We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Atmosphere”
Review of Utopia in Africa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Utopia in Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was a very pleasant stay, friendly service and we were taken aback by the tranquil surroundings from our room and the entertainment/breakfast deck. The fact that there aren't TV's in the rooms compliment the tranquil environment and we did not even miss it! We will definitely stay at Utopia again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Owner Hameed, and their gorgeous dog Sam, greeted us as we pulled into the secure parking lot. Such a warm welcome, and gracious hospitality which continued throughout our 2 night stay. Both Patricia and Hameed make their guests extremely welcome (even those of us with over-exuberant young children!). They go out of their way to introduce their guests to each other (you sit at communal tables for meals). We met a number of expatriates who had come to Nelspruit from Maputo and Swaziland for shopping, and one couple always stay at Utopia with their kids every time. We stayed as a family of 2 adults and 2 children in the Barbet room which was fabulous. Comfortable bedding, heating, a modern bathroom with a clawfoot bath and to top it off a balcony with a gorgeous view over the reserve. The staff were also fabulous and friendly. We had dinner the first night. A 3 course meal of salad, main and dessert. The meal was simple homestyle cooking, delicious and warming on such a cold night. Breakfast is also a treat. You sit outside at tables on the deck overlooking the beautiful nature reserve. For starters there is fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and cereals. Then the staff come to take your cooked order. The coffee was better than you get in most hotels. For our 6 year old twins the highlight was the beautiful surrounds to explore, the monkeys and Sam the dog. They couldn't wait to get back to the guesthouse at the end of the day so they could play with the dog! We loved the place so much that we have booked again for an overnight stay on our way to Maputo in a few weeks time. Thanks for such a lovely time and a warm welcome. We are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Barbet room for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamSomerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stopped here for a night on the way to Kruger and another on the way back to Joburg. The location, on the edge of a nature reserve, is fabulous. There is an enormous deck with a great view of the reserve and a small pool. The public and private rooms are really tastefully decorated. The owners and staff are incredibly welcoming and the food is divine!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotcan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Nelspruit is an apparently thriving and ever growing town/small city yet still has a bit of the frontier/trading town it may onc have been. Situated in a physically beautiful part of SA it was a pleasure to spend a day and a night even though business was the reason d'etre in town. Utopia is situated in a leafy treelined suburb above the city and from the pool deck and rooms, one overlooks the bush veld. Patricia is a kind an patient hostess who took time to introduce me to one or two other (regular) guests. A good retaurant recommendation (Zest) was also forthcoming.

The Barbett room is very spcious with an open shower and bath as well as a small private balcony. Breakfast on the deck was a bit noisy due to the roof renovations but that is a nuisance of a temporary nature and not to be overemphasised. I look forward to returning - next time with company!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Barbett room which is large and well away from other rooms so quite private. My snea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Here with the wife for the rugby. The place is great, utopia sums the place up.

The view is great, with a Forrest canopy from the deck.

The owner and staff are fantastic and helpful. Breakfast of a good quality.

I will come back

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mongocuee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 at this Guesthouse for one night and wish we could have stayed longer.. Patricia was so welcoming and the family room is beautifully decorated - actually the entire home is like walking into a Magazine... A gorgeous claw bath (with view) and a fireplace in the sitting room (with TV) which would be lovely in Winter.
Honour system for drinks, lovely coffee/tea etc and huge bookcase with reading material. Gorgeous dog for our children and then breakfast was even more amazing with a view to die for! Lovely breakfast, I cannot say enough what a respite this Guest house is for those of us coming from a city environment (Maputo). It has been built with love and care by Patricia and her husband and it shows!
When we couldn't get in another time, Patricia wanted to help us find somewhere else to stay:) We will be back again, thankyou so much for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antichfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This place is really, really nice. We had a fantastic stay here and only wish we could’ve spent more time. The setting is amazing, situated right on the edge of a nature reserve overlooking the wooded hills and the outskirts of Nelspruit. With the morning sun shining in it was a magical experience. The B&B is located a little way out of central Nelspruit so you will need your own car.

The building itself is impressive, a large thatched roof structure, hosting a number of private and nicely furnished guestrooms, as well as a sitting room, dining room, and a very impressive balcony and pool area overlooking the reserve. Our room had a spectacular view over the surrounding hills and caught the morning sun – such a nice experience waking to the sun shining through the windows. The room was huge and airy, as was the ensuite bathroom, and very tastefully furnished. The king-size bed was extra comfy and we had a very peaceful sleep. Needless to say, the room was spotlessly clean and very well cared for. The free Wifi was a real bonus.

Breakfast was served on the outdoor deck, comprising fruit salad, poached eggs, bacon, mushrooms, toast and beans – all very tasty and high quality. I believe they can serve evening meals as well but we opted to go out for dinner. The owners of the establishment made us feel very welcome and were happy to assist us in any way they could.

I highly recommend this B&B as a unique and magical place to stay – but you’ll want to stay more than 1 night. If we ever come back to the Nelspruit area, we will definitely be staying here!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.8 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#7 of 18 in Nelspruit
50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
6.8 mi away
Tomjachu Bush Retreat
Tomjachu Bush Retreat
#1 of 74 in Nelspruit
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 80 in Nelspruit
575 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 18 in Nelspruit
346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#3 of 80 in Nelspruit
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia in Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia in Africa

Address: 6 Daleen St. | Sonheuwel, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range: £91 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Utopia in Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing