We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leaving in Clouds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pilgrim's Rest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pilgrim's Rest
Ahmedabad , India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Leaving in Clouds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We did Panoramic Route on R532 , R37 and R36 , We really enjoyed the drive , but the best part was to Stay at Forever Resorts mount Sheba Hotel , its amazing , drive there itself is beautiful , the road in between is little bed and have to drive slow but its amazing to stay there , Its about 28km from Pilgrim's Rest but worth it , Rooms very comfortable with Wood fire fireplace and nice beds to sleep in , rooms were large and very comfortable , Clean and Very good Hygiene standards. Lunch was ok , nothing great , but BF and Dinner was nice , they also have cottage and small shop to buy basic things , Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

Best part is view , its unbelievable and the atmosphere is like living in Haven , the Clouds comes up to your balcony and the mist , its fabulously green , the tree plantations and natural walking in woods is out of this world ,

Room Tip: Stay in 1st Floor rooms for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ram_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. We have made many changes since you last visited, many of them inspired by the reviews we have received on Trip Advisor. Please visit our website and facebook pages to see what we have done. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    37
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
40
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
324 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed three nights in this charming rustic lodge in the Drakenburg mountains. Upon arrival we were greeted with sherry while the very friendly staff checked us in. Shortly after our 3pm check in the power went out, a frequent occurrence in South Africa. Fortunately, their back up generator, “Big Daddy” kicked in a few minutes later. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and cozy/rustic. Each room has its own patio and fireplace. They are in need of general maintenance/updating. Loose screws here and there, back door handle inoperable, windows difficult to seal closed. It was cold at night, lows near freezing, and all heating is via coal/wood fireplaces in each room. While I would normally find this a positive, they were so smoky that our eyes burned and all our clothes reeked of smoke (even the ones that remained in our suitcases). The grounds around the hotel are very scenic, mountains, forests, and hiking trails. There were samango monkeys roaming around. A very nice swimming pool overlooking the mountains, though too cold this time of year for any of us to use it. The food was very good. They serve a breakfast buffet, and a dinner, with about 3 menu options. The staff danced and sang around our table one evening. Particularly noteworthy are their breakfast scones, kind of like a dense corn muffin. Served hot out of the oven each morning, scrumptious!! The staff overall were wonderful, focused on making our stay as enjoyable as possible. No wifi. One old PC in the lobby, using 1990s era dialup. I was unable to do emails (I get 100+ per day and it jammed up the system). My kids were able to do basic email, but very slow.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CulinarySnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. We have made many changes since you last visited, many of them inspired by the reviews we have received on Trip Advisor. Please visit our website and facebook pages to see what we have done. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I were driving from Johannesburg Airport to Kapama Game Reserve (see my review) when we got three flat tires on the terrible road. It was late at night, and we were faced with sleeping in our car on the side of the road or looking for an inn. Fortunately, we saw a sign for Mount Sheba, but it was 23 kilometers from our road. Left with no choice, we drove on our flat tires to Mount Sheba. Can you say, "Shangri-La"? Even though we arrived at 10 p.m., Jeffrey allowed us to stay. He showed us to our room, a luxurious suite with a king-size bed, color television, and a beautiful bathroom. The next morning, we had a sumptuous breakfast (we were starving) and hung out at the pool, while the Mount Sheba staff helped us to get Avis to show up with a tow truck and new car for us to continue our journey to Kapama. While waiting for the tow truck and new car, we also took a morning hike on one of the trails surrounding the lodge. Overall, It was a peaceful and rejuvenating experience, especially given what we had gone through the previous night. We wished only that we could have stayed longer. I don't know that we'll ever be back, but only because it is in such a remote location.

Room Tip: We aren't sure exactly what was available. We showed up late and so had no choice. We were thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. We have made many changes since you last visited, many of them inspired by the reviews we have received on Trip Advisor. Please visit our website and facebook pages to see what we have done. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Spent three nights recently at Mt. Sheba Resort. Very friendly staff and excellent food with large portions. Rooms very comfortable. Nice pool, but not warm enough to use in June. very quiet, but not much to see or do other than enjoy the tranquility. Can practice fly fishing in pond, but don't expect to catch anything. If you do; you have to keep it and pay for it by the inch. Nice hiking trails begin on the property. Monkeys provide entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJR1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. We have made many changes since you last visited, many of them inspired by the reviews we have received on Trip Advisor. Please visit our website and facebook pages to see what we have done. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

If ever you wondered what livinig in the clouds would be like visit mount Sheba.
Not only are the units beyond beautiful but are furnished in splendor hence the rating by the tourism board!

If you love nature, you will be pleased to hear the rare Samango monkey is found here.
Amongst other species of birds and small wildlife.
Its up the the road from Pilgrims Rest - the original mining town ... something not to be missed!
Definitely visit: the old graveyard, the robbers grave, the town Royal hotel, the museums in town and do the waterfall route

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandiceYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. We have made many changes since you last visited, many of them inspired by the reviews we have received on Trip Advisor. Please visit our website and facebook pages to see what we have done. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I really experienced the perfect "getaway from it all" at Mount Sheba. It's a quite and cosy little lodge nestled between the mountains and truly is a place to sit back, relax and take in the stunning nature that surrounds it.

There are quite a few really nice hiking trails to do and the ones we did led us through the forest to waterfalls and rivers. These trails are also graded in difficulty so you will know what's in store for you before you set out. Back at the hotel is a large pool with bar and restaurant just around the corner from it. Inside the hotel you will find another bar and restaurant along with a pool table and dart board.

The staff were absolutely great! They really went the extra mile to care for our every need and make us feel very welcome. On one occasion they arranged a fantastic little "meet and greet" in the bar where we met up with other guests for snacks and drinks and got to know everyone a bit. All the meals we ate in the restaurants were exceptional. Not sure why there are negative comments regarding this. Buffet in the morning, lunch by the pool and 3 course meals in the evenings. The food was great!

All in all, we found a gem hidden in the rough and it comes highly recommended. Big thanks to Marisa and Marius for the chats and excellent service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. We have made many changes since you last visited, many of them inspired by the reviews we have received on Trip Advisor. Please visit our website and facebook pages to see what we have done. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I spent a fabulous long weekend at this resort. Fantastic accommodation, superb staff, and excellent cuisine at the restaurant. Those who have complained are way out of line. This is a jewel within Paradise.
Thanks to all the staff

Jan and Sparrow de Jong

Room Tip: Drive carefully. Suggest you travel to Nelspruiit then to Pligrims rest. We loved Cottage 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparrowsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. We have made many changes since you last visited, many of them inspired by the reviews we have received on Trip Advisor. Please visit our website and facebook pages to see what we have done. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilgrim's Rest
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.0 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
0.0 mi away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#2 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge

Property: Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
Address: Lydenburg Road | Robbers Pass Pilgrims Rest, Pilgrim's Rest 1290, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Pilgrim's Rest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pilgrim's Rest
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge is situated in the rain forest near the famous town of Pilgrim's Rest in Mpumalanga. Well appointed rooms, gourmet meals and log fires give a magical feel to Mount Sheba. Walks in the forest are magical, with the rare Samango monkey and rare bird calls around you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge South Africa/Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing