We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in middle of Nelspruit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelspruit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mataffin Hill Lodge
Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing stay in Nelspruit enjoying a great garden, pool and a lodge with only a few family rooms, Mataffin is the perfect place for you. Nelspruit's shopping mall are only 10 minutes away - but you are staying in quite place on top of a green hill.

Room Tip: There are only five rooms, the best family room is No 3, the best individual rooms are No 1 & 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

This small ideally situated lodge , is perfect for anyone who wants an honest and affordable experience. Relax in a tranquil environment nestled on the Halls estate, but still only 5min from the city centre and a stone throw away from Mbombela stadium. This property offers a number of options and facilities to cater small intimate functions, conferences, work shops, and any other event. Your stay here will be memorable and you will come back again

Room Tip: They only have 5 rooms Room 1,2 and 3 is the best family rooms Room 4 and 5 best couple or single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EstellevanNiekerk906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Overall a most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Delightful service and most hospitable and friendly hosts. A beautiful garden in which to relax. A scrumptious breakfast was served. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LouiseC1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very nice, clean and quiet place above Nelspruit in a big and beautiful garden, perfect with young kids. Good family service, comfortable and friendly, the right place to stay out of city center but still very close to it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ChCibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The service was absolutely the best and the property is peaceful. Staff go extra mile offering extra service. Surrounding area is convenient when eating outside.
Secuty is safe 1
Definitely coming back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tebogo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

breakfast area is ok with friendly people, rooms not in standard. breakfast was ok. I will recommend the vanue to the other people. double room is not up to standard compare with money wise. nice plac


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ndidzulafhi Mag... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We spent a few days at Mataffin Hill with my wife and 10 month old baby. The staff, especially Billy, were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. The studio room we stayed in had a small kitchenette and living space. A little dated, but good. The grounds are quite spacious and a fun place to relax. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0 mi away
Panorama Guest Farm
Panorama Guest Farm
#5 of 18 in Nelspruit
42 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
48 reviews
3.4 mi away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#13 of 70 in Nelspruit
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
4.9 mi away
Columbus Guest House
Columbus Guest House
#21 of 79 in Nelspruit
27 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#3 of 18 in Nelspruit
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mataffin Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mataffin Hill Lodge

Address: Matsafeni Road - Mataffin | Mbombela Stadium Access Road, Nelspruit, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Nelspruit
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is the ideal base from which to explore the Panorama Route and the Kruger National Park or a stop-over for those venturing through to Mozambique. Mozambicans coming to Nelspruit will enjoy the easy access to nearby shopping centres and medical facilities.Whatever the occasion or the reason for your stay, we promise to make it memorable with warm, cheerful and attentive hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing