We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lodge!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pilgrim's Rest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lodge!”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge was a perfect choice for the first 2 nite stay on our trip to South Africa. Tucked away in the scenic mountains near Pilgrims Rest, this property provides beautiful views, very nice rooms, excellent staff, restaurant, shop and play activities for the younger travelers. It is also situated very well for day trips to the various stops and waterfalls in the historic area of Pilgrims Rest.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a unit with a shower if that is a high priority, otherwise the bath tub will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hansboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    111
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
113
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Klapmuts, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed there for a week. Our two chidren (4 and 6 years old) were always entertained. As well as providing activities for children, the natural surroundings gave them lots to do. Beautiful setting, nature walks, wildlife... And less than two hours' drive from the Kruger National Park. Try the smoked and fresh trout on sale at the little shop on the grounds.

Room Tip: Keep your windows closed when asleep or out. I saw baboons climb through some chalets' windows.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Spencer-D-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We had chalet/lodge 151 with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms for a week and had no complaints whatsoever. The place is fully equipped with luxurious linen and everything else, including heater panels in the bedrooms and right down to a bundle of free firewood per day of your stay. There is a fireplace inside and a barbeque outside. The views are exquisite and there is enough to do inside the resort. We wished we'd stayed for 2 weeks so that we could enjoy everything the resort offers as well as the surrounding area and towns. A word of caution: The timeshare/vacation clubs own specific units in this resort (ours was one of those and very well appointed and neat) but it may well be that the standard differs depending on who owns the unit you get and when it was last refurbished. Ask when you book. This is a fantastic resort for everyone, but especially for people with children. You have restaurants, pools, a wellness centre, conference centre, laundry (coin operated), a shop, game drives, walks, you name it. I'd love to go back there again, but it's quite expensive if you have to pay the rack rate for a family. It's worth the money, but expensive. We didn't have much to do with the staff, but they all seemed nice enough. The lady who serviced our unit was a gem. The resort is located perfectly for visiting the attractions in the area and as I said, one could quite easliy just stay inside the resort for the whole holiday.

Room Tip: Book 2 days in advance for the jacuzzi/steam room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HarveyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Just checked in after a long days drive around the beautiful surrounding areas in Mpumalanga. What a beautiful location, however, following a room inspection we discovered the venue was purely self catering, even though we had booked and paid for "dinner, bed and breakfast".

There are no toiletries in the lodges or complimentary coffee for the morning. On enquiring about this we were simply told there is nothing they can do, but they have a shop on the premises that will sell you coffee, tea, toiletries etc. Naturally these prices are highly inflated due to there only being one shop...

Should we have been advised that a dinner, bed and breakfast rate would not include the basic amenities, we would not have been this disappointed with the venue.

It would be highly advisable to the resort to apply logic when accepting bookings and payment, surely if a client books DBB they should be advised of the type of venue it is. Epic Fail Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge, doubt it we will return or recommend you to anyone...

Room Tip: All the
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rich_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

From the moment of arrival to leaving the best short break we have had for a long time. Will return for a week next time. Units very clean and well appointed for self catering but also a restaurant on site (and a shop with the basics if required.)

Views are stunning especially sun set.

Facilities for all age groups from the most relaxing to a full gym and spa, Young kids well catered for as well.

Plenty to do in the area but a car is essential.

Room Tip: All away from the main reception so all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doorbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

This estate is set in 5000ha of sprawling, rolling hills which includes a well-stocked private game reserve. Although it is in the Lowveld it is more than 1700m above sea level and is thus a few dgrees cooler than other nearby destinations such as Hazyview, Graskop and the Kruger Park, keep this in mind when packing.
We stayed in a six sleeper mountain lodge with two bathrooms (shower and bath), a vey well-equipped kitchen and a veranda with a built-in braai. All the lodges (there are also clubhouse suites and apartments but the lodges seem superior) are perched on the edge of the gorge and offer stunning views of valley. The veranda is a lovely place of retreat and wonderful for enjoying the tranquility and the stunning landscape. The lodges are clustered together in groups of two, so if you are having a conversation on your veranda and your neighbour is having one on his, you could feel that you are sharing the same conversation, which could be a bit awkward.
The lodges are spacious, neat and there is regular housekeeping, good security and control. If you leave your lodge to go out for the day or even to the pool, make sure you close all the windows and doors since the baboons and monkeys make use of every oppurtunity to slip in, lay their paws on every morsel of food and create havoc in your lodge - believe me, we experienced it firsthand.
The staff is friendly, accommodating and helpful and the added bonus of a private game reserve offers various oppurtunities to see game on foot or by vehicle. There are two heated swimming pools, cold water pools, squash and tennis courts and a games room. The clubhouse, which offers a jacuzzi, sauna, pool and gym, was being renovated during our visit so we could not make use of it. The Pointers Restaurant on the property , which is privately operated, offers average fare and I do think there are better dining oppurtunities in the area.
The estate is centrally situated, 9 kms from the historic town of Pilgrim's Rest (a tourist trap in my opinion) and fairly close to Blyde River Canyon, Bourke's Luck and about 80-100 kms from the Kruger Park.
Check-in is at 16h00, they are a bit sticky about this, and the cost at time of our stay was R350 per person per night (roughly $50-$60). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I will recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gingerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Crystal Springs Mountain Resort has to be one to the top 5 places that I have ever stayed. We had a beautiful large two bedroom chalet right on the cliff edge over looking the valley panorama of the Draakensberg Escarpment. The chalet was large, with a beautiful living room, large kitchen, good sized bedrooms and baths, and a large porch with electric grill and a beautiful view of the surrounding area. The resort had a great general store where we could buy food and other supplies, plus a nice swimming pool, good restaurant and bar. The grounds are beautiful and the resort has its own game/nature reserve with wonderful hiking trails where we saw a lot of game ( with the exception of major predators and large animals such as elephants). Housekeeping was wonderful and all the staff, reception and otherwise were warm and friendly, and knowledgeable about the area. I wish we had booked the resort for two weeks instead of one, and highly recommend Crystal Springs to anyone traveling to this area of South Africa. We drove to the resort from Johannesburg, and it took just about four hours on well maintained highways. A car is definitely needed in this area since there is no public transportation or tour buses in the area.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilgrim's Rest
3.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
360 reviews
15.2 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
15.3 mi away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#4 of 16 in Sabie
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#3 of 16 in Sabie
90 reviews
23.8 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 13 in Hazyview
432 reviews
9.1 mi away
Autumn Breeze Manor
Autumn Breeze Manor
#5 of 15 in Graskop
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge

Property: Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge
Address: R533 | Vygeboom Farm, Pilgrim's Rest 1290, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Pilgrim's Rest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Pilgrim's Rest
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Springs has achieved the perfect balance between pristine natural scenery, wildlife and holiday resort. Whether you are looking for a romantic, adventurous or relaxing break, Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge is the perfect choice. This picturesque location has an all year round charm that keeps travellers coming back. All holiday lovers will enjoy Crystal Springs’ spectacular cliffs and gorges, forests, murmuring streams, plunging waterfalls, grazing wildlife, luxury accommodation and vast array of onsite facilities and activities. What to do at Crystal Springs…For the young and young at heart we offer a games room, mini golf, tennis, squash, trampolines, jungle gyms, outdoor pools and an outdoor heated pool. For the adults we have a clubhouse with a gym, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzis, a sauna, a steam bath and a beauty salon. For nature lovers we offer walking trails, game drives, guided nature walks and game viewing hides. Crystal Springs is conveniently situated for easy access to many of Mpumalanga's most amazing tourist attractions. From the historic town of Pilgrim's Rest to nearby Sabie and Graskop; to the spectacular Blyde River Canyon, God’s Window and Bourke's Luck Potholes. The world-famous Kruger National Park - home to the Big Five – is only an hour’s drive from the resort.The Tourism Grading Council of South Africa awarded Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge with a four star grading. RCI has awarded Crystal Springs Gold Crown Status.Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge is a VRS managed resort.GPS co-ordinates:24º 51’ 51’’ S30º 42’ 41’’ E ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Springs Mountain Hotel Pilgrim`s Rest
Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge South Africa/Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing