We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Guide/Ranger in Africa”
Review of Hannah Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hannah Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Guide/Ranger in Africa”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We used Hannah Lodge as a stepping stone to Kruger so were only there for one night but wished we had spent more time. The new manager/ranger was certainly the most knowledgeable we came across in 3 countries - and his enthusiasm was so infectious. While they do not have all the big 5 they specialise in antelope and we were privileged to see a running herd of Gemsbok (Oryx) close-up (such superb animals!) as well as many other antelopes, giraffes, ostriches, birdlife etc. And the food and service was outstanding - probably the place we stayed where we felt most cared for! We would highly recommend this as a great introduction to African Game Parking! Thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    111
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
137
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it. The rooms are spacious and clean. There is a little balcony that overlooks the game park and you can see animals as they wander by. We are a family of 4 (kids are 12 & 9) and they put us in interconnecting rooms.

The food at Hannah was superb. It was a buffet style which catered to every taste. The kids and are not big meat eaters so it was perfect. There is free wifi up at the main lodge and comfortable lounges for you to sit in while you check you emails. You can watch the giraffe browsing whilst you eat breakfast on the balcony. Stunning!

We got some laundry done whilst here . It was a price per item system but was still reasonable and done the same day.

I would highly recommend staying at Hannah.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwana72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweet Lake City
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived at the gate around noon and drove up the gravel road to the lodge. Those 7 kilometers took us more than an hour because of all the animals that we spotted. Ostrich, impala, kudu, tsetsebe, waterbuck, warthog, yellow billed hornbill and many others, all right next to the road.

You are not allowed to drive on any other roads in the park. Therefore we opted for a late afternoon game drive. The vehicle is indeed a bit noisy and it was pretty cold, but they provided blankets and saw zebra, giraffe, buffalo and tons of antilopes.

The lodge itself is situated on a hill, with a nice deck where you can watch the sun set while enjoying a glass of South African wine. The rooms are very comfortable, but some are quite a walk/climb from the lodge. Nighttime is spectacular, with millions of stars. Do bring a flashlight as it gets quite dark.

Food in the restaurant was good but not exceptional, usually buffet style. Service overall is excellent. The owner was very friendly too and advised us to drive to Kruger via Orpen Gate. This turned out to be a great tip, as we saw our first leopard just 5 minutes past the gate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hweegink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Hannah Lodge is literally in middle of nowhere, in the middle of a private wildpark, at approx. a 20-minute drive from Ohrigstad town. And with that it was also incredibly quiet & dark at night, so you could spot some pretty nice stars out there as well.

Check-in was good, we received a nice welcome drink. Suitcases and bags were brought up to the lodges.

The lodges were amazing and pretty spacious. Loved the big beams on the ceiling and the little sort of balcony with view over the park. The bed was great, good sized shower. Everything was nice and clean and I loved the real, warm, African feeling I got here.

The food was good. Buffet for both dinner and breakfast. Quite a lot of choice of meat, salad etc.

Great accommodation, nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lautje1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is the place if you want peace and quietness in a very pleasant game reserve. Staff is very friendly and service is good.You can go on game drives - a very noise experience thru to the vehicle used. Rooms are nice and nothing better than a Gin and Tonic watching the sunset. Food is good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Hannah Lodge in Ohrigstad is situated inside a private reservation. Animals are at your doorstep. The rooms are excellent, staff is very friendly, food is great. In short the perfect place for a stay combined with close game drives. Especially the giraffes are great and willing to pose. Go for it you want regret.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was superb. We tasted local meats like venison and kudu. It was such a pleasant, relaxing stay. Accommodation was perfect. The evenings were blessed with the sounds of the birds and animals feeding down the waterhole and make sure you rise early to experience a spectacular sunrise.

Room Tip: A room with a view is always best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marshmallowfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohrigstad
14.4 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Thaba Moshate
22.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
361 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Shoe
The Shoe
#3 of 4 in Ohrigstad
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Black Leopard Camp
Black Leopard Camp
#2 of 16 in Lydenburg
118 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lepelle Lodge
Lepelle Lodge
#2 of 4 in Burgersfort
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#107 of 174 in Kruger National Park
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hannah Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hannah Game Lodge

Property: Hannah Game Lodge
Address: R 555, Old Burgersfort Road, Ohrigstad | Mpumalanga, South Africa, Ohrigstad 1122, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Ohrigstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ohrigstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hannah Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Private Nature Reserve embraces more than 8000 hectares of Malaria - free, unspoiled African Bushveld. Hannah offers a Bushveld experience at affordable and realistic rates. Professional, friendly and down to earth service characterizes this warm and peaceful getaway. Hannah is a reflection of Africa in its entire natural splendor, a captivating tapestry of African sounds, smells and colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hannah Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hannah Game Hotel Ohrigstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing