We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Online booking”
Review of Mercure Nelspruit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Nelspruit
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Reviewed 3 October 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Charl V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Nelspruit
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We arrived late in the hotel after driving from Joburg airport. I booked a family suite for a low rate which was very decent to be honest. Two seperate bedrooms, a kitchenette and a living. Yes it is all a bit dated and could do with some renovation (especially bathroom) but it was not bad at all. Across from the hotel is a big mall with a pick and pay and lots of shops. We didn'use any of the hotel facilties as they were all closed when we arrived. Would stop again for a night.
secure carparking

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hotel is safe clean and the family room we had was clean and had self catering facilities. The hotel is walking distance to the I'langa Mall and this provides shops and restaurants. The Riverside Mall just 10 mins away provides more shops and cinema and casino.

The accommodation is good value for money and having two bedrooms is fantastic. We didn't eat at the hotel due to the proximity of excellent eateries next door.

Room Tip: Don't eat the breakfast go next door to Zest.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Good money value and walking distance from Nelspruit mall, but customer service is horrendous!!! Extremely noise during the day due to renovation works and gardening and annoying toads near the pool at night!Non flexible and sometimes impolite staff.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms near the pool!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleArruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stopped here for one night between Durban and the Kruger Park. Big plus was that we had a family room with 2 bedrooms, one bathroom and open plan kitchen/lounge. Hotel is directly opposite shopping centre so restaurants are close. Clean rooms, comfy beds and excellent shower. Kitchen had sink, small fridge, kettle and microwave. Rooms are dark and gloomy. TV in lounge with two seater couch. Despite providing a magazine for satellite TV there were virtually no channels. Bathroom needed repair to vanity unit which was badly damaged. Perfect for if you want to arrive late afternoon and leave the next morning. Don't book it if you are looking for a few days holiday.

Room Tip: Family rooms are great if you want to fit four people in one room. Double bed in main and two single...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Home27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I just spent 6 nights here, adding three to my original booking, and was pretty happy with the property in general. The rooms/suites were large with a fridge and microwave-- everything I could need, the desk staff was helful and friendly (special thanks to Belinda to Joel who patiently answered questions and helped out).

Pros: Location- near a shopping mall with some meal options
Rooms- clean, large, Bath and shower with mini kitchen-- not sure about kitchenware as I wasn't using it
Pool - looked attractive but cold weather when i was there
REception staff- as noted above- were helpful and accommodating

Cons: If you are not self-driving everything is a fairly expensive taxi ride away
The Restaurant is really what changed my review from Very Good to Average-- The breakfast buffet was fine, if a little pricey, but the evening ala carte was not the best.... the restaurant staff were pleasant but the food was not all that appetizing-- on the nights that they offered a dinner buffet, it was definitely better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hotel photos looked great but on arrival we found the hotel rooms to be dark, gloomy and badly maintained. The bathroom door was at such an angle that it did not close - kitchen crockery was stained and non-matching, and the level of cleanliness below par. Probably fine if you need a quick stopover but we wouldn't recommend this for anything longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bateleur_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
45 reviews
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
1.1 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#6 of 18 in Nelspruit
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Panorama Guest Farm
Panorama Guest Farm
#4 of 18 in Nelspruit
42 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 18 in Nelspruit
306 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#9 of 78 in Nelspruit
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nelspruit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nelspruit

Address: Cnr N4 & Graniet Street | PO Box 1556, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range: £42 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Nelspruit 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-Star Mercure Hotel Nelspruit offers excellent Lowveld hospitality to mid-range, long- and short-stay guests. It is the ideal home-base for corporate and leisure travel in and around the Lowveld, including the nearby Kruger National Park and Sudwala Caves. It is adjacent to the new Ilanga Mall. Apartment-style suites offer guests self-catering, room service or dine-in restaurant options. Enjoy cocktails at the pool while you take advantage of the free Wi-Fi and the excellent weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Nelspruit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nelspruit Hotel Nelspruit
Nelspruit Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing