We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT WHAT WAS PROMISED” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hippo Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hippo Hideaway
Stanger, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT WHAT WAS PROMISED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Expected 4 star accomodation as desrcibed in brochures. DEFINITELY NOT 4 STAR - although charge 4 star rates Fixtures and fittings are basic. "FULL AIRCONDITIONED" unit had one airconditioner in living area - had to keep bedroom doors open in hope of cooling bedrooms down. Stayed in Unit 5 which was tucked away in a corner near the maids quarters. Complex has no greenery - fully concreted courtyard. No privacy as all units open out into this central courtyard - OK if you like communal living. Stove and Oven did not work, no water pressure, and no porter to help you with your luggage.
However unit is very clean and tidy and Staff are excellent although senior managemnet not around in times of need.

Room Tip: Ask for the older units facing the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbodasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    46
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Hippo hideaway is an atmospheric self=catering property, with spacious units, close to a number of good restaurants which is at the edge of the St Lucia wetlands national park. Great facilities for children, and hippo watching tours up the river starting just up the road. Good atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAE51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
950 reviews
404 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

They have one bedroom and 2 bedroom self catering units. I got the 2 bedroom for the same price in the back with a garden and access to the river. The one bedroom was in front of the pool. You can’t see the river because is a natural reserve and they can’t cut the trees. But it has a pier and you can walk to the river. The place was very, very clean especially the kitchen but when I walked into the kitchen area at night there was a cockroach running around in the counter. Then I was sitting in the living area watching TV and a huge black ant came out from behind. Everything was so clean, but it is in a wild natural reserve area. I was unable to sleep unreasonably thinking bugs were going to crawl over me. It had everything to cook a meal and all in very good condition. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom had all amenities even though it wasn’t a very nice bathroom. There was a supermarket and a bank in front and it is in the main street, close to restaurants. St Lucia is a great place to walk around in the early morning and enjoy watching the birds and, on your way the monkeys strolling into town, we also saw the smaller antelope in Africa. St Lucia has very good infrastructure to walk around. We enjoyed the cruise and saw a lot of hippos including one born a couple of days before. We also saw a lot of interesting birds.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

My husband and I spent only one night in St. Lucia, but I think that had we spent more time in the area, we would've certainly stayed at the Hippo Hideaway. My boss recommended it, and I'm glad we took her advice! The rooms are roomy and have all of the self-catering essentials. We were really pleased with the location and we had a nice walk to dinner and the shops. If you will be in St. Lucia for a short time, be sure to ask the staff ahead of time about booking cruises or excursions. They are happy to help, but asking them for help early on may be the best way to fit everything in!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etoile983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

Hippo Hideaway is a great venue for a very reasonable price. Where else can you cook a barbecue while hippos stroll past you at the bottom of the garden? The amenties were very good, staff excellent and the location is idyllic being close to the main street shopping facilities and the nearby wetlands areas. St Lucia itself is a wonderful place to take a holiday. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cogtrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

This place is an amazingly charming hotel in St. Lucia. The courtyard area includes a pool and sitting area complete with hammocks overlooking the estuary. At night the hippos sometimes graze on the front lawn so if you're looking to spot some it's an excellent choice! Right in the heart of St. Lucia in walking distance to restaurants, shops and markets as well as the hippo river boat tours.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCMURR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Situated conveniently, yet quietly, just off the main street in St Lucia, this place is a hidden gem. Our little cottage was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The location with the supermarket and restaurants nearby was ideal. The whole place including our braai area was immaculately cleaned every day. The communal area with picnic tables, hammocks and a small pool was beautifully kept, in spite of visits by monkeys (tip - don't leave your packet of biscuits unattended!). Complementary Easter eggs were a lovely touch. The boat trip and wilderness walk organised by the staff were both very enjoyable. Sadly no hippos in the garden for us.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.2 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#13 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hideaway

Property: Hippo Hideaway
Address: 70 McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hippo Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing