We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brief visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Roca Guest House
Ranked #2 of 74 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A brief visit”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A very pleasant, clean, welcoming place to stay. Fully recommend it, especially the dinner (that needs to be pre-ordered) and is much better than having to go out and search around Nelspruit. Very nice grounds and pool - what more do you want for a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    77
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
63
158
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed for two nights: the hospitality was warm, breakfast was delish, location was great. Not a complaint, but just to note as in another review, the floor plan is open and the bathroom doesn't have a door. I was with my three year old so not a problem, but it wouldn't have been a great set up if I had been with my older children. Would definitely go back, however!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeavingSoonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice, garden is also very nice. Very good location. Very friendly. Recommended to try the special dinner. Preorder required.
Breakfast is very nice. Good atmosphere. Clean.
Will come back.
Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tzaneen
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I like the view and the hospitality we received from la Roca, ooh yes and the breakfast was so nice. it is situated in the beautiful mountain the view it is so beautiful and cool. and the very nice breeze that comes from the mountain

Room Tip: higher floors has nice breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndifelani m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

La Roca Guesthouse is situated in a beautifully green suburb less than 2km away from the Nelspruit city centre. The backyard and dining area overlook beautiful, green mountains, the surroundings are quiet and peaceful; perfect for some downtime.
The rooms are functional and warm; they have a sitting area as well as a luxurious bath and shower. There's a balcony area with even the standard rooms which I enjoyed for most of the afternoon. The rooms exceeded my expectations.
My overall experience was just lovely and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the second floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purity N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have had the opportunity to stay with La Roca recently during our stay in Nelspruit and what an experience. The initial feel was that of "other" lodges but to the contrary it was out of this world. I have also noticed that they have been awarded thge Trip Advisor Winner 2013 for the region and can concur.

The food and cuisine is unique, special and pretty good with variety every day and new "menus' ready when you are seated letting you know what you are going to be treated with.

The staff truely are a huge plus to La Roca, interested in your day's activities and pleasently helpful organizing your breakfast or supper.

They are at your begging and calling ready to assist.

The accommodation is stylish and has flair that realy touches all your senses. The ambiance is just great and has no room for improvement, with soft music, gentle lights plaing on the pool's water next to the giant rock (La Roca) casting its image into the water.

The staff also welcomed us on our arrival with a smile taking our luggage to our beautifully situated room overlooking the Bombela Mountains and gorges.

I have taken wonderful pictures during our stay and will upload them soon, so all reading this review please return to this site for an awesome picture of the best place I have stayed.

Room Tip: Room 9 is a definite "must" and be sure to request ROOM 9 on booking your stay with La Roc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KobusV156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I've been in La Roca once and it was very nice.
I went with my girlfriend, we were in need of relaxation and we could get it.
It's a very quiet place, enjoyable and the service is good. The rooms are confortable, clean and if you opt for a luxury one you'll enjoy to have a relaxing foambath.
We tried the dinner in there, apart of being romantic the food was very nice.
So, I recommend anyone to go there and I don't see the opportunity to go back again.

Kind Regards to all La Roca Staff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbatsana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 74 in Nelspruit
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 74 in Nelspruit
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Utopia in Africa
Utopia in Africa
#2 of 68 in Nelspruit
168 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 74 in Nelspruit
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roca Guest House

Property: La Roca Guest House
Address: 56 Van Wijk Street | Nelspruit, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Roca Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Roca is an owner-managed 4-star boutique guest house located in an upmarket residential suburb of Nelspruit. Spread amongst 6,000m² of sub-tropical garden, several of our rooms, the breakfast lapa and pool deck enjoy stunning uninterrupted views over the Nelspruit Nature Reserve and escarpment beyond. Conveniently situated only 2Km from the city centre, La Roca is a peaceful oasis within which to unwind from a long days work or to use as a base for exploring the many world class attractions in the vicinity: the Kruger National Park; Blyde River Canyon; Mozambique and Swaziland are all less than an hour away. Offering standard, luxury and executive accommodation, all our en-suite rooms have been individually decorated with attention to detail and each have a private entrance and a balcony or patio. Our approach is professional but our style is with a smile - creating a friendly and warm ambience. Welcome to La Roca - an ideal base for corporate or leisure travellers. You will wish you had stayed for longer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Roca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing