and security as we live in South Africa ,I am insured for theft but would not like my guest to have their belongings stolen.So we are very strict on gate control/who comes and goes from the backpackers.
Thanks hope you travelled back safely
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is our third stay at the Old Vic during the past 4 months as we've been visiting various places in the region. The team here are always warm and welcoming and the owners Dave and Bella have gone out of their way to help us in any way they can. After our first visit we left some books in a locker by mistake and they kindly held on to them for us for over a month until our return. I also thought I lost my watch (outside the hostel) and it turns out I'd left that in the room on our second visit and they handed it back when I came for the third time! We really feel welcome and like we're home again when we get back here. The entire place is always spotlessly clean, the kitchen area is large with lots of fridge space, the wifi is good enough to skype (!), and there's a really lovely outdoor terrace. The pool is a very welcome treat on a hot day, there's a small bar area with good value drinks and always friendly faces. The only downside is that it's quite a walk to town, and you really need to drive - or be driven - everywhere. The hostel does, however, recommend a lovely local taxi driver called Ben who offers a great, safe service and we always use him. You pay a flat rate of R40 ppn to anywhere in town and he always arrives promtly. We'll always stay here if we come to Nelspruit. The great team and lovely service (and the cleanliness!) really make it an easy choice. Thanks Old Vic for being our home from home :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thanks for writing this nice review.We know that it is not easy if you do not have your own transport to get to town,however there are no hostels in the city centre and hope fully the nature reserve and our peacefull surroundings make up for it.Thank you for returning here three times.Enjoy the rest of your travels.Thanks Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Old Vic Traveller's Inn delivers great service for very affordable price. Rooms are clean, staff is very warm welcoming and helpful. For example, Dave drove us to our shuttle to JHB at 5.00AM because taxi driver did not show up.
In addition, Kruger park tour offered by old vic is in relative terms affordable. I learned a lot from Dave and Ted about South Africa and its culture, people and etcetera. These guys were our guides for three days in Kruger park and Blyden canyon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edvins336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thanks for taking time to write this review.I am glad you had a great time at our place and that you enjoyed your tour to Kruger.Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Group of 4 stayed for 2 nights in August 2013. Our room was all the way at the back of the property, facing a creek & mountains. It was very quiet & felt very private. Room was very clean & Internet connection in the check-in area was the best we had after 2 weeks in South Africa!!
We hand-washed our clothes the night we arrived, but due to weather they were not dry 24 hours later so Dave kindly allowed us to have our clothes dried in the dryer free of charge. Thank you so much! The hostel is also very secure, our car was parked inside the gate and we always felt safe there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojitoycafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to write this review.We hope you had a good time in our area and I know you enjoyed Kruger Park.The four of you were a great pleasure to have stay with us.Thanks Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Old Vic Traveller's Inn provided the ideal launch pad for Kruger National Park and Mpumalanga Province within South Africa. Dave took excellent care of my wife and I, providing an overnight trip into Kruger Park with less than 24 hours notice. This personal touch really made a difference for us. After being honest about the chances of seeing different animals on a self-drive vs. guided tour, we chose to go with a guide and it paid off. While self-driving can yield good results, someone with more knowledge takes the hassle of driving out of your hands and also can communicate better with vehicles around you (in our case this led to seeing 5 male lions together). We were able to see the Big 5, cheetah (one female with three young cheetahs), zebras, giraffes, kudu, hyenas, and the list goes on and on. We are very grateful to Old Vic. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thanks for staying with us.Thank you for taking time to write a review.I hope Vic Falls was great and that you go home to the States with good memories.Thanks Crazy Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Staying at Old Vic´s was a great experience. The staff was really friendly and the accommodation very comfortable. This is a really relaxed place with nice outside and inside facilities. The accommodation was actually more luxurious than I expected after booking a bed in a backpackers. Even a huge pool is present on property.

As many travellers probably stay there to do a trip to Kruger it is the perfect place to get a rest the night before. I also booked the 3days Kruger tour in the hostel. Our guide "Crazy Dave" is one of the funniest dudes I have ever met. Every day was a great experience and I saw everything I wanted to see. The food was great and the accommodation as well.

Dave thanks for this experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Boris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thanks for the time taken to write this review.Firstly it was great to show you Kruger Park and I enjoyed it just as much as you.It great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Old Vic and i hope the rest of your time in South Africa is a great experience.Thanks Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I booked for sixteen people at Old Vic. They were then inundated for booking requests for that weekend (marathon runners). They then cancelled our bookings with a story that the credit card was declined (impossible). I called immediately and sent an email saying that I would do an EFT payment - please hold the accommodation (OWNER CONFIRMED THE ACCOMMODATION WAS STILL AVAILABLE AND IT WAS STILL ON BOOKING.COM AT THAT STAGE). To cut long story short, they still booked it to others and my feeling is that they realised that it was a busy weekend and that by cancelling us, they could HIKE THEIR PRICE UP (as witnessed by new price on Booking.com)and make more money out of others. GREED. There goes our marathon plans down the tube.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank r0se123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Well this is a first .People that write reviews who have not even stayed here with us.Thanks for taking time to write to us,and also point out you would go out of your way to write a negative review.
Your card was declined fact,your booking was cancelled by Booking.com when you could not provide new details,not by us!!Everyone may check our price to see that there is no encrease for that week end it is same all days of the month!!we are still not fully booked,in fact only a few rooms taken,check hostelworld etc.You have already booked somewhere else,fact so your week end is not ruined.I am a runner so I hope you have great race see you on the road.Thanks for writing a review and maybe one day you will stay at a place before you write your second review.Regards Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
1.6 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#11 of 18 in Nelspruit
51 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#9 of 18 in Nelspruit
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 18 in Nelspruit
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Columbus Guest House
Columbus Guest House
#18 of 80 in Nelspruit
28 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ingwenyama Conference & Sport Resort
0.7 mi away
Abundance Lodge
Abundance Lodge
#8 of 72 in Nelspruit
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Vic Traveller's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Vic Traveller's Inn

Address: 12 Impala Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range: £17 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Vic Traveller's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the South African Lowveld like never before ……Kruger and More caters for the international traveller visiting Southern Africa. Our accommodation is suitable for South African sport groups, families, couples and single travellers. We are situated in Nelspruit, the capital of Mpumalanga, and will accommodate you with real South African hospitality. Crazy Dave (who did the travel thing himself for 4 years) and Bella believe in comfort and value for money. We Offer: Accommodation Travel Desk Tours in and around the Big 5 countryside. Car Rentals Adventure Trips . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Old Vic Traveller's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing