We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tomjachu Bush Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Promenade(Nelspruit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nelspruit Lodge(Nelspruit)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Nelspruit(Nelspruit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
185
38
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
38
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock houseplunge poolkeepers cottagemorning game drivelodge managerstunning settingbusy city lifeself catering cottagethe main housewalking trailsfully equipped kitchenwe loved our staythe cottagesthe reserveideal placeshort drivedirt road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We've stayed in Valbonne at Tomjachu Bush Lodge twice now and will definitely be back to this very special place! The view is just breath-taking, hours were spent relaxing on the stoop or by the pool whilst spotting Giraffe, Wildebeest, Impala, Baboon....you never know what you're going to see next!

Valbonne itself is like a home from home, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Justin and Jolene were wonderful hosts and all the staff were helpful and friendly - the attention to detail throughout our stay was fantastic.

Fascinating game drives with Justin who showed us all sorts of animals and birds, even tiny spiders on the track when you could just see their eyes shining in the headlights of the truck!

During our stay this year we had dinner one night down at the main lodge which I would definitely recommend. Nadine and Flonny produced a beautifully presented and very tasty 3 course dinner in a relaxed, friendly setting.

We had another fab evening meal at a local restaurant called Saffron and on the final night a Brai down at the Lapa just topped the holiday off!

Loved TOMJACHU from start to finish the staff, the service, the facilities and the location were all exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomjachu, Manager at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for the lovely informative review and valuable feedback! We enjoyed having you all stay with us, and look forward to your return annual visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a wonderfull place to visit. Great service with fantasitic facilities and amazing location. One of those rare finds and one I would definitely recommend. We enjoyed the informative game drive and special picnic spot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Januys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomjachu, Manager at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your great review and recommendation! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay as well as the game drive and picnic. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We went to Tomjachu in mid October and as a first trip to SA this was an amazing place to start the trip. We stayed in Rock House which literally had the wow factor. The attention to detail here is really excellent, small things like really fluffy towels, feather pillows and lanterns hung outside every night at dusk.
During our five days we made several day trips to Hazyview and Kruger National park which were really easy to get to. As an introduction to game drives Justin drove us around the reserve, he is super knowledgable and was interested in all sorts of animals not just the big ones which was fascinating.
We ate twice at the lodge and found the food to be first class. I can also recommend a trip to Saffron restaurant in town which was truly delicious.
Book with confidence........ I will definitely be going back :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomjachu, Manager at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! Tomjachu the property in itself has certainly got that Wow factor... in addition we strive for attention to detail and going that extra mile for all our guests. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Will definately book again. The location of the Bush Cottage has an excellent view and very neat and tidy inside the cottage. A suggestion would be that maybe a radio or tv would just top the stay on rainy days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomjachu, Manager at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We look forward to welcoming you back. You will be pleased to know we now have a television and dvd player available for Bush Cottage, should guests require this service during their stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

5 nights at wonderful Tomjachu Lodge. We had Rock House, excellent house with all comfort. beautiful terrasse with a scenic view. Excellent service and Food. Near Nelspruit but in true nature.
Thanks to Jolene and Justin for these wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dietmar_silke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomjachu, Manager at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We enjoyed having you stay with us, and look forward to perhaps a return visit on your next visit to South Africa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews