We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Emnotweni
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Nelspruit(Nelspruit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Promenade(Nelspruit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Nelspruit Lodge(Nelspruit)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
221
142
46
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
142
46
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hotel staffriverside mallfrequent guestbotanical gardensroom servicebeautiful hotelexcellent servicerooms are cleango the extra milebusiness tripexcellent stayfriends and familykeep up the good workfeel welcomewhite riverplace to stayshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our experience was spoilt by the bitterly cold night we experienced.Housekeeping would not provide the requested blankets and we could not utilise the heater because of my daughter's allergies.Dinner and breakfast were the only flicker of a miserable night,the meals were above average.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Bismarck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your review.

Housekeeping should have done better here. The qualty of our guest's sleep experience is critical to our delivery and should not have been compromised. Thank you for your valued feedback, it is only through constructive comments such as these that we are able to remedy and correct our shortfalls.

The concern has been addressed with our Executive Housekeeper and Rooms Division Manager and they will ensure that they correct this opportunity to avoid future occurences. Our sincere apologies for this sub standard delivery.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Emnotweni.

Best Regards
H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We orderd room service and I'm sorry to say but the burgers were very disapointing. Firstly because there were no burger buns, they phoned to ask if the can serve it with tramazini, it was way over sized for the burger patty. Some of the chips were raw and the patty tasted like it was made from boerewors, not a proper patty. Defenitly not 5 star quality food. Though the room was very neat and tidy and the staff was super friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vern743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your review.

It is totally unacceptable that we had no hamburger buns. One of our key Hallmarks is "My Burger" and we take pride in the quality of the hamburgers that we serve. We certainly have dropped the ball here and I would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to invite you back for dinner on your next stay to redeem our performance.

The matter has been addressed with our Head Chef and the necessary training and corrective measures put in place to ensure that this does not happen again. Our sincere apologies for this sub standard delivery.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Emnotweni.

Best Regards
H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I am always impressed by Southern Sun hotels. Their rooms are very comfortable and the amenities are always excellent. Their bathrooms are always comfortable and the water pressure excellent. Beds are exceptionally comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your review.

Your comments will certainly inspire us as a team to further improve and and enhance our service standards and delivery. Thank you for your continued support to our brand, Southern Sun Emnotweni.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Emnotweni in the near future.

Best Regards
H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Highly recommended. Excellent staff. Friendly orters. oom was very neat and tidy. Staff any additional toiletries that were required by my family. Child friendly hotel. Hotel provided popcorn and slush pippies for kids. They loved that alot

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Hariendran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your review.

We appreciate the time taken to share your experiences with us. Your feedback has been shared with the entire management team who will in turn share it wit their respecitve departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Emnotweni in the near future.

Best Regards
H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Southern Sun is located fairly central in Nelspruit - about 20 Minutes from the airport and just opposite a Mall & Casino complex. Free, guarded parking is available as well as free WiFi.
Nelspruit Botanical Gardens are 5 Minutes by car - Walking is safe (at least during daylight).

Rooms are a bit tired but OK - clean and well-maintained. Nice garden and pool - great breakfast with generally slow Service (but this is SouthAfrica after all)

We stayed for 2 nights and explored the Blyde River Canyon Area and would return to the Hotel anytime.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quiet - rooms with 2 doublebeds are a good choice for a Family up to four - however a bit tight. OK if you explore and stay basically for the night.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, General Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your online review.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and I know that it will go a long way in motivating our team to perform even better in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Emnotweni in the near future.

Best Regards
H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews