We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

This is a first classs guest house where the Dutch owners take great care in ensuring that everything is perfect. Excellent rooms and wonderful breakfasts. The occasional dinners that are offered are superb. Overall would highly recommend Serene Estate.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Johnmjm133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    45
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
219
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Excellent stay at Serene Guest House. The property is stunning, rooms immaculate and friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent and staff were very helpful in recommending what to do in the surrounding area.
All in all a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMcAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My wife and I stayed six nights in Serene Estate. Olga and Hans as well as their very friendly staff each day gave us a warm feeling of being very welcome. Breakfast on the terrace was an excellent start of the day with fresh fruit and a daily changing first course of the breakfast. The lounge and breakfast terrace with views on the pond, garden and swimming pool is indeed very serene. Our hosts are also very knowledgable about what activities can be undertaken in and around St Lucia. Due to their never ending endeavours we enjoyed trips and saw abundant wildlife in iSimangaliso park, Hluhluwe-Imfolozi, on a boat trip on the estuary and during a morning outing with Larrie, the bird guide. Last but not least our hosts arranged an excellent dinner on their terrace one night to make a change from the somewhat restricted restaurant menus in St Lucia. In short a wonderfully serene place which we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the park side, ample space and wonderful view on the park and swiming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This beautiful house offers luxurious and spacious rooms, alle connect to a swimming pool that looks over the park. In the morning a nice breakfast is served and the Dutch couple (owners) is more than willing to help to make the most out of your stay. An absolute recommendation!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burghausen
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at the Serene Estate for five days after touring around South Africa and had a wonderful, relaxing time. Not only the beautiful architecture of the house and garden makes you oh and ah, but also the perfect service. Olga and Hans, as well as Jacky, the manager, were extremely nice and helped us with all our questions. The breakfast on the airy terrasse is phenominal, the rooms are spacious and very tidy. We can fully recommend this luxurious guesthouse.

Susanne + Hubert from Bavaria/Germany

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
240 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This guest house is among many tucked away on the back streets of St Lucia. The photos of the place are terrific conjuring up an image of a very modern bright structure with lots of light. We arrived into a well lit reception area beautifully decorated with charming staff. However, when we were shown our room, we were very disappointed. All four modern guests rooms are actually located on what would normally be considered a basement or underground garage area, giving the actual living space a very dark and dungeon like feeling. The one wall facing the garden does feature floor to ceiling windows but the other three sides of the room are solid and very dark. Though the furnishing are very nice and the staff lovely, the entire experience was missing a beat. It was different than we imagined it would be looking at the promotional photos.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the lower basement level with walk outs to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boudecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hans720, Owner at Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Comment on review:

As owner/manager, it is always difficult to have a discussion with anonymous guests regarding a negative experience, sent to Tripadvisor. Via internet, we finally have traced the guests, coming from the US and as couple they have stayed with us for 2 nights in July 2012, mid-winter. First of all, we haven’t received any complaints or negative experience during their short stay, nothing at all. Secondly, experience of an accommodation is purely individually based, there is no accounting for tastes. We respect another opinion. However, an opinion has to be founded on reasonable arguments. We believe this review is unfair for several reasons.
1. Our accommodation is located at the edge of the village, very quiet with only pure nature around us (directly bordering Wetlands Park). This part in St Lucia is recognized as the best place in town.
2. Our accommodation has been designed by professionals and the quality is not an issue for discussion (I refer to all other reviews from all over the world).
3. As St Lucia has a hilly landscape with differences in height, the design has been based on using the advantages of these differences. All rooms including owner's residence have absolutely 100% free view into the nature. The concerning room is at the park level, all 4 rooms with private gardens and the back garden including the big pool are all at the same level. The landscape of the property and the adjacent park has been integrated. The idea of an ‘underground garage’ is completely misplaced.
4. One of our assets is the lighting, artificial and day light as well. All big and bright Parkview rooms (50 m2) have big ‘full sized’ window frames at the park side (whole room width and height) is for South African standards oversized. To bring extra day light in the rear of the rooms (bath room area), we have used so-called ‘sun catchers’, bringing day light from the roof.
5. We don’t understand the lack of ‘beat’, no arguments have been used. We are trying to achieve serenity in all aspects.
Summarized, we regret the review very much because in our view it isn’t founded on objective arguments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Serene was one of the best places we have been in South Africa. The grounds are perfect, the venue is clean and neat. the rooms are spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the yellow.
Their breakfast was phenomenal and Hans and Olga are very kind and engaging and know how to accommodate your every need without being too much in your face or space.

Room Tip: All the garden rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8mmSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Lucia Guesthouse
Santa Lucia Guesthouse
#5 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
Address: 119 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique design: poetic architecture, serene atmosphere, pure quality, maximum convenience challenges for an unforgettable visit The most exclusive newly build guesthouse in St. Lucia is totally different regarding architecture and exclusivity. Minimalistic with a warm atmosphere. Big luxury rooms (50m2 each), a fantastic view into the garden and Wetlands Park with all the birds and animals, the silence, a beautiful large swimming pool and warm Dutch hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing