We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds, loud peacock!”
Review of Bundu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bundu Lodge
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

This is a good hotel if you need to stay in Nelspruit. It is located on a busy road, but up on a hillside so the car noise is not a problem. Mini horses, ostriches and peacocks roam the property, which make for a natural alarm clock if you want to be woken at 6am! Rooms are simple, but beds were comfy and double shower was really nice, although be sure not to get a room with a bathtub, as our friends didn't enjoy showering as much as we did! Clean, practical and safe, but wouldn't choose for a hotel where you want to stay and chill all day.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalgreenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

I have pass this Lodge a few times and always told my wife we must try the lodge.I did this this week end 05/10/2012 as I had come up to see my son and daughter in law and grand son and with out booking for accommodation stop and ask if they had rooms available which they did Well to my surprise they have everything for children to the restaurant to the well and clean kept rooms with Air Con and Supper Sport dish.I invited my son and daughter in law and the children and from the animals and horses (pony) jumble gym and the great food we enjoyed our self and i will come again this was like a home away from home

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was on the 3rd floor andwas great but the are many other opions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coenie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is real value for money and a perfectly located, just between Whiteriver and Nelspruit. The rooms are clean and tidy.You get that peaceful out of the city feeling, away from the everyday noise. A good stayover experience.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very nice, big windows and a sliding door to a big veranda. Stay in the upper part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaVenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is an exellent place to stop over before you go to the Kruger as it is close enough to be the first car into the park the next day, This place is cheap and clean and has all these animals walking around, pretty cool.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilTaupoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Such an amazing safe place for families with kids, there is all this little animals like bunnies and goats just roaming around.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NitaHallowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

The immense property is aging, but our spacious room was well appointed. The grounds are huge but not well maintained - the swimming pool was not at all inviting.

On the other hand, the bar and restaurant areas were attractive - indoor and outdoor seating and the dinner was tasty and reasonable. The breakfast (not the buffet) was included in the room rate and was excellent.

The lodge is just outside of Nelspruit on the road to White River - away from the city in a gated hillside estate, While not a luxury experience, we were happy with our stay just before we entered Kruger National Park for several days of unbelievable animal viewing.

Room Tip: Select a room at the rear of the property to get well away from the highway. There are no elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sangam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunduLodge, General Manager at Bundu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
5.8 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
48 reviews
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
5.9 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#9 of 18 in Nelspruit
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#11 of 70 in Nelspruit
144 reviews
7.3 mi away
Leaves Lodge & Spa
Leaves Lodge & Spa
#5 of 70 in Nelspruit
284 reviews
5.1 mi away
Road Lodge Mbombela
Road Lodge Mbombela
#43 of 70 in Nelspruit
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bundu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bundu Lodge

Address: Route R-40 White River Road | Mpumalanga, Nelspruit 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range: £39 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bundu Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the Bundu Rockies Wildlife Estate, home to more than 30 animals and over 300 bird species, Bundu Lodge offers guests and visitors a taste of the Lowveld life. With superb cuisine and service, Bundu boasts 112 rooms a large a la carte restaurant, as well as 6 fully-equipped conference venues and a quaint chapel - for the ultimate in romantic weddings. Bundu's proximity to Nelspruit and White River as well as the Kruger National Park, has contributed to making it the local lodge of choice. With all its animals at the Bundu Animal Farm, it really is a paradise for the children, making it ideal for the family getaway. Bundu's success story could be largely attributed to its friendly and helpful staff members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bundu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing