We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panorama Route Oasis”
Review of Iketla Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ohrigstad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iketla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is THE PLACE to stay when you (tourist) are travelling to of from the Kruger Park Area to Johannesburg (or direction). An oasis of peace and tranquillity in a wonderful setting, run by the most dedicated people in the business ! Attention to detail is extraordinary and you are really taken care of from the moment you arrive, till the moment you (have to) leave. It is a place (and a "family") you will never forget.
Our visit was cut short after one day because of a serious electricity problem (not at the Lodge I may add, but in town where a big transformer had exploded). The first evening in the Lodge we had a superb dinner by candle light (superb !!!) The second day however, the power was not back and as precaution the owners booked all of their guest in a nearby Lodge for they could not offer the comfort and service they would provide. Imagine this gesture and display of pro-active thinking and handling ... Not at all necessary, but greatly appreciated. A great place, with excellent personal service and truly committed staff to match !!! GREAT

Room Tip: There are no better rooms, all rooms are best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herman Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberthennielene, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review and very kind words. Again, our apologies that you had to move to another lodge due to the electrical problem. We are happy to report that the problem was solved quite quickly and that we can again look after our guests in the best possible manner. We really look forward to your return to Iketla Lodge and South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Iketla at the end of our South African trip in April 2012. We've discovered a wonderful place even though we didn't have the chance to fully enjoy the place and the surroundings as one member of our group was at the hospital in Nelspruit.

Our morning walk was a wonderful experience, very different from ther rest of the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cphilipona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Without doubt a wonderful place to pass the time, and use as a base for touring that area.
The view from the room of the valley was wonderful, the room excellent including the outside shower. We ate dinner in the restaurant each evening and the food was outstanding. The service mentall round was faultless and would recommend anyone to this excellent establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Everything at Iketla is top class from when you arrive up to when you leave. It is the small things that matter - to see a personal welcome note on the notice board - and the farewell gift when you leave.

We had a magic stay and it was great to interact with all the foreign tourists - the experience made us truly "proud South Africans"

Well-done the team at Iketla!!

Room Tip: Try to book the Honeymoon suite is has the best views and is lovely and private. You can watch the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlouBulJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Iketla is a natural stop off en route between Joburg and the Kruger Park, but its also half way in style between the typical expensive big 5 game lodge and a normal country B&B, and is all the better for it. The owners previously ran a lodge near the Kruger, are friendly and energetic and display a wealth of knowledge for foreign visitors about where to go and what to do elsewhere in SA. Fellow guests when we were there were mostly German, and one French family, and all seemed well attended to - the hosts are well travelled in Europe and made an effort to connect. The lodge is not only beautifully located and nicely constructed but immaculately maintained and cleaned, and the food is of a high quality at all meals. The walks on the large property are varied and very well marked and will suit quite serious walkers, and a fair amount of small wildlife can be seen, at your own pace - but just remember this is not a typical game reserve. They advertise children under 12 only by arrangement, but our two (7 and 9) were welcomed despite their age and occasional over enthusiastic approach to life. If you are either just looking for a peaceful break at reasonable prices, or something different on the way to the Kruger or neighbouring reserves, Iketla is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonB_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The Iketla Lodge was our first South Africa stay during our honeymoon in November/December 2012. The small lodge with only a few chalets is beautifully located and hidden from view. The chalet was tastefully decorated, luxuriously equipped and very well maintained. We found it to be very cozy and the view from our porch was just breathtaking overlooking the valley and enjoying nature's beauty.
We dearly enjoyed the sundowner before dinner, Reino created awesome tasting cocktails! We also loved the personal atmosphere during dinner, where all guests came together and had dinner together (including Reino and Audrey). The food was always high quality and very tasty.
Unfortunately we did not have time to enjoy everything the Iketla Lodge had to offer. We would have loved to walk along all hiking routes (well marked in different colors). Both hosts were very helpful in explaining sightseeing and things to do close by. We followed the suggestions and had a wonderful day exploring the beauty of the Panorama Route and had lunch at the BUSH KITCHEN (awesome place by a river with only steak and Boerworst on the menu).
Overall we want to thank Reino and Audrey for their great hospitality!!! We will recommend you all over Germany ;-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsimaus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Thank you so much for having us there, we had a really great time!!

The food was amazing and the lodge is so comfortable and cozy. The Rondavles are nice furbished and the have an outside AND inside shower. It's the little things that make your vacation so lovely, like the little Nougat Pralines on the Pillow mmhhhh.

It was great to sit at the bar and chat with the staff after dinner. Such nice people with so much information about the area. Really helpful and fun to hang around. It is so quite around the lodge so you can totally relax. The little walks that you can do there in the bushes are nice as well! Watch out, Baboons!! :)

We only stayed 1 night but you should atleast stay 2 nights to have a nice trip around the panoramaroute! Thanks again, I'll see you soon.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank minibonsei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohrigstad
24.9 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
608 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hannah Game Lodge
Hannah Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Ohrigstad
294 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Royal Palm B&B
The Royal Palm B&B
#1 of 1 in Ohrigstad
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Shoe
The Shoe
#3 of 4 in Ohrigstad
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Iketla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iketla Lodge

Address: Off R555 | Ohrigstad - Burgersfort rd, Ohrigstad 1122, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Ohrigstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ohrigstad
Price Range: £144 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iketla Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic retreat with spectacular scenery and unspoilt nature. A 4-star, luxurious, small and intimate country lodge, near the Blyde River Canyon. Ideal base for exploring the Panorama Route. En-route to the Kruger Park. Accommodation in spacious stone-built cottages with private patios and views. Swimming pool, walking trails and guided walks on this 540 ha private reserve. Some wildlife and excellent bird life. DB&B, traditional SA food, superb company & a peaceful environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing