We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst dining experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First time at this hotel. Went down for dinner to find no one interested in taking us to tables. We found tables ourselves but all the tables still had cutlery and plates from previous diners.
After waiting and trying to get attention of waiter, he came over and after much pleading asked him to clear the table for us. It took another 10 minutes to get him to come back to order drinks.

So called- buffet was pathetic. Overcooked, unappetizing and of very poor taste and quality. The rest was clearly recycled from breakfast . Most of the buffet options were just empty bowls with no food in them.

The worst hotel dinner buffet I have ever had!

Rooms are decent but the location of the hotel is poor.
In addition, its layout is a pain. Different building complexes mean working from one section of the hotel outside and then to another section (building)

Room Tip: For best room and better dinning experience choose another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrick G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Tsalas

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide such valuable feedback.

Please accept my apologies for your experience at our hotel. It is our aim to not only meet, but exceed GUEST expectations and it is disappointing that this was not the case for you.

I am extremely concerned to have learned about the discomfort and inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. Your feedback certainly does not reflect the high standard of service and quality that Protea Hotel Nelspruit is usually proud to offer.

Rest assured that these matters have my full attention and that remedial action will be taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again.

Thank you once again and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next business trip to show you we have improved. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact me at gm@phnelspruit.co.za.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a refreshing experience to be welcomed at a hotel and continue to feel welcome throughout your stay. Thank you Protea Nelspruit! Friendly reception staff, well appointed rooms with decent sized bathrooms, great breakfasts and lovely atmosphere. You most definitely deserve your four star status! We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delia152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We are runners and have done various races in the Nelspruit area and on all the occasions have we stayed at this hotel. Last weekend we returned again.

If you are looking for spacious rooms, combined with great service and friendly staff, this is it. The hotel is also well located just off the N4 highway cutting through Nelspruit.

The hotel offers different room configurations to cater for ever need. The restaurant offers great meals, à la carte and buffet style and will serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The pool is well kept and offers a welcome cool down specially in summer months when the Lowveld sun can be quite harsh. On the point of cooling down, all rooms are equipped with air conditioners offering that special relieve from the Lowveld heat.

I can really recommend this hotel for business, sport of leisure.

Room Tip: Choose your room on the "reception side" of the hotel, away from the N4 highway that passe...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Douw

It is an absolute pleasure to respond to your letter of appreciation to the Protea Hotel Nelspruit. Thank you for your kind words!

I am delighted that your friends and yourself enjoyed your stay with us! We do hope that we can offer many more "experiences of a life time" to all your friends and family visiting.

Hope you will return soon!

Regards

Garrick Grabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is good for an overnight stay or a stay for business.

The food was good, the rooms clean and the staff friendly, but its not something that will blow your mind away. It serves its purpose and that's enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asagineechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and that the STAFF were so friendly. We also proud ourselves in our clean rooms and your feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we meet and exceed our GUESTS' expectations.

I assure you that we have congratulated our STAFF for doing such an outstanding job!

Kind regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Staff are friendly, but room not child friendly and don't try the room service, they say 45 mins and only come after 1 hr and 15 mins. They also get the order wrong EVERY time, even though they call to confirm. Breakfast was not a large selection for a 4* hotel, Kids enjoyed the pool and activities

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor. We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel Nelspruit is viewed in a serious light.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvience that was caused to you with your room service order. I confirm therefore that your concerns regarding your order have been addressed and action taken to rectify the shortcomings. It pleases me to see that your kids enjoyed the pool and kids activities over the festive season and that the STAFF was very friendly.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUEST'S expectations.

Kind regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Protea Nelspruit and found it to be a good, comfortable stop over hotel. The rooms were perfectly clean, comfortable beds, quiet, but a little small for a family of 4 to share, and a little bare. It seemed to miss some cosy-ness. The outdoor area was lovely and we ate breakfasts and both dinners by the pool. They had some kids activities on the first night and a blow up waterslide running at certain times of the day which was great fun for the kids. Staff were helpful and friendly, the food in the restaurant was hearty. We would stay there again for an overnight.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit.

We are delighted to receive your compliments on our good food and activities for the children and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free next time when you book to ask for a interleading room for your family and we will gladly assist.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Nelspruit.

Kind regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is by far one of the best Protea Hotels I've been too. From the guards at the gate to the reception everyone was super we came in on New Years and what a pleasant way to start 2014. We phoned the day before for an early chek inn and didn't make it that early but they had a room ready for us for 10am got into the room settles down and the aircon leaking phoned to tell them immediately got help me then the problem persisted we got another room with a smile. Here's the best part big thanks to Dion and his team in the kitchen Elvis Barnard Koos who went it of their way to cater for is as we eat halaal food we were allowed into the kitchen to warm the food ant we had special attention during breakfast it was super no other Protea assisted us in this way and the cherry on the top they cater for kids so they were quite occupied too thank you guys at the hotel will definatley return

Room Tip: Not a pool facing room too. Too noisy
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amatory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor and to assure you that your comments are being used contructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
0.6 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
46 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
245 reviews
1.5 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#6 of 18 in Nelspruit
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
261 reviews
11.5 mi away
Panorama Guest Farm
Panorama Guest Farm
#4 of 18 in Nelspruit
42 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 18 in Nelspruit
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit

Address: 30 Jerepico Street, Nelspruit 1201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range: £64 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit - Experience True Hospitality in the Mpumalanga Capital. The award winning Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit forms the ideal starting point from which to explore the Lowveld with abundant sunshine, lush hills and valleys. Get comfortable and cozy under our crisp white linen or make use of you en-suite bathroom to unwind. Maintain that sense of calm in the hotel's Fig Tree Restaurant, which overlooks the pool. It serves delectable buffet breakfasts daily, as well as a selection of lunch and dinner dishes from an extensive a la carte menu. Protea Hotel Nelspruit is ideally located with easy access to national roads and the Kruger Mpumalanga International airport. Only 63km from the world-renowned Kruger National Park, the hotel is situated in the heart of Big Five country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing