We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmaZulu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AmaZulu Lodge
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We loved every minute of our stay at Amazulu, from the wonderful friendly front desk staff to our beautifully appointed room, that was spotless. Everything is perfectly kept at the lodge. There is alot of attention to detail put into each room, even down to the his and hers towels. Breakfast was a great part of our day with a nice little breakfast selection with ultra-friendly staff.
The lodge is in a great location on the main street, and is so convenient to walk to a restaurant for supper, but at the same time is quiet and feels somewhat secluded. I absolutely love st Lucia and definitely will be returning to Amazulu on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    65
    37
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
97
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

The room was big and nice but smelled very strongly of chemicals (against bugs?). The bathroom was integrated in the room with no door, not so nice. The securitybox was broken so we could´nt lock our valubles in. The remote control for the TV was broke to and the the TV was placed very high so you had to stand on a chair to put it on. It had just four channels. Unfourtunately it rained all our stay, that´s why we wanted to watch TV. The wi fi didnt work in our room. The signal was to weak, so we had to take our computer to the receptionarea.
Teh breakfast personal was very slow and the breakfast seving times were always delayed with half an hour.
The reception personal were very nice and serviceminded.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is localized high, especially when it rains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed Three nights as part of a 5 day trip to Cape Vidal and St Lucia.
Awsome Manager - Diane extremely helpfull and professional as for the staff, friendly and very helpful. Good breakfast. value for money. The rooms were spotless and in my opinion struck a good balance between African ambience and modern comfort,
The swimming pool is huge, the beauty salon was an experience and they even organize boat and turtle trips.

Room Tip: Room two for u is just great. Fantastic garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacues B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here as part of a 2 day trip to Hluhluwe game reserve and St Lucia. The rooms were spotless and in my opinion struck a good balance between African ambience and modern comfort. Nice shampoo, body wash and lotion provided.
We didn't have time to use the pool but it looked clean, and breakfast was really nice. The owner was friendly and helpful, and we ended up wishing we had more than one night here.
A good range of restaurants on the Main Street of town and a close drive to lots of wildlife- we're planning to return on our next trip back to the east cost!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

the ambiance is awesome. the rooms are clean, it has african interior decorating look. the pool area is relaxing and quiet. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Good breakfast. value for money. they organise trips for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manuela312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Over rated. Not an authentic experience like the Lonely Planet suggests. Authentic example of White South African arrogance.
Staff were rude and entered into an actual argument with me when I pointed out areas of the room which needed attention. Live socket with no bulb over bed. Health and safety hazard, could easily have put fingers into it when reaching up in the dark. Other light fixtures without bulbs. A hairdryer that was just about ready to burn out and did not dry hair. A cat that ,I realised after I sat on the chair, had made a bed on the patio chairs outside the room... I am allergic to cat hair, this made me unwell. Broken blinds etc... Not a four star standard. Carelessness really.
However the most annoying part of the brief stay was the attitude of the staff. The more senior woman, an owner perhaps, entered into an argument with me when I pointed out the above. I actuakly had to state that I did not want to argue with her. She said she would deal with me after she put on an extravagent display with another couple where she asked if they had enjoyed the stay, she smirked as she did this, almost as if she were rolling her eyes at the silly fools that dared to identify faults in the lodge. When she finished this childish and unprofessional scene she returned her attention to us. The second receptionist joined in at this time, a united front, it was absolutely the most ridiculous and unprofessional example of ' customer service' I have ever witnessed.
This lodge is not worth over one hundred euro per night. Do not waste your money and save your dignity.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laneyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Clean, comfortable room, attractive buildings and pool, ideal location at end of the main street close to Estuary, restaurants and shops, helpful and attentive staff, good breakfast and service - couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markwp74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge
#6 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmaZulu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmaZulu Lodge

Property: AmaZulu Lodge
Address: 107 Mc Kenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AmaZulu Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your AmaZulu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing