We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy”
Review of AmaZulu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmaZulu Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bäckebron, Värmlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel manager here, is excellent. it is a little worn down the place, but overall good, and great with parking space, breakfast is good and the rooms are clean. A little bit of upgrading, like new tv, internet in the room, and a bar in the evenings, would do wonders.
And perhaps someone in the reception in the evenings..

Room Tip: Take a room at the back, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    66
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
38
99
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vereeniging
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in this lodge for three nigts.
It is such a beautiful place. Accommodation was very comfortable.
Rooms a good size and bedding excellent quality.
The location is great.
Very competant and friendly manager and staff.
Lovely swimming pool and gardens.
Next time I,m in St Lucia I will stay at AmaZulu.

Room Tip: Room 31and 14 are the rooms we stayed in and they are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klasien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

As an out-of-town-er, one thing that struck me was that we could not have even entered Amazulu Lodge had one of us not had a cellphone working in South Africa. They close doors at 6pm... we were 2 minutes late, but the doors were locked. You call the manager who comes and opens the doors and gives you the room keys.
The place was very unique in its style and very very comfortable. The rustic feel was what I enjoyed the most. But the rooms do not have much in terms of a view. The bathroom had good supplies which was a plus. The decoration and style of the rooms were very traditional which enhanced our experience of the stay. It is just walking distance from many restaurants which was a plus when walking out to get lunch and dinners.
Breakfast was simple yet tasty. the food seemed homemade and added to the enjoyment. The common area also had an upstairs which was cosy and comfortable to read a book or work on your computer. The only downside was that internet was not available inside the rooms which made us to sit in the reception and check our emails and do some work.
Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlzdayout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

When we arrived from Durban, the reception was fantastic, our room was not ready , but it did not matter, we lazed around the pool until it was, then we went to the river for our cruise. The room was very confortable, very game reserve look *** really good beds , its always my worry with bad back history, Breakfast was ample and staff was very proffessional... i would recomend anybody to stay there , i have a very nice souvenir ... thank you very much !!! loved it ..

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be the same , so it does not matter, the only problem i had , is the smell of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We loved every minute of our stay at Amazulu, from the wonderful friendly front desk staff to our beautifully appointed room, that was spotless. Everything is perfectly kept at the lodge. There is alot of attention to detail put into each room, even down to the his and hers towels. Breakfast was a great part of our day with a nice little breakfast selection with ultra-friendly staff.
The lodge is in a great location on the main street, and is so convenient to walk to a restaurant for supper, but at the same time is quiet and feels somewhat secluded. I absolutely love st Lucia and definitely will be returning to Amazulu on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The room was big and nice but smelled very strongly of chemicals (against bugs?). The bathroom was integrated in the room with no door, not so nice. The securitybox was broken so we could´nt lock our valubles in. The remote control for the TV was broke to and the the TV was placed very high so you had to stand on a chair to put it on. It had just four channels. Unfourtunately it rained all our stay, that´s why we wanted to watch TV. The wi fi didnt work in our room. The signal was to weak, so we had to take our computer to the receptionarea.
Teh breakfast personal was very slow and the breakfast seving times were always delayed with half an hour.
The reception personal were very nice and serviceminded.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is localized high, especially when it rains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed Three nights as part of a 5 day trip to Cape Vidal and St Lucia.
Awsome Manager - Diane extremely helpfull and professional as for the staff, friendly and very helpful. Good breakfast. value for money. The rooms were spotless and in my opinion struck a good balance between African ambience and modern comfort,
The swimming pool is huge, the beauty salon was an experience and they even organize boat and turtle trips.

Room Tip: Room two for u is just great. Fantastic garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacues B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge
#5 of 32 in St Lucia
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmaZulu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmaZulu Lodge

Property: AmaZulu Lodge
Address: 107 Mc Kenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AmaZulu Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your AmaZulu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing