We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Utopia in Africa
Nearby Hotels
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nelspruit Lodge(Nelspruit)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Promenade(Nelspruit)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Nelspruit(Nelspruit)
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
153
22
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
22
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush babiesnature reservelarge deckgreen valleygenet catsguest housebeautiful balconyher daughterour room was spaciousbreakfast was deliciousa quiet residential areaperfect hostsbreakfast areabeautiful place to staystayed longerkruger national parkstayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2011

What an gorgeous guesthouse! It feels like a fantasy guesthouse with art and curios decorating the public spaces and its location perched over a nature reserve and beautiful decks and balconies to bring in nature. Patricia and Hameed were most helpful with making tour and transport arrangements. Breakfast and supper were terrific! Patricia is a great cook. It was fun getting to know Patricia & Hameed as well as other guests over the yummy breakfast and supper. And Sam is just the cutest and welcoming dig ever!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedbird282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Utopia in Africa for one night, on our way to a work assignment in Swaziland. We didn't make a reservation ahead of time -- I found the listing in my South Africa Rough Guide and we called from Nelspruit at about 5:00 p.m. on the night of our stay. It was a Monday evening and Patricia, the owner, had just one room available for the very reasonable rate of R450 per person (a summer special).

We couldn't believe our luck when we arrived. This is one of the nicest guest houses I've ever stayed in. The decor was beautiful and tasteful. The room was unique, luxurious and comfortable. The view of the adjoining nature reserve, both from our balcony and from the main deck, was breathtaking. The service was impeccable, the breakfast was delicious, and the owners, Patricia and Hamid, were lovely. We even loved Sam, the dog. He was every bit as charming as his owners.

We stayed in the Guinea Fowl room, which was gorgeous and very romantic. I didn't get the chance to see into any of the other rooms but I'm sure they are equally stunning. Patricia said that she and Hamid did all the design and decorating themselves -- they are obviously very talented.

If are lucky enough to stay at Utopia in Africa, go outside at dusk and listen for the pair of spotted eagle owls who like to perch on the roof.

We were very sad to leave. I can't wait to find another excuse to go to Nelspruit so we can stay there again.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We decided to spend a few days in Nelspruit to get over jetlag before heading to Kruger. Utopia in Africa was the perfect place to do this. It's a charmingly well decorated hotel in a tranquil setting adjacent to a forest preserve. The common areas and rooms are beutiful, but best of all is the warm welcome. The owners and their friendly staff make you feel at home right away, and the owners' wonderful Airedale "Sam" helped us get over missing our doggies. We'll definitely return on our next trip to SA!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vancouver_DAD_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

We stayed at Utopia in Africa for one night between safari and flying out of Nelspruit, and I was very surprised to see no review on TripAdvisor, because this is a great place! Patricia is a wonderful hostess, and runs a very lovely inn. The guest house is capacious and well-equipped. The rooms are decorated beautifully, and the bathrooms are a real haven. The guest house is in a quiet section of Nelspruit--very restful at night, and lots of birds during the day. Breakfast was delicious. Internet service is available, along with a large sitting area and a swimming pool.

The only potential downside is that the guest house is that it's a bit out of town (maybe 10-12 minutes driving from the city center). Patricia suggested the "Mr. Delivery" service for delivering dinner, and it was nice to eat dinner outside at the guesthouse. However, a hired car would be necessary unless you wanted to take taxis everywhere. Patricia does have a regular driver who drove us to the airport, and he was great.

Overall, a fantastic, peaceful retreat. Definitely go, and scratch the cute guest house dog Sam for us when you do!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tbwhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews