We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious rest stop on way to Kruger”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Roca Guest House
Ranked #2 of 71 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Luxurious rest stop on way to Kruger”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights on the way to Kruger, as part of our honeymoon. The guest house was amazing. We booked a romantic turndown and this was in place for our arrival. It looked really nice and I know my wife appreciated it.

The room was excellent. Interesting and unique decor and very clean. We stayed in the individual room located in the garden with a small balcony. The breakfast were fantastic. The special which I had on both days was delicious.

Overall this is an excellent place to stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Chris

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review on Trip Advisor for us. We are very happy that everything have met you standards and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to a return visit in the near future.
Regards to your lovely wife!

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    75
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
61
157
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in the self-catering apartment called the Executive suite. It was amazing.

Stunning views, massive open plan rooms, high ceilings, open fire, large bath, separate bedroom with door for toddler (with cot provided). Really was lovely. Amazing breakfasts with friendly staff. They were very good about our disaster prone toddler.

Only downside for us was no children's channels on the DSTV, but we always travel with shows on our laptop so not a big problem.

We spent most of our time in iLanga mall (favourite) or Riverside mall. Where we live there are no malls so we quite appreciate them!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Nick & Family

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the shopping in Nelspruit !

We are looking forward to have you back again.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A lovely b&b located just outside the town centre of Nelspruit, which is less than 1hour drive to the southern gate of Kruger National Park.

We stayed in what must have been the honeymoon suite and enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast at a very reasonable price (the exchange rare worked in our favour).

Staff were exceedingly polite.

Room Tip: Go for the large single property at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you Lynn, for deciding to write a review - we really appreciate that La Roca has made your stay special and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MONTPELLIER
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

One night in our trip between JNB and the Kruger Park. Nice large room, king size bed, shower, bath. We appreciated the breakfast outside, with beautiful view, terrace and pool. We highly recommend this place !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lo_ATW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear "La Roca GH - Nelspruit”

Thank you for making La Roca you `stay over place` on your way to Kruger Park.
We really enjoyed having you here and hope there will be many more visits in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. It is helpful when other travellers can read about your experience, when they have to make a decision where to stay over during their journey.

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I agree this was our favorite lodging (of the 6 places we stayed) while in South Africa. BEAUTIFUL view, comfortable bed, warm on a winter's night, and GOOD wifi. We only wish we had've known how nice it was so we could've been there sooner to enjoy the view!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMamaFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear `Best Guesthouse of our trip`

Wow, that is a big compliment! Thank you! And thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you back here at La Roca as soon as you can visit us again.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje Mazedonien
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

overall good impression, centrally located, easy going check in, big rooms, clean and stylish, friendly and helpfull staff, wounderful breakfast, only a butter was spoiled ... at all I would like to recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wolfp122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Mr Wolf

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at La Roca. All our staff members really would go out of their way to gratify our guests. Sorry about the butter, wish you told me that morning so that I could have follow it up for you.

Thank you for choosing La Roca Guest House and we hope to see you in the future again.

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

An easy staying hotel in a little town but near beautiful game and wildlife reserves. The accommodation was good, the price cheap and the vicinity do offer nice opportunities.
We did pend a pleasant week-end.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Rosario

I am so glad we were able to offer you a pleasant stay and that you found all aspects of our service including the accommodation to be worth the value. We look forward to your return sometimes soon.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
2.3 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#7 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 71 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 71 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 71 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roca Guest House

Property: La Roca Guest House
Address: 56 Van Wijk Street | Nelspruit, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Roca Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Roca is an owner-managed 4-star boutique guest house located in an upmarket residential suburb of Nelspruit. Spread amongst 6,000m² of sub-tropical garden, several of our rooms, the breakfast lapa and pool deck enjoy stunning uninterrupted views over the Nelspruit Nature Reserve and escarpment beyond. Conveniently situated only 2Km from the city centre, La Roca is a peaceful oasis within which to unwind from a long days work or to use as a base for exploring the many world class attractions in the vicinity: the Kruger National Park; Blyde River Canyon; Mozambique and Swaziland are all less than an hour away. Offering standard, luxury and executive accommodation, all our en-suite rooms have been individually decorated with attention to detail and each have a private entrance and a balcony or patio. Our approach is professional but our style is with a smile - creating a friendly and warm ambience. Welcome to La Roca - an ideal base for corporate or leisure travellers. You will wish you had stayed for longer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Roca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing