We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 12 has bad smell (sewer)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Roca Guest House
Ranked #4 of 78 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Both mornings that we spend on the guest house, at 5AM started the sewer bad smell. The first night we had the windows closed and believed that the smell was from our WC. On the second we had the windows open and the smell on the room was impossible.

When this information was relayed to management on check out, they just didnt care and justified: "we don't know because we don't spleep on the room, we will look into it".

Clearly they are aware of this problem !!!!

Breakfast was excelent, but bed matress needed reform!

Avoid this guest house.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Eduardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Owner at La Roca Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Eduardo,

Whilst we welcome constructive criticism in order to continue improving our product, we feel your review is rather unfair. We operate on a very high occupancy rate and the room you were in was occupied on the nights before you arrived and after you left. These guests were regulars of ours and would let us know if there was a problem - but no one mentioned anything about smells. It is strange you only informed management upon check-out, but when your room was checked after you left, the only smell noted was from the nappies in the waste bin. We have been re-checking the room ever since your comments and there is no problem with the sewerage or smells.

Room 12 is one of our newest rooms and the mattress is no more than 1-year old.

Readers can rest assured there is no sewerage problem at the guest house, as can be seen from our other reviews.

kind regards
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Woow i dont even know were to start. I was there for honeymoon and they made it so memorable. Our room was perfect and was kept clean through out our stay. I loved the food so much especially the presentation. The way they present their food just makes one to want to eat it. Thanks so much for allowing us to choose what to eat, and thanks so much to the ladies who were cooking, they made sure we had our favorite food.Thanks to Amanda & Liz for going an extra mile with everything we asked.

Keep up the good work and for sure we will come back, thanks

Room Tip: Room 9 is very good for a couple, as long as none of you suffer from sinus as it is thatch roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Takalani,

Thank you so much for the nice review. It was nice to meet you and a pleasure to have you here. We hope that this honeymoon at La Roca was the start of a blessed marriage.

We wish you all the best & we look forward to seeing you again!

Best Regards
La Roca Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Amanda was most careful to check that I would be able to access my room (I am partially disabled). She promised and I received all the help I needed and then some.

Dinner is provided only by prior order. I knew I wouldn't want to go out so I ordered in advance and got the best steak I have had on the African continent. Pretty good potatoes as well. Nelspruit is indeed fortunate in having two such guesthouses as this and Utopia in Africa. From other reviewers I see that there are others rated as highly. I'll be back, but I can't see myself trying a third.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Kenneth,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate it. It is always good to hear nice things about La Roca.

It was nice meeting you and a pleasure to have you around.

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travelling.

Keep well.

Best Regards
La Roca Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent overnighter.....we thoroughly enjoyed our stay for the night on our way through to Maputo. Would gladly recommend to our friends and family, and we will drop in again on future trips through Nelspruit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear James & Family,

Thank you for the nice review. It was a pleasure to meet you & we look forward to your next visits.

Thanks again!

Keep well.

Best Regards
La Roca Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I never realized such beautiful places existed in Nelspruit, my colleagues & I have been staying at La Roca for 3 weeks now & it's absolutely superb. I stayed in room 11 the first week (for room read large house) - the highlight being the outside bath on the terrace overlooking the park.

The food is superb, especially dinner , with a different set menu every night, cooked to a very high standard.

Nothing is too much trouble & as always it's the little things that make the difference - like serving breakfast 15 mins early so we could eat before going to work.

I would heartily recommend La Roca

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - they're stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDeering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Peter,

Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure every time to have yourself, Shadrack & Goodwill around.

Nothing is ever too much trouble when it comes to such nice guests :)

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks again!

Keep well.

Best Regards
La Roca Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We can only say: everything was perfect! Beautiful rooms and bathrooms, lovely balcony, very good breakfast, friendly people ........ We enjoyed our stay at La Roca very much even if it was for one night only. We will for sure come back once we are in the region again.

Room Tip: 3 rooms on the first floor, perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Elisabeth,

Thank you for the good review. it is always nice to hear that our guests were happy.

Thank you for staying with La Roca and hopefully we'll see you again one day!

Take care!

Best Regards
La Roca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights on a B & B plus evening meal. Its a shame more people do not dine here, the food was fantastic, it was like having your own chef. Nothing too much trouble.
Would certainly stay again. Wonderful gardens.

Bill & Brenda Warrington UK

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilmot46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Bill & Brenda,

Thank you for this nice review. It was great to have you here! And a pleasure to meet you.

If you visit SA again and stay at La Roca, it will feel like friends coming to visit.

We really hope to see you again one day.

Thanks again & all the best!

Best Regards
La Roca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
2.3 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 78 in Nelspruit
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#3 of 18 in Nelspruit
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#3 of 78 in Nelspruit
146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nelspruit Lodge
Nelspruit Lodge
#5 of 78 in Nelspruit
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roca Guest House

Address: 56 Van Wijk Street | Nelspruit, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range: £67 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Roca Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Roca is an owner-managed 4-star boutique guest house located in an upmarket residential suburb of Nelspruit. Spread amongst 6,000m² of sub-tropical garden, several of our rooms, the breakfast lapa and pool deck enjoy stunning uninterrupted views over the Nelspruit Nature Reserve and escarpment beyond. Conveniently situated only 2Km from the city centre, La Roca is a peaceful oasis within which to unwind from a long days work or to use as a base for exploring the many world class attractions in the vicinity: the Kruger National Park; Blyde River Canyon; Mozambique and Swaziland are all less than an hour away. Offering standard, luxury and executive accommodation, all our en-suite rooms have been individually decorated with attention to detail and each have a private entrance and a balcony or patio. Our approach is professional but our style is with a smile - creating a friendly and warm ambience. Welcome to La Roca - an ideal base for corporate or leisure travellers. You will wish you had stayed for longer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Roca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing