We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostess!”
Review of Umlilo Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Umlilo Lodge B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stay here 2 nights in a family room and it was a great experience. The room was big and comfortable, but the best was the B&B interior courtyard, because the rooms are around a wonderful tropical jungle.
The hostess, very friendly and helpful, is the main asset of this nice B&B.
Regarding the location, it is in downtown, near of all restaurants and shops, but in a quiet street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cris1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

We visited here on our honeymoon and could not be happier. A wonderful location situated in downtown St. Lucia (not the biggest town but the heart of the area). The lodge is a great set up with decorated nicely as a rainforest and quite comfortable. The rooms are comfortable and the staff of this family run establishment are great.
We did the river Hipo and Croc cruise from Shoreline Cruise which was fantastic with our guide Steven. Try to do one near sunset as the sunsets are fantastic from the river.
We also did the Bush Horseback Ride with Tory of Bhangazi Horse Game Safari which was a fantastic way to introduce us to the wildlife of the area. We were able to ride up so close to the animals that later when we did a drive through the park we barely stopped for animals in the distance because we had already seen them up close.
The Braai dinner is a must and is a great way to end a day.
Breakfast is fantastic and great way to start the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

perfect garden perfect harmony, perfect breakfast with a very friendly mother of the owner (?) giving you al kinds of friendly words and advises for activities of the day, offering you snorkel geer (however to cold to snorkel)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A lovely unsual setting with well appointed rooms and well located. Es and Lourenz were fabulous hosts - helpful, warm and friendly with lots of great hints and tips. The rooms are cosy and beds comfortable and we found the Umlilo a lovely relaxing place to come back to after a day's activities. Breakfast was outstanding. It is not perfect (in particular, the lighting in the bedrooms could be improved) but we would choose the character of the lodge and the warm hospitality we received over the sterility of a corporate-run hotel every time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silkyruffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We loved our stay here - Esther is so helpful and welcoming, the setting with the water and plants and boardwalks is delightful. The rooms are spacious and really well equipped. Breakfast was excellent and reading the other reviews I wish we'd tried the dinner too as we didn't have much success in the local restaurants! The area around St Lucia is lovely and there is lots to do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had no idea what we were booked into for our 3 nights accommadation in St Lucia. But from the moment we were greeted, and then shown to our rooms, I was in love. Walking through the trees and up the steps to a rustic type room that offered all that we needed. Very clean, great position and we could not fault our stay. The breakfasts looked like they were for an army of people and catered for all tastes. Two dinners were supplied and home cooked and just beautiful. A Braai well catered for with lots of food as well. Would really recommend the Umlilo Lodge to anyone going into the area. Handy position to shops, a very easy walk to the markets. Thanks to the lady owner and her son for looking after us so well. Would go back given the chance but New Zealand is quite a way to come from.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elvisp1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great first visit to St Lucia thanks to Umlilo. Well located in the town. Excellent advice about where to go and what to do in the area. Nice breakfast, especially the muffins. Would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.3 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 31 in St Lucia
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#1 of 31 in St Lucia
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 31 in St Lucia
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#5 of 31 in St Lucia
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umlilo Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umlilo Lodge B&B

Address: 9 Dolphin Avenue | PO Box 267, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range: £87 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Umlilo Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umlilo Lodge is located in St Lucia and surrounded by the Big 4 (no Lions) iSimangaliso Wetland Park; South Africa's first National World Heritage Site. Lake St Lucia is a large estuarine lake abundant with hippos, crocodiles, fish and hundreds of bird species. The area comprises rivers, lakes, marshes, mangrove swamps and huge sand dunes, protection the town from the Indian Ocean, beautiful unspoiled beaches with Whale Watching and Sea Turtle Tours in Season. Our rustic but luxurious Lodge offer 12 comfortable en suite guests bedrooms, All rooms have air - conditioning, 10 TV channels, mosquito nets, hair dryer, safety deposit boxes, refrigerator, complimentary tea & coffee facility etc. Guests can choose to laze on the wooden deck by the pool, make use of full internet in our info area as well as WiFi for guests who would like to bring their own WiFi devise. Relax in our bar lounge with honesty bar full Digital Satellite Television (DSTV) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Umlilo Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing