We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”
Review of Umlilo Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Umlilo Lodge B&B
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Expected to stay in St Lucia for 1 night and found this wonderful place and stayed 3 nights. Friendly and attentive owners & staff who bent over backwards to help us enjoy the area and visit the best parks and beaches. Great breakfasts. The Lodge is on many levels with decking in between and is very relaxing. Rooms are great with large shower rooms with rain showers. Good value for money. St Lucia makes an excellent base for the area - there are a fair few good bars and restaurants in the town itself and its an easy drive into the game parks. The local beaches and walks are great & the sunset boat tour of the estuary to get up close to the hippos is well worth it. A great place, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen-London-N16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    66
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
80
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

10 of us from the UK stayed 2 nights on full board at Umlilo Lodge the service we received from Laurence and the team was first class, dinners [ including baking our own bread sticks on the charcoal fire] and breakfast were excellent. The rooms were clean and well fitted out and set in a very different jungle setting, the whole package combined to make ours a most memorable stay and we would have no hesitation in recommending you and using you again ......... thanks very much for making our stay so enjoyable.
The Ashbourne Golf Team

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lister C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, d.c.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I thought the Umlilo Lodge was a little gem of a place in St. Lucia. The proprietors were lovely and provided a huge perfect breakfast each morning which was so nice. It feels like you are living in a bit of a forrest, at night it can be noisy with the frogs birds running babbing water all about so if you require total silence as you sleep, this place is not for you. If you like the ambient sounds of nature, you will sleep like a baby. We were super impressed with the huge nice bathroom and shower. The room itself was pretty standard and while it won't take your breath away, it was very clean and a nice place especially for the price. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliannac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Harbor Islands, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Located a short walk to a wonderful market in a quiet tourist beach town. Watch out for Vincent the hippo walking down the street at night! I felt so safe and secluded in this property behind the tall walls tucked in what seemed like a forrest of its own. Bubbling creek runs past all the rooms and the local choir of frogs sings me to sleep. Room was amazing, beautiful decor, modern, up to date but with a rustic jungle cabin feel. Run by a wonderful family, amazing meals! Wish I could have stayed longer than 2 nights!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bchapman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Umlilo Lodge does an amazing job of mixing the exoticism of a fantasy wilderness lodge with all the comforts of home. Physically, the lodge is gorgeous. Meandering pathways lined with trees, flowers, and babbling brooks lead to comfortable, well-furnished rooms. The rooms have everything you need, including comfortable beds, adequate storage, and a bathroom with separate tub and shower. Although a very short walk from the main road, everything is quiet and tranquil. The food is well done and varied. Most important is the warm atmosphere. They go well beyond being just good hosts and I now consider them treasured friends. As a woman traveling alone, it is rare that I've felt so safe and cared for.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampen
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The lodge is actually a design hotel. The theme is wilderness and this atmosphere is present in the general areas, in the room and even in the bathroom. The designer Lourens has thought about every little detail and that pays off! The room #10 was very spacious and stunning in every aspect. Nothing is co-incidental and everything is functional.
A few remarks: we would appreciate a light in the (separate) shower; one is standing in the dark. We were surprised that the main entrance door is unlocked at all times; the lock does not work and does not fit! Lourens said that it was completely safe in St. Lucia and the crime rate was extremely low. the only danger in the dark of the night are the hippo's walking through the streets of St. Lucia at night. (We never saw them actually)
Street parking is free; no fenced parking area.
The swimming pool is well maintained and rather large.
We payed ZAR 4,400 for 4 nights.

Room Tip: ask for room #10
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

This at first seems like a multi-leveled hotel with a variety of room choices but it has much more. swimming pool small but clean, wi-fi and a computer for use patrons, as we had an large group we had a meal buffet with the outdoor fire pit for grilling and baking the "bread on a stick". The site is nestled with water features with koi fish so I feel away from the street that you are on. The lounge is open yet has small conversation areas. After dinner a hippo walked up onto the garden outside the front door, just as if they munch grass in the evening here every night. Lots of geckos and frogs in the evening. Breakfast buffet all the usual stuff. Large bathrooms which we needed as we had lots of Indian Ocean sand all over everything. They supplied us with beach towels in addition to bath towels. Close to street vendors and a few blocks from grocery, ATM and other shops. Only one negative the walls are thin so we heard the evening news from the room next door. Very attentive service all questions and concerns dealt with quickly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.3 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umlilo Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umlilo Lodge B&B

Property: Umlilo Lodge B&B
Address: 9 Dolphin Avenue | PO Box 267, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Umlilo Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umlilo Lodge is located in St Lucia and surrounded by the Big 4 (no Lions) iSimangaliso Wetland Park; South Africa's first National World Heritage Site. Lake St Lucia is a large estuarine lake abundant with hippos, crocodiles, fish and hundreds of bird species. The area comprises rivers, lakes, marshes, mangrove swamps and huge sand dunes, protection the town from the Indian Ocean, beautiful unspoiled beaches with Whale Watching and Sea Turtle Tours in Season. Our rustic but luxurious Lodge offer 12 comfortable en suite guests bedrooms, All rooms have air - conditioning, 10 TV channels, mosquito nets, hair dryer, safety deposit boxes, refrigerator, complimentary tea & coffee facility etc. Guests can choose to laze on the wooden deck by the pool, make use of full internet in our info area as well as WiFi for guests who would like to bring their own WiFi devise. Relax in our bar lounge with honesty bar full Digital Satellite Television (DSTV) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Umlilo Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing