We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel is more suited for business travel but was perfectly good for our break away to the Kruger Park. All facilities are clean and updated. Unfortunately the hotel is not based in a very scenic area but is close to all the Nelpruit attractions and only about 30 to45 min drive to the Kruger.The only negative is the slow service around the pool and the restuarant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.
Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we would like to point out that we have taken your feedback into consideration and that we have investigated your concern with regards to the service at the pool.

We hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Jacques Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

As a frequent traveler and having an open mind in terms of expectations, I right this quick review. I stayed here for one night and for the purpose of business I would say it's a comfortable stay. The beds are nice and have comforters (something that this level of hotel doesn't always have). The rooms have been renovated recently and are very modern. The TV's are flat screens, but limited channels with average reception. In terms of service....it's South Africa. There seems to be an expectation of don't expect much in terms of great customer service and you will be happy. This is true for just about everywhere you go. I stayed at several of the Protea hotels from Durban, Port Elizabeth, East London and Bloem. They all are the same and provide a nice stay at an affordable price. I noticed someone mentioned being robbed. If traveling to South Africa you must just be aware of your surroundings. I can't say it's more dangerous than other countries, but I would have a higher level of awareness when walking out at night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianparsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review on you recent stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your interests and concerns are therefore extremely valuable to us.

We are pleased to know that you found your stay comfortable and that you approve of our newly renovated, modern rooms.

Thank you once again for taking the time to comment on your stay and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely,

Jacques Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We dropped off a colleague at this hotel and while he was checking in we inquired as to whether or not there was an ATM in the hotel because we didn't know the area and needed cash for gas to get back to Kruger National Park. The desk staff said no and told us of one right at the corner just outside the gate of the hotel. While I was getting my cash at the ATM a man approached my boyfriend at the driver's window and distracted him and tried to open his locked door. While that was happening someone else opened the back passenger door, stole his professional camera, lens and cell phone to the tune of $7500 plus. They took off in a car so just be very careful in this area. Be sure you know how the car locks operate when letting one person out of the car.

My complaint with the hotel comes from the fact that we went right back there after it happened to let my colleague know...he is my supervisor from work....and when I told the front desk what happened all she said was "sorry", no offer to call the police for us. We were so upset about it, still had to stop for gas which was right across the street from where we were robbed and we had to get back to Kruger before the gates closed. We just wanted to get out of there so weren't thinking about what we should do. Hindsight being 20/20 we certainly would have done things differently but some guidance from the hotel staff would have been nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Protea Hotel Nelspruit.

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. Your comments, together with the others we receive, are being analysed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointments you experienced during your recent stay. Your feedback certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we at Protea Hotel Nelspruit are usually proud to offer. We would just like to point out that the ATM is located in a separate business complex adjacent to the hotel and not just outside the hotel gates. However we can advise that your comment has been addressed and action has been taken to rectify the problem area.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Jacques Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Reception did take a bid long, The guy ask us to pay again. We had to rectify him and tell him we did pay over the internet. Then he ask us to pay an extra tourism levi, that was not included in the original asking price. I really think at R750 a night just for the room, all small levi's needs to be included.
For the handyman: Our bathroom door couldn't stay close without locking it. The small dusbin in the bathroom foot opener is broken, this needs to be replaced. The towel hook on the back of the bathroom door is almost totally loose.
The biggest disappointment was that there was no vanila icecream for a Don Petro at 22:00.
If you have a sportcar you are going to struggle with the big speedbum's. There is about 3 of them and my normal 3 series was struggling over it, touch the first time.
Otherwise, the staff is very friendly, love the free drinks at reception. Love the free mags even the African Forbes was in the lobby. The room was 100% clean. Will go again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJKabousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. Your comments, together with the others we receive, are being analysed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced as a result of the Tourism Levy that you needed to pay extra, the bathroom along with the absence of the vanilla ice cream for your Dom Pedro. Your feedback certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we at Protea Hotel Nelspruit are usually proud to offer. We confirm therefore that your comments have been addressed and action has been taken to rectify the problem areas.

We hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Jacques Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

the double rooms are excellent
would stay there anytime

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. Your comments, together with the others we receive, are being analysed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced as a result of the Tourism Levy that you needed to pay extra ,the Bathroom with all its shortcomings along with the absence of the vanilla ice cream for your Dom Pedro. Your feedback certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we at Protea Hotel Nelspruit are usually proud to offer. We confirm therefore that your comments have been addressed and action has been taken to rectify the problem areas.

We hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,


Jacques Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

A good business hotel, decent place for holiday as well.
*NO* gym, but a sign as you enter the hotel that you are welcome to run up and down the stairs instead (haha).
Complimentary arrival beverage, with friendly staff. Rooms are very clean with a standard set of bath products. Asking for some extra bath products I felt as though housekeeping was going to get fired (even with a sizeable tip) the way they handled it.
Pool area looked nice and well-maintained, though I visited during the winter months.
Relatively easy to ge to/from town.
Breakfast and Dinner buffets offered a wide spread of local and America fare, through during peak times it was not well-maintained, with several trays left completely empty.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank X1432GLmikeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Nelspruit. Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient, friendly and personalised service.

We are delighted to hear that the STAFF was so friendly. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM!

However, your feedback with regards to Housekeeping amenities and Restaurant service certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we are usually proud to offer. We confirm that this matter has been investigated and that our TEAM has taken the appropriate action to rectify these shortcomings.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive criticism, as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how our GUESTS experience our service.

I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Nelspruit again soon.

Kind regards,


Jacques Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

After a long motorcycle ride from Durban this hotel was great, warm and welcoming, with juices and water in reception. The location is great if you need to be in town. There is a shopping centre right on the doorstep for those forgotten-to-pack items and there are a few nice restaurants within a 4 km radius if you don't feel like eating in. We did eat at the hotel and opted for their reasonably priced buffet which was fantastic. But be warned, breakfast is also a wonderful buffet but we weren't able to even attempt this as we had such a nice dinner the night before.

The staff are superb. The rooms are comfortable and spotless. It was a cool winter night so the airconditioning system wasnt tested. There is ample on-site parking and we were fortunate to have a room facing the swimming pool and garden.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool rather than facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
013 752 3948

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
2.2 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#9 of 18 in Nelspruit
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#11 of 18 in Nelspruit
51 reviews
1.5 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#7 of 18 in Nelspruit
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 9 in White River
304 reviews
2.6 mi away
Southern Sun Emnotweni
Southern Sun Emnotweni
#1 of 18 in Nelspruit
424 reviews
1.6 mi away
SUN1 Nelspruit
SUN1 Nelspruit
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit

Address: 30 Jerepico Street, Nelspruit 1201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range: £69 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit - Experience True Hospitality in the Mpumalanga Capital. The award winning Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit forms the ideal starting point from which to explore the Lowveld with abundant sunshine, lush hills and valleys. Get comfortable and cozy under our crisp white linen or make use of you en-suite bathroom to unwind. Maintain that sense of calm in the hotel's Fig Tree Restaurant, which overlooks the pool. It serves delectable buffet breakfasts daily, as well as a selection of lunch and dinner dishes from an extensive a la carte menu. Protea Hotel Nelspruit is ideally located with easy access to national roads and the Kruger Mpumalanga International airport. Only 63km from the world-renowned Kruger National Park, the hotel is situated in the heart of Big Five country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing