We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and safe place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, clean and safe place”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I only stayed one night at the Old Vic, but I would highly recommend it anyone. It's cozy and clean, very safe and the staff will make you feel right at home. Great place to relax and enjoy yourself before heading out on a safari adventure!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for staying with us and taking time to review us.
Hope you enjoyed all your travels and thanks for booking a tour to Kruger and Mozambique with us
Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    39
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
18
38
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodorgan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My son and I stayed at the Old Vic for a total of five nights over the weekend of the Springbok v Wales rugby test in June. The welcome we had was second to none ! The Old Vic is a great hostel, full of character, comfortable, friendly and homely. Dave, Bella and all their staff were fantastic; always caring and protective of their guests. Dave only let us down in one respect; he tried his very best and ALMOST succeeded, but, even he could not quite arrange a win for Wales !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EURIG E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for writing a review of the Old Vic.Glad you had a great time here and enjoyed Kruger.Sorry about the rugby result.Long live the Welsh rugby team.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this place, due to the friendly, helpful staff. Decor is an eclectic collection of memorabilia but it is homely & the food is excellent tasting and value for the money. The place has a bar with very reasonable priced drinks. The owner, Dave was very knowledgeable on Kruger. We did a 3day/2night tour with him as our driver/guide and had a wonderful experience. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: This Inn caters for all travellers - rooms with private bathroom, rooms with shared bathroom & b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for taking time to write a review.We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Old Vic.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My daughter and did a safari with Flexi Tours, and decided to stay at the Old Vic, and it was the best move we could have done. It has a really homey feel, kind of a mix between a cottage in the woods and Grandma's house. Lots of rooms and a kitchen where you can prepare your own meals. We went in June, their coldest month, and dared a dip in the pool. Not for the faint of heart, but we did it. They put a fire in the fireplace near the bar in the evenings, really adding to the coziness. In June and July, you'll need to take the remote for your room's heater. If you're a big group, I recommend cabin 8. It is tucked in back, with a huge bathroom, balcony, patio, kitchen, etc and perfect for your group.
I found the Inn's location quiet, as it's not downtown, but it's got far more value than any hotel. It has games, a pool table, WiFi area, dining room, TV room, patios and tropical birds. I found it very clean, warm and very, very relaxing!
The staff is wonderful. Dave is fun, and his staff very helpful.
I suggest you plan for a free afternoon. The Old Vic supports an orphanage named Auntie Bettie's and for $10, you will be taken there to play with the orphans for the afternoon. The money goes to the Orphanage. I didn't find out about this until later, and am sad I missed it.

Room Tip: If you don't mind sharing a bathroom, you can save some money. I recommend one of the cabins out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraPhinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for taking time to write a review.We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Old Vic.I had a great time showing you Kruger.Thanks for the donation towards the orphange everything helps.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A fantastic hostel with fantastic staff and facilities. One of, if not the best, hostel atmospheres I have yet to experience. I hope to visit again one day, hopefully with a better rugby result next time. Thanks again Dave and everyone else at the Old Vic!

Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MeilirTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for taking time to write a review.We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Old Vic.WE ARE SORRY THE WELSH RUGBY TEAM DID NOT WIN!!!It was a great week end having all you great Welsh rugby supporters here.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome place! Really really friendly service. Dave took care of our every need and an awesome person to talk to with a great sense of humour. He arranged our safari too for a very reasonable price with a very experienced tour guide, ted. It was our best experience in South Africa. The rooms are cozy and a lot of places to hang out and meet people. He also have a kickass pool with a view to die for :D highly recommend it to anyone going to Kruger national park.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wasif G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review.I am glad that you had a good time with us thanks and I hope the rest of your travels were as enjoyable,love learning about Pakistan and talking cricket with you.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was expecting something very basic built to backpackers. Our surprise was that we were assigned a very pleasant apartment with airconditioning and a private large bathroom with a beautiful river view. The service was like we were home. A delicious dinner was prepared on our request. The property is located at a very nice neighborhood. We definitevely recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paulabravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review.I am glad that you had a good time with us thanks and I hope the rest of your travels were as enjoyable.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#12 of 18 in Nelspruit
41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
1.5 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#5 of 18 in Nelspruit
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
241 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bundu Lodge
Bundu Lodge
#5 of 69 in Nelspruit
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#10 of 77 in Nelspruit
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Vic Traveller's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Vic Traveller's Inn

Property: Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Address: 12 Impala Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Vic Traveller's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the South African Lowveld like never before ……Kruger and More caters for the international traveller visiting Southern Africa. Our accommodation is suitable for South African sport groups, families, couples and single travellers. We are situated in Nelspruit, the capital of Mpumalanga, and will accommodate you with real South African hospitality. Crazy Dave (who did the travel thing himself for 4 years) and Bella believe in comfort and value for money. We Offer: Accommodation Travel Desk Tours in and around the Big 5 countryside. Car Rentals Adventure Trips . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Vic Traveller's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing