We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
US$77
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$104
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mavundla Guest House(Richards Bay)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
283
50
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
50
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern designgreat architecturegarden roomguest houselarge poolguest roomsbreakfast is servedstayed for nightsthe reserveoverlooking the gardenfresh fruitocean basketwarm hospitalitywetland parklovely settingevery morningexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at the Serene Estate for five days after touring around South Africa and had a wonderful, relaxing time. Not only the beautiful architecture of the house and garden makes you oh and ah, but also the perfect service. Olga and Hans, as well as Jacky, the manager, were extremely nice and helped us with all our questions. The breakfast on the airy terrasse is phenominal, the rooms are spacious and very tidy. We can fully recommend this luxurious guesthouse.

Susanne + Hubert from Bavaria/Germany

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This guest house is among many tucked away on the back streets of St Lucia. The photos of the place are terrific conjuring up an image of a very modern bright structure with lots of light. We arrived into a well lit reception area beautifully decorated with charming staff. However, when we were shown our room, we were very disappointed. All four modern guests rooms are actually located on what would normally be considered a basement or underground garage area, giving the actual living space a very dark and dungeon like feeling. The one wall facing the garden does feature floor to ceiling windows but the other three sides of the room are solid and very dark. Though the furnishing are very nice and the staff lovely, the entire experience was missing a beat. It was different than we imagined it would be looking at the promotional photos.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the lower basement level with walk outs to the garden.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boudecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hans720, Owner at Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Comment on review:

As owner/manager, it is always difficult to have a discussion with anonymous guests regarding a negative experience, sent to Tripadvisor. Via internet, we finally have traced the guests, coming from the US and as couple they have stayed with us for 2 nights in July 2012, mid-winter. First of all, we haven’t received any complaints or negative experience during their short stay, nothing at all. Secondly, experience of an accommodation is purely individually based, there is no accounting for tastes. We respect another opinion. However, an opinion has to be founded on reasonable arguments. We believe this review is unfair for several reasons.
1. Our accommodation is located at the edge of the village, very quiet with only pure nature around us (directly bordering Wetlands Park). This part in St Lucia is recognized as the best place in town.
2. Our accommodation has been designed by professionals and the quality is not an issue for discussion (I refer to all other reviews from all over the world).
3. As St Lucia has a hilly landscape with differences in height, the design has been based on using the advantages of these differences. All rooms including owner's residence have absolutely 100% free view into the nature. The concerning room is at the park level, all 4 rooms with private gardens and the back garden including the big pool are all at the same level. The landscape of the property and the adjacent park has been integrated. The idea of an ‘underground garage’ is completely misplaced.
4. One of our assets is the lighting, artificial and day light as well. All big and bright Parkview rooms (50 m2) have big ‘full sized’ window frames at the park side (whole room width and height) is for South African standards oversized. To bring extra day light in the rear of the rooms (bath room area), we have used so-called ‘sun catchers’, bringing day light from the roof.
5. We don’t understand the lack of ‘beat’, no arguments have been used. We are trying to achieve serenity in all aspects.
Summarized, we regret the review very much because in our view it isn’t founded on objective arguments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Serene was one of the best places we have been in South Africa. The grounds are perfect, the venue is clean and neat. the rooms are spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the yellow.
Their breakfast was phenomenal and Hans and Olga are very kind and engaging and know how to accommodate your every need without being too much in your face or space.

Room Tip: All the garden rooms are good
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8mmSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Wow! what a great stay we had. The building is fantastic,we chose the property for the modern design and certainly were not disapointed. A lot of time had been spent designing and fitting out the house to a very high standard.Our room was a delight,big and spacious and flooded with sunlight. It was a suprisingly large swimming pool for a guest house. Olga and Hans were wonderful hosts. They organised 3 exellent trips for us and recomended some restaurants(one we ate at 3 times the fish was so good). The breakfast was of the same high class. I would love to live in our room. We travelled 6000 km through S.A and this package was the best, you must stay there!

Room Tip: Upstairs looking out the back
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

As described by earlier guests you are set down during check in, given a refreshing drink and given suggestions on how to enjoy the area. They set us up for the drive to Cape Vidal (several cool loop roads), a sunset boat trip on the estuary to see hippos and crocs and a great game drive to Imfolozi Park. They also gave us restaurant suggestions. Great rooms with cool wildlife sightings in the garden. I also enjoyed the breakfasts here. Very modern architecture. Highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the back
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copperdesk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews