We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nelspruit
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel for business travel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Travelled to Nelspruit at the last minute for a meeting. Was lucky to get what was probably the last room in the hotel which also happened to be a disabled room. Clean hotel, friendly staff albeit slow in restaurant service. Comfortable beds. Downside is the design of the disabled room which seems to cater for disabled only. I don't think they had planned for disabled guests having able-bodied travel companions or partners...specifically referring to the limited height of the shower. All in all not a bad hotel.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TSH010GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear TSH010GP

We were only too happy to accommodate you at the last minute.

Our search for excellence is continuous and providing GUESTS with a clean and comfortable place to stay, filled with friendly STAFF is something we are proud of.

I apologise that your service in the restaurant was slow as this does not reflect the standards we are usually known for. I will be sitting down with the TEAM to iron out these concerns.

I have taken note of your comment regarding the difficulties you encountered with the shower and my maintenance TEAM will be looking into fixing the problem.

Your title that we are well suited for business travel is spot on and I look forward to your future trips to Nelspruit.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    63
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
27
26
5
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Secunda
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I enjoyed staying in this hotel
-Rooms are clened
-Floors are well maintained
-Passeges are maintained well
-Reception exellent
-Dinning room good condition
-Swimming pools are being cleaned everday and everytime
-Dids facilities galore
-Jumping casltle supplied, for our children, my children need me to bring them again next time,
-They did not want to leave the hotel and it is not the first time going to a hotel but they liked the Protea Hotel we went to in Nelspruit
-The surrounding it is also clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: -Rooms on the South side less noise. -Higher floors have less A/C unit noise -Corner suites are la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makola37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Makola37

Thank you for giving us your stamp of approval and for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Your review highlights our attention to detail and the effort we put in with regards to the maintenance of our hotel. We take great pride in the work we do and that extends to all areas from the rooms, to the restaurant and the service that the STAFF offer. Thank you for taking notice; I will congratulate the TEAM on the great work they are doing.

Family holidays are very important and we are thrilled to hear that your kids enjoyed the jumping castle and therefore don’t want to leave.

We look forward to your next visit with the family.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed at the Nelspruit Protea Hotel from 14/12/2012 - 17/12/2012 and can only say that we will definitely be back. As we were celebrating our anniversary we arrived at the hotel to find our room beautifully decorated, champagne and a cute teddy on our bed. The staff are so friendly from the security guard at the boom gate to the housekeepers and restaurant staff. Nothing is too much for them. The breakfasts were delicious!!! Thank you Protea Nelspruit for making our stay so comfortable and memorable.

Room Tip: Our room was an executive suite which was very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilganz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear Hilganz

GUEST feedback is very important to us as it enables us to see if we are meeting and exceeding GUEST expectations. In this case, there is no doubt that the STAFF have played their role to ensure that your anniversary was special and memorable. The decorated room, friendly STAFF and delicious breakfasts all form part of true Protea Hospitality.

Thank you for celebrating with us and posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

This is a good hotel to stay in although somewhat difficult to get to; I must say the TomTom navigation unit found it quiet easily though. The rooms are clean and modern as can be expected of a 4 Star Hotel although the bar appears not to have a wide variety of spirits (I suppose that this is due to the fact that it is not generally frequented by the guests).
I hope to try the food when I'm next there and will keep you updated.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear DaveSet

Welcome to the Protea Family! I am thrilled that you received a warm welcome from our friendly STAFF.

Please be sure to try out our restaurant during your next trip and we apologise if we did not have your drink of choice in the bar. However, we appreciate your comment as we are always in search of excellence.

Safe travels back to Benoni.

Kind regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

After a disastrous stay at the Protea Hotel in Centurion this one was a relief. The hotel was clean and fresh and the staff very friendly and efficient. Nothing spectacular or out of the ordinary but it was a good, safe option. Dinner was ok. Not great, but edible. We arranged a breakfast pack as we left the hotel at 5am. Not a hugely exciting spread, but it filled the gap and the staff were very accommodating when we requested our flasks be filled with coffee. For business travel this appears to be a reliable option.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandiman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Baie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Driving from johannesburg towards the kruger park with kids it was the perfect overnight stay. Good location not to far from shopping center. The room was clean and recently renovated but did not have a mini bar fridge.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirsada T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.
Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we would like to point out that we have mini bar fridges available on request, alternatively all our Executive rooms are equipped with them, regardless we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel is more suited for business travel but was perfectly good for our break away to the Kruger Park. All facilities are clean and updated. Unfortunately the hotel is not based in a very scenic area but is close to all the Nelpruit attractions and only about 30 to45 min drive to the Kruger.The only negative is the slow service around the pool and the restuarant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.
Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we would like to point out that we have taken your feedback into consideration and that we have investigated your concern with regards to the service at the pool.

We hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
2.2 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#6 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
#12 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
11.1 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Address: 30 Jerepico Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit - Experience True Hospitality in the Mpumalanga Capital. The award winning Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit forms the ideal starting point from which to explore the Lowveld with abundant sunshine, lush hills and valleys. Get comfortable and cozy under our crisp white linen or make use of you en-suite bathroom to unwind. Maintain that sense of calm in the hotel's Fig Tree Restaurant, which overlooks the pool. It serves delectable buffet breakfasts daily, as well as a selection of lunch and dinner dishes from an extensive a la carte menu. Protea Hotel Nelspruit is ideally located with easy access to national roads and the Kruger Mpumalanga International airport. Only 63km from the world-renowned Kruger National Park, the hotel is situated in the heart of Big Five country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing