We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Utopia in Africa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Utopia in Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The food, accommodation and hospitality shown by Patricia and Hameed were not met by any other guest house duing our five week stay in South Africa. We would recommend this guest house to anyone wishing a clean, friendly and welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
76
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torino
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Comin back from Maputo we stopped in Nelspruit and decided to try this place that has lots of good reviews...well it worth every word spent on it. Great place,very particular,has a very high tatched roof, big lounge, and our room was very nice and comfortable,with a very nice interior design.
Best of all the breakfast ... A terrace with a pool on a perfect view...fresh fruit,dried fruits,cereal,yoghurt and so many other good things to eat.... Definitily will come back next time we go through nelspruit

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dentistafelice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Possibly the most beautiful place we have every stayed (the house and its setting are stunning). The hospitality was warm, gracious, and exceptional in every possible way. We were welcomed like old friends, and treated like royalty. Food outstanding; our room elegant and spacious; conversations with our host and other guests stimulating. We only stayed one night, but it was the perfect oasis and respite from long days of travelling. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneAdriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Utopia is one of those places where you could stay forever, not wanting to return home and skip the rest of your trip. The rooms and the house are beautiful, the breakfast is superb and the staff is very friendly. The owners Patricia and Hameed make all the difference by their warm welcome and are taking care of their guests in a way you not experience often. Helpful, kind and inspiring. We hope to visit Utopia again soon in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeCharlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We opportunitistically presented ourselves and our young son - keeping our fingers crossed they would be able to accomodate us at short notice. We had a wonderful nights stay. The room was excellent - so many small touches making it feel like a very special experience. We had dinner with the rest of the guests and found our hosts to be delightful. The food at dinner and for breakfast was excellent and the honest bar was well stocked with great wines. Magnificent views from the balcony and pool over the valley - pre dinner drinks as the sun was setting was magnificent. Definately should be on your list of places to visit and relax there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fudgebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

My daughter and I booked here to break our long drive from Jo'berg airport to our the next bit of our itinerary which was the Blyde River Canyon area, then Kruger, and found a haven of peace and beauty - you would not know this unique, gorgeous place exists on the outskirts of what seems like quite a large busy town. It manages to feel very luxurious while at the same time feeling charmingly rustic and homely. The owner Patricia was away and had left Utopia in the charge of her good friend Ann who cooked us the best meal we had in the month we were in South Africa - her peach crumble was a dream. We had some things to sort out and Ann couldn't have been warmer or more helpful, which was lovely as we had only been in the country 5 days. The sitting area is which is built on stilts under thatch and looks out over the forest, is gorgeous, and was beautifully lit with candles and lamps in the evening. We were a weeny bit disappointed to find the next night that actually it doubled as a communal smoking area which we would have found difficult to share if the smokers had actually been there, but they weren't so it was fine. But of course if you're a smoker this is a bonus! There were so many lovely touches in every corner of this guest house - both large and tiny. All the rooms were different and lovely (we were allowed little peeps into the others!) with creative furnishings and decor. Breakfast was a lovely experience, in the dining room open to the pretty pool and the elements. And the monkeys in the trees around the pool were a bonus (they were very well-behaved...). We can't recommend this place highly enough. Look on the website. And if you're booking from the UK it's really helpful that Patricia has a UK bank account.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed here during the world cup 2010, our hosts were very helpful and accommodating. We can certainly recommend staying here in nice surrounds.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandMfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.9 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#9 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
#13 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 70 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 70 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 70 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia in Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia in Africa

Property: Utopia in Africa
Address: 6 Daleen St. | Sonheuwel, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Utopia in Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing