We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently high standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shandon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shandon Lodge
Ranked #11 of 69 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Gauteng
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently high standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have been visiting this establishment for 8 years. The service, friendliness and cleanliness has always been exemplary. I have recommended the guest house to a number of people who have had the same professional yet personal service as well. I would confidently recommend this establishment to anybody visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShandonLodge, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
One of our greatest pleasures is having guests return again and again to our Guesthouse - they no longer visit as Guests but as friends - thank you Kerry for your loyal support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
19
1
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I only got to stay one night, but really wish I could have stayed another few nights. The Room was beautiful and exceeded it's star rating. I was sad to leave. The only negative thing I can think of is that there was only enough plunger coffee in the room for 1cup.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dewald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi Dewald, Thank you for your kind review - glad that you enjoyed the coffe but sorry that there was not more in your room... we would have gladly supplied your with more on request and in future we will ensure that the coffee supplies are better stocked.. we look forward to seeing again... rgds Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Extremely good value for money.Rooms spacious and clean.Very good food!The hostsTony and Jane are wonderful and very hospitable! hosts I have been staying there for almost three weeks and will not stay anywhere else! Jane's home-coocked food is superb!This must be the best guest house in Nelspruit! Thank you Tony and Jane! Eric vd Merwe

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ouplaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at the Lodge for more than a week and were made incredibly welcome - almost as members of the family. It had been our intention to make a number of sightseeing visits and these were much helped by the information and background given by the owners, Jane and Tony Gunstone
The quality and furnishings of the rooms are delightful and ours (Room 8) had double doors opening onto the pool
The quality and choice of breakfasts was great - as were the dinners when we chose to eat in
Overall a delightful experience - to be strongly reccomended

Room Tip: Ideally for couples - rooms 5,6,7 or 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

I ws there during game of Kaizer Chiefs I ws impressed coz it nt far 4rm mbobela stadium n entertainment luved it 2 bits I wudnt mind 2 go there again thanx!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyboikanyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for writing a review on Shandon Lodge - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This place is wonderful! Such a lovely family and they couldn't be more helpful. We had first night of honeymoon here before going to the Kruger. When we came back they had cooked for us and we all ate together like old friends. Will definitely return here, superb!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tempertonsjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay in SA - it was wonderful to meet you both and we look forward to hosting you again one day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was superb. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.9 mi away
Utopia in Africa
Utopia in Africa
#2 of 64 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.9 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 69 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
3.3 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 69 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 69 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 69 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandon Lodge

Property: Shandon Lodge
Address: 58 Von Braun Street | Steiltes, Nelspruit 1201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shandon Lodge is the perfect "home" for the business or tourist traveler in the Lowveld region. Ideally situated close to the town of Nelspruit in the quiet and peaceful suburbs with magnificent views across the Crocodile River Valley. This custom-built guesthouse boasts an AA Superior Guesthouse rating and offers the highest standards at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shandon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing