We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice sleep, not great first room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Sun Emnotweni
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The room that was initially offered to me was smelly. The capert had just been washed and the chemicals and the smell of dampness made it hard for me to stay in the room. I had to request another room because by evening I could not bear the smell anymore.

The room that was offered to me was a smoking room, but it did not not smell of cigarettes. Was impressed with that. The aircon that was in the new room was also a lot quiter. The first room had a noisy aircon.

Wifi is great. Initial connection is a bit of a pain with a snail pace. But once you connect, its workable speed. You get 500mb and if you're a frequent guest member you get an additional 500mb.

Fruit salad was a bit of a disappointment. Some fruits that were used in it were off. Gave it a bit of a sour taste. The rest of the breakfast was great.

Riverside Mall is across the street, so is the casino. Mbombela stadium is also less than 5km from the hotel. The airport is less than 20 km from the hotel. Its quite a centralised hotel for most of your tourist attractions.

Their reception area is fantastic, great wifi speed from there. The area is very welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank maichm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is only through constructive comments such as these that we are able to identify our challenges and institute the necessary changes and training to ensure that we are able to provide the level of service our valued and loyal guests expect and deserve.

Thank you once again - We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Emnotweni in the near future.

Best Regards
H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were so impressed with the service. From check-in to check-out. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and there was a variety of food to choose from. Although we did not have dinner at the hotel we took time to go down to the restaurant to have a look at the buffet and it looked so delicious and we had no doubt it tasted the same. We surely will be visiting this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Nollen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your review.

Feedback such as this further motivates our team to enhance and improve our service delivery even more. Your comments have been shared with our entire team, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Emnotweni in the near future.

Have a great day!

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We did This travel to relax and have sometime together, só the Room was well cleaned and with appropriate and Nice ambience for what we wanted. The buffet at dinner time did not impressed Us much but the Waittress Bonie was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review - We appreciate your valuable comments and the time taken to share these with us.

I have personally addressed your constructive comments regarding our hotel dinner buffet delivery and service with our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. They are revisiting their variety, quality and service delivery with their respective Teams in order to maintain and or exceed the levels of satisfaction in our Jasmine Restaurant.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Emnotweni in the near future.

Best Regards
HP Merensky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

1. The bathroom have to power for shaving machine and there are no provision for shaving, though; 2. The restaurant have no control over the infants / children - the children mess the restaurant food; 3. We observe the flies inside the restaurant and some in the salad, the latter was reported to the waiter; 4. my wife walked ontop of the snake in the corridor to the room, at midday, though there have been cleaners in the rooms nearby; the same was reported to the hotel, the snake was capture after a while battling with, and apparetly release in the nearby bush - this is very unsafe, if my daughter did not notice the caumoflage snake, my wife could have been bitten; late in the afternoon, we still could see the blood stain on the area of the incident

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Drybusket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review and for your valuable comments. It is only through constructive feedback such as this that we are able to remedy our shortcomings and improve our service delivery to ensure that our valued guests receive the levels of service they expect and deserve.

Please rest assured that your concerns have been addressed with our management team, who have instituted the necessary controls, remedial action and training to ensure that incidents of this nature do not recur.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Emnotweni where we are confident we will restore your faith in our exceptional standards and service delivery.

Best Regards

HP Merensky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

In comparison to other hotel groups, including Protea Hotel, I unfortunately find the Southern Sun Hotels to be very average. The one thing at this particular hotel, where myself, my wife and two kids stayed for 3 nights, were the unfriendly staff. Very few smiled and lacked enthusiasm when you enquired about something. The one reception lady, Pinoki, did not even look up from her computor when she answered me. No eye contact. There was one exception, Wandile, if I remember correctly - he seemed to be everywhere and nothing was too much trouble for him, he should pass on some of his energy to the other staff members, especially housekeeping, reception and the restaurant staff. The bar closes early in the evenings and no beverages, including bottled water is available anywhere in the hotel. The security personnel and porters were very helpful and friendly. I did not feel welcome at Southern Sun Emnotweni and it would be very difficult to persuade me to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Ryno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review and for your valued comments. It is only through constructive feedback that we are able to correct our shortcomings and remedy our service delivery to ensure that we provide the levels of service that our valued guests expect and deserve.

It is most concerning to learn that you found our team unfriendly. The one attribute that we consistenly pride our ourselves in and aspire to deliver on is team member attitude, responsiveness and courteousness towards all our valued guests. Our sincere apologies that we did not deliver on these promises this time around. Wandile is a great service ambassador - I have personally shared this feedback with him.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Emnotweni where we are confident we will restore your faith in our exceptional standards and service delivery.

Best Regards
HP Merensky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

You should put mini fridges in rooms,as very hot weather and when with kids or not water and juice become like tea.
Leave your guests outside by the pool without curfew not to swim. But just for drinks
Like this you put basically put them to bed 22:30

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Hristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review and for your valuable comments. It is only through constructive feedback that we are able to correct our shortcomings and deliver the level of service our valued guest expect and deserve.

We have Executive Rooms and Suites that contain their own refreshment centres and mini bar fridges. Please enquire about reserving one of these rooms for your next stay.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Emnotweni in the near future.

Best Regards
HP Merensky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My review is that Tsogo Sun is beating Protea Hotels.
Am pleased with the rates and the product itself
The staff is friendly and helpful
The food was great
The facilities also great
Will return again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Lawrence Mfanaf... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments and feedback - it means a great deal to us. It inspires us as a team to further enhance our service delivery and improve even more.

Thank you for your ongoing support, we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Emnotweni in the near future.

Best Regards
HP Merensky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
2.0 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
249 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
2.2 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#6 of 18 in Nelspruit
47 reviews
9.1 mi away
Panorama Guest Farm
Panorama Guest Farm
#4 of 18 in Nelspruit
42 reviews
7.9 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 10 in White River
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Emnotweni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Emnotweni

Address: 15 Government Boulevard, Riverside Park,, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa (Formerly Emnotweni Sun)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range: £103 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Southern Sun Emnotweni 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Emnotweni (previously known as Emnotweni Sun Hotel)is a short distance from bustling Nelspruit on the R40 to White River. Only 22km from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport,40km from the Kruger National Park and 210 km from Maputo, Southern Sun Emnotweni caters for business and leisure travellers alike. A fair blend of nature, beauty and Southern Sun hospitality makes this hotel the perfect location for a relaxing holiday. Southern Sun Emnotweni is situated in close proximity to the Emnotweni Casino and Entertainment Complex, Riverside Shopping Mall, Mbombela Stadium, other local landmarks and more, making it a convenient base for leisure or business travel. The hotel offers relaxing outdoor activities and facilities including a pool and a fully air conditioned fitness centre. The well appointed rooms offer a sanctuary for the traveller, with all the modern comforts required to ensure a rejuvenating and relaxing stay, including air conditioning and a private bathroom. Business travellers can make use of the hotel’s efficient conference venues and facilities while the hotel features a business centre with wireless internet connectivity. 500mb of free wi-fi access per day is available to hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun Emnotweni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing