We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tomjachu Bush Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Tomjachu! If you are looking for a place to just relax and spend some time outdoors, this is it. We loved star gazing at night from our hammock while impala grazed a few feet away, and we loved the walking trails where we saw impala, kudu, ostrich, bushbuck, and lots of birds and butterflies. We stayed in the Rock House and it was very comfortable and private with great views of the mountains. Kitchen was well stocked with everything you need and firewood was provided. Lots of special little touches to make you feel welcome. We were amazed at how nice it was given the very reasonable price. Great value!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lizzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomjachu, Manager at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on Tripadvisor - we appreciate your feedback! We also now offer dinner & breakfast in the Lodge: Homestead dining room for guests staying in the self-catering cottages, as an optional extra, by prior arrangement. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Friendly staff. Amazing view. Stunning apartment. Well equipped. The Fridge is noisy at night though- needs a service. A bit of a bumpy ride on the gravel road when going to town, but that was the reason for our visit. We had to go and check on the new grandchild often So we obviously suffered a bit more. We saw Zebra x2; Giraffe x 3; Rooibok; Blesbok; Kudu x 3; Small game and Tame ostriches. A well looked after farm to be proud of. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ronel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomjachu, General Manager at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we appreciate all comments in order to improve.

Congratulations on the new little one in your family - we are privaledged to have had you stay with us during this special time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for few days at Tomjachu to we could do some of our important work in peace. We found this place very welcoming, tranquil and very relax. The staff did everything they could do to help and we had a very comfortable stay. The landscape and the environment are absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed looking at the wildlife walking around.
We recommend Tomjachu to anybody able to appreciate classy and cosy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Merrifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomjachu, General Manager at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we enjoyed having you stay with us! Tomjachu boasts peace and traquility, and welcomes guests looking for the same experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Absolutely divine views from Rock Cottage. Lovely accommodation. The silence is medicine for the spirit. Would love to see walking trails that have been prepared - pathways with grass cut, guide map with distances given, how long it will take as well as level of difficulty to walk. This was the only thing lacking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dits G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomjachu, General Manager at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate comments on ways to improve our guest experience. We are in the process of cutting back walking paths / tracks, and identifying these with a map and information on the trails as well as the surroundings: birds and animals you may encounter while hiking at Tomjachu! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a fabulous stay at Tomjachu, wonderful views, tranquil setting, very peaceful and relaxing. The accomodation was superb. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. We will definitely be visiting again. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dickie & Kathle... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomjachu, General Manager at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we enjoyed having you stay with us, and look forward to your return visit!

We now also offer Special Massage treatments at the Lodge, or in the privacy of your own Cottage / Suite (booking in advance is essential).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were at Tomjachu as stopover. Nicely located close to Nelspruit and after a trip over dirt road for quite a stretch ( but not uncomfortable) we arrived. We stayed at Homestead, with livingroom decoration, nice terras and more than great view!
Bedrooms were well maintained, clean and spacious. Hospitality is great, however, the cooking can be improved and needs attention.
Location is superb , with nice view and also in proximity of the golf course. So for this combination excellent. Please upgrade the kitchen a bit and all is great at your place

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dominic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomjachu, Manager at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your review on Tomjachu Bush Lodges. We appreciate your feedback as this is important to us, and we use these comments to improve on our overall guest experience. I am surprised at the food comments, as we have a qualified chef on site personally preparing and servicing all meals at Tomjachu under the guidance of an experienced Chef, who spends much of his time in France, and travels to Tomjachu regularly with new ideas. We have however looked at the menu served during your overnight stay with us, and made improvements where possible.

You will also be pleased to know we have recently met with nearby Town Golf Club, and they have agreed to offer special green fees to Tomjachu Bush Lodge guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nelspruit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Wonderful staff who catered to our every need (and we were needy due to a family member's injury), and a beautiful hideaway. Road in was quite rough, but that's South Africa in general. And really, beautiful places shouldn't be easily accessible, lest they get overrun....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomjachu, Manager at Tomjachu Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We enjoyed welcoming you back to Tomjachu Bush Lodge, as we know this place holds a special memory for you and your family. We strive with our staff to offer a home away from home experience. We wish you all the best, and look forward to perhaps a future visit when you are travelling in SA again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
6.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
6.8 mi away
Utopia in Africa
Utopia in Africa
#2 of 70 in Nelspruit
174 reviews
6.6 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 78 in Nelspruit
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Malelane
130 reviews
5.6 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#3 of 78 in Nelspruit
146 reviews
6.9 mi away
Leaves Lodge & Spa
Leaves Lodge & Spa
#4 of 70 in Nelspruit
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomjachu Bush Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomjachu Bush Retreat

Address: Uitkyk Road, Nelspruit 1201, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range: £87 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tomjachu Bush Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Bush Retreat Tomjachu is an exclusive, third generation family-owned private nature reserve set in over 550 hectares (1300 acres) of game fenced mountain bushveld, located within the Crocodile Valley Nature Conservancy. Just 20 minutes from Nelspruit it overlooks the southern boundary of the Kruger National Park and the great Crocodile River valley. Regularly remarked upon as being one of the most beautiful and serene locations in the area, Tomjachu is in its own valley with breath-taking views across the Bekker Mountains. The Homestead and nearby cottages are surrounded by beautiful gardens, lawns and terraces, all sharing the greater splendours of nature. Perched high above the Homestead, our 5-star self-catering Valbonne Villa also offers spectacular views from its extensive veranda and infinity pool, which lies at eye level with the soaring eagles. Whether you are looking for adventure or relaxation, with family, friends, or your loved one, Tomjachu offers something for everyone. On our trails, tracks and roads you can mountain bike through the bush on easy or challenging routes, hike amongst the abundant plains game and through mountains and valleys, go for a game drive or guided walk with our experienced ranger, and try your hand at fishing for bass and bream in our dams. Or simply unwind by the pool, listening to the orchestra of over 265 bird species, as the fresh mountain air trickles up from the valley below. Tomjachu is the ideal place to explore all the wonders of the Lowveld. We accommodate 14 Guests at the Homestead and three delightful cottages, each with their own unique character and romance. We are additionally blessed with spectacular bush locations to enjoy spectacular bush dinners under the stars, lit only with the flicker of lanterns or picnics by the water's edge or in one of our other picnic sites around the property. Whether self-catering or choosing to dine with us in our elegant dining room, with culinary delights served by our superb chef, good food and great atmosphere are assured. Recently launched, our multi award-winning Valbonne Villa offers the exquisite luxury of a 5-star TGCSA, self-catering Villa suitable for 6 couples or 12 guests sharing – fully serviced. Includes Butler, Chef available on request. Regional winner and national runner up of the Lilizela Awards three years running in 2014, 2015 & 2016. Our relaxed, informal and highly professional team are sure to make your stay an indelible memory. Awards: • Lilizela Awards 2014, 2015 & 2016 - Provincial Winner & National Finalist: Valbonne Villa 5 Star TGCSA S/C • TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2015, 2016 & 2017 • Travel Myth Top Five 4 Star Accommodation in Nelspruit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Tomjachu Bush Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing