We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere and hosts!”
Review of Umlilo Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Umlilo Lodge B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Bozeman, Montana, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and hosts!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Umlilo Lodge is a beautiful B&B with airy rooms including soft sheets, TV, and free wifi. The landscaping is gorgeous to look at while enjoying the delicious breakfast. The staff and hosts couldn't be more helpful and caring. Umlilo Lodge is walking distance several shops and restaurants, but located in a fairly secluded and quiet area. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    66
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
80
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I recently stayed at Umlilo Lodge for 2 nights, it was awesome. We were welcomed with a friendly smile and the service was great. The best part was the "Honesty Bar", where u just write down what you take and pay at the end. Such lovely accomodation and food. Would recommend this lodge to anyone wanting to stay in St lucia.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the lodge for 3 nights in March and really enjoyed it. The furniture and set up is quite nice, althought could be a little more cared for. The owners are very nice and welcoming and we would definitely recommend it.

PS: To the management-please be so nice an get ridd of the holes in the mosquito nets.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happ_Ines_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

A very special hotel with an extraordinary design based around a central walkway system which wound around a number of tropical trees/palms. Very welcoming and attentive hosts who go the extra mile. Bedrooms have all normal facilities but we found that due to the use of dark woods for furniture ,ceilings and doors and the limited lighting in our bedroom that it was somewhat gloomy for our taste. This may have been accentuated by the overcast weather conditions during our stay and it could well be that during times of high temperatures and bright sunlight that this may not be an issue.
Breakfast was great both in quality and quantity and we found it to be more than excellent .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wijchen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The Umlilo lodge hosts were such friendly people who made us feel at home. We stayed at Umlilo during our 3-days Safari, and the service and rooms Umlilo offers are of a very high standard. On the final day after our check out we could even make use of their showers and fresh towels before we hit the road again. The breakfast was amazing and the scenery of the place and rooms are also very nice. We plan to come back here in the future!

Pieter en Inge

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingeborg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. Excellent service and the rooms very clean. The hosts went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Very good breakfast-hot and cold. Good wifi. Very safe area and very good for all amenities. Within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

If you want to have an escape from daily routine and urban civilization and have a little peaceful paradise neighboring a real African wild life- Saint Lucia/Umlilo lodge would be the right place to choose.
We stayed at Umlilo lodge for 5 days and I must say it was one of the most pleasant experiences. The lodge is owned by a beautiful South African family, and they make sure that their guests feel comfortable and cozy, just like in a home away from home. The owners will assist you with all the information needed as well as tour bookings, and actually they will try and help you with just any requests you may have.
The lodge itself is designed as African safari 2 level bungalow house. The rooms are very cozy and clean, beds are very comfortable (which is very important for those traveling a lot), bathrooms are en-suit with both bathtubs and showers.
There is a nice swimming pool, where you can have some peaceful time if you are not out on a tour.
Breakfasts are very nice with a good variety and fresh fruit salads are served every morning.
In terms of location, the lodge is conveniently located near the main street where all the shops and restaurants are - everything is just 5 minute walking distance.
It is also very close to the river dock, about 3 km to the gate to iSimangaliso Wetland Park and about 30 km to the famous Cape Vidal.
Overall it is a very customer friendly, beautiful and cozy place and I would highly recommend Umlilo lodge as your holiday home!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.3 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umlilo Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umlilo Lodge B&B

Property: Umlilo Lodge B&B
Address: 9 Dolphin Avenue | PO Box 267, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Umlilo Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umlilo Lodge is located in St Lucia and surrounded by the Big 4 (no Lions) iSimangaliso Wetland Park; South Africa's first National World Heritage Site. Lake St Lucia is a large estuarine lake abundant with hippos, crocodiles, fish and hundreds of bird species. The area comprises rivers, lakes, marshes, mangrove swamps and huge sand dunes, protection the town from the Indian Ocean, beautiful unspoiled beaches with Whale Watching and Sea Turtle Tours in Season. Our rustic but luxurious Lodge offer 12 comfortable en suite guests bedrooms, All rooms have air - conditioning, 10 TV channels, mosquito nets, hair dryer, safety deposit boxes, refrigerator, complimentary tea & coffee facility etc. Guests can choose to laze on the wooden deck by the pool, make use of full internet in our info area as well as WiFi for guests who would like to bring their own WiFi devise. Relax in our bar lounge with honesty bar full Digital Satellite Television (DSTV) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Umlilo Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing