We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it really a 4 star hotel? Or is it taking a chance?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Emnotweni
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed for the easter weekend.
The first night we stayed.
When arriving in the room, there was a faint smell of smelly pee coming from the bathroom.
I tried to take a shower and while inside didn't notice that the shower door didn't close properly, so when I was done, the whole bathroom was flooded.
The next morning, we reported it to reception asking for it to be fixed or if we could be moved to another room.
They said they were fully booked, so they assured us it would be fixed.
Later, on returning to the room, we took another shower, only to find it was not fixed with another flooding!
Not only that, but there was some really disgusting black gunk all around the shower floor, like it had not been cleaned in a few months.

The second day after returning back to the hotel after the bedroom had supposedly been 'cleaned' and 'serviced'. The smell of a men's urinal in a public toilet kept getting stronger.


We checked out a day before we were meant to leave as no one was willing to fix the problem. And the longer we stayed, the more grossed out we became.

The cleanliness is not up to scratch.

The breakfast was over salty and was not very appetising.
There were no healthy options except for fruit and stale rye bread.
You had to flag down a waiter before you could get a cup of tea or coffee.

This is not a true reflection on Southern Sun, as we have stayed at a few around the country and have never encountered such bad service and shoddy cleanliness.
Nelspruit Emnotweni needs to pull up their socks!
International tourists thinking its a 4 star will be very disappointed to find their standards are the equivalent to a 1 star rating.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RozanneWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor Review dated 10th April 2012 where you were able to bring to our attention your concerns and disappointment regarding the cleanliness opportunities found in your room and our public bathrooms, alongwith other service elements as detailed during your recent stay at the Emnotweni Sun hotel in Nelspruit.

I have tried to contact you to discuss these concerns with you personally and will keep on trying.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of service delivery as experienced during your time with us.

In addition, however, we would like to thank you for your comments as it is only through constructive feedback that we are able to remedy our shortcomings and deliver the level of service our valued Guests expect and deserve.

I would like to assure you that we take incidents such as these very seriously and as a result I have personally conducted an investigation into the below mentioned opportunities with our Management Team. Our Rooms Division Manager and our Executive Housekeeper, have conducted a full scale audit of the housekeeping cleanliness and services. They will, in addition, be addressing the shortcomings and opportunities as mentioned with their respective teams. Rest assured that we have instituted the necessary corrective measures and training to ensure that incidents of this nature do not recur.

I would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay with you.

Please could you contact me personally on 013 - 757 3000 at your convenience.

Yours sincerely


General Manager
Emnotweni Sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

Perfect hotel for springboard into Kruger. Well situated next to large shopping mall for last minute supplies. The hotel is set in excellent grounds with well appointed rooms. Staff were friendly and excellent. Food is generous with a large choice, very good quality and excellent value. Business services are efficient. Well worth a stay for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a good one :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdfTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear Guest - Excellent Stay, 25.1.2012,

We thank you sincerely for your positive feedback as your aim is to create great memories.

Through feedback, positive or negative, we strive to excel but rely on our guests to tell us what their experience was and therefore thank you for your time spent completing this review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and hope to deliver the same experience you had, during your last stay.

Best Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My fiancè and I recently went to Emnotweni Sun in Nelspruit and it was a fantastic visit!

We were shocked by the friendly and great service we recieved...
All the staff are friendly and helpfull, the service was great quality!
We would recommend everyone to go there and and enjoy what we think every hotel expierence should be like!

We hope to go there soon again just because of the great and friendly service!

Room Tip: We had a smoking room on the 3rd floor, there was no noise from the outside that we heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janie_De_Villiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is conviently situated next to the mall & casino. It has a beautiful garden, we even spotted baboons in the garden!

The room was fine - perfectly suited for my stay with all the necessaries. Breakfast was the usual fare but perfectably acceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA-Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

There's a warm welcome at this hotel but in terms of value for money it's pretty disappointing. The decor looks a little worn and tatty and the rooms are tired looking. Service in the restaurant is slow and the food is distinctly bland

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PookeyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The hotel was efficient and close to the major shopping mall in Nelspruit. However, taking into account the very pleasant, if not lavish, surroundings, we were a little disappointed a the size of our room and amenities offered (to note that we are registered preferred guests in their program). Overall good for the location, but we like hotels to go that extra mile to make their guests happy inside!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krugerfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Food not up to standard, both breakfast and dinner. Loud air con and no fridge in their room(s). Security, and work ethics, a huge disappointment,.I forgot an item and reported immediately after arrival when I was unpacking eight hours late and till this date no one is giving me a tangible explanation.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
2 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
260 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#11 of 18 in Nelspruit
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#7 of 18 in Nelspruit
49 reviews
7.9 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in White River
198 reviews
0 mi away
Panorama Guest Farm
Panorama Guest Farm
#5 of 18 in Nelspruit
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Emnotweni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Emnotweni

Address: 15 Government Boulevard, Riverside Park,, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa (Formerly Emnotweni Sun)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range: £107 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Southern Sun Emnotweni 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Emnotweni (previously known as Emnotweni Sun Hotel)is a short distance from bustling Nelspruit on the R40 to White River. Only 22km from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport,40km from the Kruger National Park and 210 km from Maputo, Southern Sun Emnotweni caters for business and leisure travellers alike. A fair blend of nature, beauty and Southern Sun hospitality makes this hotel the perfect location for a relaxing holiday. Southern Sun Emnotweni is situated in close proximity to the Emnotweni Casino and Entertainment Complex, Riverside Shopping Mall, Mbombela Stadium, other local landmarks and more, making it a convenient base for leisure or business travel. The hotel offers relaxing outdoor activities and facilities including a pool and a fully air conditioned fitness centre. The well appointed rooms offer a sanctuary for the traveller, with all the modern comforts required to ensure a rejuvenating and relaxing stay, including air conditioning and a private bathroom. Business travellers can make use of the hotel’s efficient conference venues and facilities while the hotel features a business centre with wireless internet connectivity. 500mb of free wi-fi access per day is available to hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Emnotweni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing