We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stopover option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nelspruit
Cumbria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good stopover option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night en route from the Kruger to the Drakensberg. Its a typical business hotel but was perfect for us as a family. Rooms were a good size and everything we needed was there. We ate in the restaurant in the evening - OK, but the waiter service was a bit disorganized. Breakfast was pretty good.

I don't think I'd want to stay for mor than a night or to, but would recommend it as a stopover.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    63
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
27
26
5
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenton-on-Sea, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at the Protea Hotel Nelspruit last night as part of a research trip for www.africa-deluxe-tours.com. In short I'm impressed with the hotel, provided that you know what you're getting.

The hotel is graded 4-star by South Africa's Tourism Grading Council (TGCSA) and I believe that's an accurate reflection. The hotel features a dining room that's open to the foyer and also opens up onto a small open courtyard with pool, deck chairs and outside dining seating as well. There's two conferencing facilities next to the pool as well, which could be a nice option for private groups who could request to use it for private dining.

The quality of the food was good. Breakfast buffets in most hotels these days are quite similar, but it had everything one would expect - cereals, hot breakfast items, omelets, different types of breads, fresh fruit, juices, coffee poured at your table, etc. Dinner last night was also an extended buffet with an a la carte menu available as well.

There's a small lounge-bar area also leading out from the foyer. There's no gym.

My room had a king bed, small fridge, laptop-fitting room safe, climate control, flat-screen television, luggage rack, working table with local and international wall plugs, COMPLIMENTARY WIFI, coffee-and-tea station, etc. The bathroom features a separate bath and shower.

The hotel is well located to explore what the town and surrounds have to offer. It's a good base for exploring, but is not a destination resort type affair - very few people would go to Nelspruit expecting that. Upkeep and maintenance at the hotel seems to be excellent.

All in all I can't fault the hotel. It's not unique and as part of a larger chain it offers what one would expect. The immaculate state of the facilities, however isn't always a feature of hotel groups individual properties - at this hotel it's great.

Room Tip: As tour operator I was shown various room types and all looked in immaculate condition. The hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSmuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

First time at this hotel. Went down for dinner to find no one interested in taking us to tables. We found tables ourselves but all the tables still had cutlery and plates from previous diners.
After waiting and trying to get attention of waiter, he came over and after much pleading asked him to clear the table for us. It took another 10 minutes to get him to come back to order drinks.

So called- buffet was pathetic. Overcooked, unappetizing and of very poor taste and quality. The rest was clearly recycled from breakfast . Most of the buffet options were just empty bowls with no food in them.

The worst hotel dinner buffet I have ever had!

Rooms are decent but the location of the hotel is poor.
In addition, its layout is a pain. Different building complexes mean working from one section of the hotel outside and then to another section (building)

Room Tip: For best room and better dinning experience choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrick G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tsalas

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide such valuable feedback.

Please accept my apologies for your experience at our hotel. It is our aim to not only meet, but exceed GUEST expectations and it is disappointing that this was not the case for you.

I am extremely concerned to have learned about the discomfort and inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. Your feedback certainly does not reflect the high standard of service and quality that Protea Hotel Nelspruit is usually proud to offer.

Rest assured that these matters have my full attention and that remedial action will be taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again.

Thank you once again and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next business trip to show you we have improved. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact me at gm@phnelspruit.co.za.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nelspruit hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a refreshing experience to be welcomed at a hotel and continue to feel welcome throughout your stay. Thank you Protea Nelspruit! Friendly reception staff, well appointed rooms with decent sized bathrooms, great breakfasts and lovely atmosphere. You most definitely deserve your four star status! We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We are runners and have done various races in the Nelspruit area and on all the occasions have we stayed at this hotel. Last weekend we returned again.

If you are looking for spacious rooms, combined with great service and friendly staff, this is it. The hotel is also well located just off the N4 highway cutting through Nelspruit.

The hotel offers different room configurations to cater for ever need. The restaurant offers great meals, à la carte and buffet style and will serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The pool is well kept and offers a welcome cool down specially in summer months when the Lowveld sun can be quite harsh. On the point of cooling down, all rooms are equipped with air conditioners offering that special relieve from the Lowveld heat.

I can really recommend this hotel for business, sport of leisure.

Room Tip: Choose your room on the "reception side" of the hotel, away from the N4 highway that passe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Douw

It is an absolute pleasure to respond to your letter of appreciation to the Protea Hotel Nelspruit. Thank you for your kind words!

I am delighted that your friends and yourself enjoyed your stay with us! We do hope that we can offer many more "experiences of a life time" to all your friends and family visiting.

Hope you will return soon!

Regards

Garrick Grabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is good for an overnight stay or a stay for business.

The food was good, the rooms clean and the staff friendly, but its not something that will blow your mind away. It serves its purpose and that's enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asagineechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and that the STAFF were so friendly. We also proud ourselves in our clean rooms and your feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we meet and exceed our GUESTS' expectations.

I assure you that we have congratulated our STAFF for doing such an outstanding job!

Kind regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Staff are friendly, but room not child friendly and don't try the room service, they say 45 mins and only come after 1 hr and 15 mins. They also get the order wrong EVERY time, even though they call to confirm. Breakfast was not a large selection for a 4* hotel, Kids enjoyed the pool and activities

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor. We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel Nelspruit is viewed in a serious light.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvience that was caused to you with your room service order. I confirm therefore that your concerns regarding your order have been addressed and action taken to rectify the shortcomings. It pleases me to see that your kids enjoyed the pool and kids activities over the festive season and that the STAFF was very friendly.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUEST'S expectations.

Kind regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
2.2 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#6 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
#12 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
11.1 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Address: 30 Jerepico Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit - Experience True Hospitality in the Mpumalanga Capital. The award winning Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit forms the ideal starting point from which to explore the Lowveld with abundant sunshine, lush hills and valleys. Get comfortable and cozy under our crisp white linen or make use of you en-suite bathroom to unwind. Maintain that sense of calm in the hotel's Fig Tree Restaurant, which overlooks the pool. It serves delectable buffet breakfasts daily, as well as a selection of lunch and dinner dishes from an extensive a la carte menu. Protea Hotel Nelspruit is ideally located with easy access to national roads and the Kruger Mpumalanga International airport. Only 63km from the world-renowned Kruger National Park, the hotel is situated in the heart of Big Five country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing