We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nelspruit
Rayton, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the Protea Hotel during December 2012 and January 2013. From the moment we entered the hotel we felt and were treated like the only guests in the hotel. The person that was responsible for this was Francois. We had no advance booking at the hotel. He went out of his way to accommodate us. He was proffessional and friendly. Because of our first experience at the hotel we returned again in January 2013 and again was surpised at the welcome we received. This time we dealt with Yolanda. The staff is very well trained and this reflects in the service we received. No request we had was too much trouble.

Every staff member we encountered went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

The beds are very comfortable and the maintenance of the hotel overall is of high standard.

Even the security staff were friendly and happy to see us again - I could not believe they remebered us.

We will be returning in March and August 2013 for two very special occasions and are looking forward to celebrating with Yolanda and other staff members.

When in the area we will always stay at the Protea Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alrentia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Alrentia V

Wow, what an incredible review to read! I am so proud that the STAFF has made such a large impact during your stays with us.

There is no doubt that Francois and Yolanda represent the passionate and friendly attitude of the TEAM at Protea Hotel Nelspruit. I will share your comments with them and congratulate them on their outstanding service.

I am happy to hear that you found the rooms and facilities to be comfortable and of a high standard. We are continuously in search of excellence and your feedback will help us to achieve that.

Thank you once again and the TEAM looks forward to your next visits.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    64
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
27
27
5
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel after crossing the border late and was slightly disappointed by the price compared to quality of service. The rooms are decent hotel rooms but this hotel seemed to be aimed at business travellers

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyrfsa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear tonyrfsa09

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. Quality is something we are passionate about and welcome any feedback on how to improve in this regard.

The hotel caters for business, leisure and group bookings in terms of location, facilities and rates. I apologise if this is not how you felt as we pride ourselves on being well positioned within the Nelspruit area.

I hope to welcome you back in the future and please contact me at gm@phnelspruit.co.za if you have any queries.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, WA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The Protea Nelspruit is a more up-market hotel with nice rooms and furnishings. The beds are very comfortable.
The stand-out was the quality of the meals. Excellent.
Staff are attentive and friendly.
A good spot to stay to explore this part of the Lowveld or even a short trip into Mozambique.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoz_ichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Stoz_ichi

Thank you for your sharing your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit.

I can tell you that the chef will be delighted to receive your compliments about the food. The TEAM continues to deliver quality food and fresh produce to ensure that the GUESTS are happy.

Attentive and friendly STAFF is something that we are so very proud of and I will definitely be congratulating them for their exemplary service.

A base to explore the Lowveld we are and we hope to host you again on your next adventure.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Travelled to Nelspruit at the last minute for a meeting. Was lucky to get what was probably the last room in the hotel which also happened to be a disabled room. Clean hotel, friendly staff albeit slow in restaurant service. Comfortable beds. Downside is the design of the disabled room which seems to cater for disabled only. I don't think they had planned for disabled guests having able-bodied travel companions or partners...specifically referring to the limited height of the shower. All in all not a bad hotel.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TSH010GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear TSH010GP

We were only too happy to accommodate you at the last minute.

Our search for excellence is continuous and providing GUESTS with a clean and comfortable place to stay, filled with friendly STAFF is something we are proud of.

I apologise that your service in the restaurant was slow as this does not reflect the standards we are usually known for. I will be sitting down with the TEAM to iron out these concerns.

I have taken note of your comment regarding the difficulties you encountered with the shower and my maintenance TEAM will be looking into fixing the problem.

Your title that we are well suited for business travel is spot on and I look forward to your future trips to Nelspruit.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunda
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I enjoyed staying in this hotel
-Rooms are clened
-Floors are well maintained
-Passeges are maintained well
-Reception exellent
-Dinning room good condition
-Swimming pools are being cleaned everday and everytime
-Dids facilities galore
-Jumping casltle supplied, for our children, my children need me to bring them again next time,
-They did not want to leave the hotel and it is not the first time going to a hotel but they liked the Protea Hotel we went to in Nelspruit
-The surrounding it is also clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: -Rooms on the South side less noise. -Higher floors have less A/C unit noise -Corner suites are la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makola37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Makola37

Thank you for giving us your stamp of approval and for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Your review highlights our attention to detail and the effort we put in with regards to the maintenance of our hotel. We take great pride in the work we do and that extends to all areas from the rooms, to the restaurant and the service that the STAFF offer. Thank you for taking notice; I will congratulate the TEAM on the great work they are doing.

Family holidays are very important and we are thrilled to hear that your kids enjoyed the jumping castle and therefore don’t want to leave.

We look forward to your next visit with the family.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed at the Nelspruit Protea Hotel from 14/12/2012 - 17/12/2012 and can only say that we will definitely be back. As we were celebrating our anniversary we arrived at the hotel to find our room beautifully decorated, champagne and a cute teddy on our bed. The staff are so friendly from the security guard at the boom gate to the housekeepers and restaurant staff. Nothing is too much for them. The breakfasts were delicious!!! Thank you Protea Nelspruit for making our stay so comfortable and memorable.

Room Tip: Our room was an executive suite which was very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilganz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear Hilganz

GUEST feedback is very important to us as it enables us to see if we are meeting and exceeding GUEST expectations. In this case, there is no doubt that the STAFF have played their role to ensure that your anniversary was special and memorable. The decorated room, friendly STAFF and delicious breakfasts all form part of true Protea Hospitality.

Thank you for celebrating with us and posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This is a good hotel to stay in although somewhat difficult to get to; I must say the TomTom navigation unit found it quiet easily though. The rooms are clean and modern as can be expected of a 4 Star Hotel although the bar appears not to have a wide variety of spirits (I suppose that this is due to the fact that it is not generally frequented by the guests).
I hope to try the food when I'm next there and will keep you updated.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear DaveSet

Welcome to the Protea Family! I am thrilled that you received a warm welcome from our friendly STAFF.

Please be sure to try out our restaurant during your next trip and we apologise if we did not have your drink of choice in the bar. However, we appreciate your comment as we are always in search of excellence.

Safe travels back to Benoni.

Kind regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
2.2 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#7 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Promenade
Best Western Hotel Promenade
#13 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
11.1 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#6 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Address: 30 Jerepico Street, Nelspruit 1201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit - Experience True Hospitality in the Mpumalanga Capital. The award winning Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit forms the ideal starting point from which to explore the Lowveld with abundant sunshine, lush hills and valleys. Get comfortable and cozy under our crisp white linen or make use of you en-suite bathroom to unwind. Maintain that sense of calm in the hotel's Fig Tree Restaurant, which overlooks the pool. It serves delectable buffet breakfasts daily, as well as a selection of lunch and dinner dishes from an extensive a la carte menu. Protea Hotel Nelspruit is ideally located with easy access to national roads and the Kruger Mpumalanga International airport. Only 63km from the world-renowned Kruger National Park, the hotel is situated in the heart of Big Five country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing