We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our first choice for a comfortable sleep over.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town Lodge Mbombela
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nelspruit
Centurion, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Still our first choice for a comfortable sleep over.”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I were on our way to the Kruger National Park, and decided to sleep over at this hotel, to enable us to enter the Park early the next morning. Whenever we travel quite a distance we always see if there is one of the City Lodge group Hotels on our route for a sleep over, as they maintain a very good standard throughout the country. The Nelspruit Town Lodge was no exception. We were greeted by Bongani at reception in a friendly way, and our check-in was done fast and efficiently. Hendrick from security assisted us with our luggage to our room on the 1st floor. Like all the Town/Road Lodge Hotels, the room was found to be neat and tidy. Although the rooms are smaller than the average hotel rooms, we experience that they are quite sufficient for a short stay.
The Town/Road Lodge Hotels do not provide supper, but upon request reception supplied us with a Mr. Delivery menu for placing an order for in room dining. When we phoned Mr. Delivery we were informed that their credit card machine was not operational, and they could only deliver a meal if we paid cash. Upon another enquiry at reception, the Food Court across the road was recommended to us, where we had a tasty and enjoyable meal at Upper Deck at a reasonable price.
The only real problem encountered at the hotel was with the shower. The main shower head did not work at all, and we had to use the hand held one. The other problem was to exit the shower. The wooden sliding door cover interfered with the swivel glass shower door. One had to “shoulder” the glass door several times to “free” yourself from the shower. During check-out this was reported to Christel at reception who made a note and promised that their maintenance would see to the problem. We however still enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would return again.

Room Tip: Request for a room that faces away from the main road. Avoid one with a connecting door to the adjac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Mbombela, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your response. We are pleased to hear that you our staff were friendly and accommodating. However, we apologize for the inconvenience of the shower. This problem will be seen to. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
9
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Have stay here many times and its always a pleasure to come back and see the same level of staff courtesy. Just right side of Road Load, Town Lodge have bigger rooms comparing to Road Lodge and a nice pool. For more information about the rooms please go to this link: http://www.places.co.za/accommodation/town-lodge-nelspruit.html
The hotel is well located and food and breakfast is good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Mbombela, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thanks for your review - we're glad you like our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I've stayed for the first time at Town Lodge with my family for a overnight, during a trip to George in South Africa.
We booked the room online, and asked for a late check-in once we were traveling and crossing the border from Maputo.

Our booking was confirmed by e-mail, and a few hours before, a lady call us on the cellphone confirming our booking. When we checked-in the 2 rooms were ready and clean, and the on duty staff were very kind to us.

It happened to my daughter to get injured in school that day, and when we asked for a first aid kit at the front desk, the staff was tremendous gentle and provided what was needed.

The rooms were clean and well furnished, ideal for a short staying. Good for families with interconnecting rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPratas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Mbombela, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I stayed with colleagues on a business trip 11 March. The rooms aren't huge, but I have stayed in much smaller rooms, while paying much more. This is excellent value for money: crisp white bedding with fluffy duvet, spotless bathroom (with shower only) and a freshly cooked, delicious breakfast buffet. Have to mention that every single staff member greeted me with a smile. If you have a business trip to Nelspruit, don't even think about staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: My room was street facing, but with the aircon on all night, I didn't hear any cars. Ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liezel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Mbombela, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to welcome you as a guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I travel to Nelspruit on a fairly regular basis and always stay here. The rooms are clean and functional. Although a bit small, the rooms do have a desk work area which I find useful. A new addition is that they now also offer wifi but I don't think it's free. I would not choose this hotel for a vacation stay but for business it is fine.

Room Tip: Always try get a room that faces the courtyard and swimming pool. The rooms that face the road can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dbn_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Recently stayed over for 1 night in order to conduct early morning business interviews at the Town Lodge the next morning. The accommodation was pleasant enough considering the rates. What made it memorable however was the excellent service provided by the manager and her front desk staff - very professional, courteous and helpful. I would recommend this venue to anyone conducting business meetings in the Nelspruit area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed at the Town Lodge for 3 nights during September 2012. A very neat, smart cosy hotel. Reception staff are exceptionally helpful and very professional. Rooms are very clean. Bathrooms neat and tidy. The breakfast was rather good for a small establishment. There is a pool, which we did not use, however we had breakfast out on the pool patio. Please do try their delicious home made popcorn in the evenings available at the bar. Parking was safe and secure. Within a few minutes away from shopping centres, restaurants and tourist attractions this hotel proved to have an excellent location. Great stay all in all!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yosh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.1 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#9 of 19 in Nelspruit
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
0.9 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#13 of 19 in Nelspruit
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
33 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#9 of 68 in Nelspruit
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Lodge Mbombela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Mbombela

Property: Town Lodge Mbombela
Address: 4 Cnr Madiba Road & Koorsboom Streets, off N | PO Box 5555, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa (Formerly Town Lodge Nelspruit)
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Mbombela 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a lovely garden with rolling lawns and a swimming pool. It is centrally located close to restaurants, just off the N4 motorway, 30 minutes from Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport and 2 minutes from Nelspruit’s CBD. Close to the Kruger National Park – 70 minutes from the Paul Kruger Gate and 30 minutes from the Malelane Gate. An ideal stopover to get to the Mozambique border post early in the morning. A 10 minute drive on the White River road will get you to Mpumulanga’s new shopping mall and cinema complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Town Lodge Mbombela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge Nelspruit Hotel Nelspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing