We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
Review of Shandon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shandon Lodge
Ranked #12 of 71 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very helpful people and much larger facilities than I expected. Secure parking, quiet and clean room. The restaurant suggested by the inn keeper was perfect. The patio area was perfect for a glass of wine or 2.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hi Robert, Thank you for your kind review - greatly appreciated! Such a shame that the weather wasn't kinder to you during your stay but hopefully you recharged your batteries before the next leg of your trip! We hope to see you back in SA again, Best wishes Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
19
1
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have just returned from my trip to SA and had to write to say that Shandon Lodge is absolutely beautiful and I would recommend a stay there. Unfortunately we were only booked to stay one night but I would have loved to stay a couple more days. The lodge is well placed, being around an hour outside Kruger, the staff are very friendly and gave us some very helpful tips and recommendations.
The rooms are lovely and very spacious and the food was very nice. You can see that the owners take great pride in their lodge and are always happy to help.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franvid147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you Frances for your superb review - I also wish that you could have all spent longer with us at Shandon - a really great bunch of friends - I loved the vibe you all created in the house - may this be the first of many trips x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The best of both worlds ! Perfect for the corporate road warrior. Close proximity to the business district. As good if not better for the resort traveller , a chip and a putt from a top rated golf course , and very close to the best national park in the world.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you Derrick - we appreciate your support and enjoyed having you here at Shandon, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Short stay but fantastic, breakfast was great, rooms amazing and staff really friendly. Would 100% recommend. Lady who looked after us gave some good tips for Kruger. Everything was so clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MilesTomkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you Miles - really nice to meet you and your friends - hope that this is the first of many visits to sunny South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I did not not quite what to expect; I had stayed at other B&Bs in Nelspruit and found them a little under-whelming. Shandon Lodge is a cracker. It sits up high and affords great views from the viewing deck and catches a welcome breeze when the temperature rises. There is a lovely sense of privacy with the various beautifully appointed rooms surrounding a sparkling pool and inside/outside lounge area. Owner care and attention prevails: lots of lovely little "designed corners" and lush plantings and garden features - everything grows in Nelspruit!.
Food and attention were both great - Mrs G cooks like a champ. Local "where to eat out advice" - priceless.
I was there for golf - don't miss Nelspruit CC - but I would be happy to return with business in mind.

Room Tip: I hawould not have used it. Plenty of pressure in the shower. Next time I go I will ask the owner d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasSiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review - next time we would love to show you a few more of the rooms - we also have full en-suite bathrooms - baths and seperate showers! Looking forward to seeing you on the next golfing or business visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
327 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at Shandon Lodge. The rooms are set around a tiled swimming pool, with a deck that has a lovely view, you can see for miles. Nice thing about the rooms is that they are spaced out and you don't feel on top of the other guests like at other B&B's where they try to squeeze in too many rooms.

The breakfasts are great and cooked by the owner Jane. It's good quality stuff and you can see the pride on the plate. There is a nice little bar, and amazing selection of wines. They must have a few hundred bottles of good stuff.

Everything is top class and very well done. Even the coffee in the room is a little plunger rather than the instant stuff, the gardens are perfectly manicured, there is attention to detail in everything here. Definitely a great place to stay if you are looking for something upmarket for your stay in Nelspruit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grennie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Many thanks for your kind review - it is hugely appreciated - it was great to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again at Shandon Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed there for 1 night but it was too short. There is a beautiful lounge area near the pool in the garden where you can sit and relax during the night. Excellent host Jane is and she makes sure that everyting is perfect to the detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShandonLodge, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
It was wonderful to meet you and your family - hopefully we will see you again at Shandon Lodge on your next visit to South Africa. Best wishes x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.9 mi away
Utopia in Africa
Utopia in Africa
#2 of 64 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.9 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 71 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.3 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 71 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 71 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 71 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandon Lodge

Property: Shandon Lodge
Address: 58 Von Braun Street | Steiltes, Nelspruit 1201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shandon Lodge is the perfect "home" for the business or tourist traveler in the Lowveld region. Ideally situated close to the town of Nelspruit in the quiet and peaceful suburbs with magnificent views across the Crocodile River Valley. This custom-built guesthouse boasts an AA Superior Guesthouse rating and offers the highest standards at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shandon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing