We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat clean safe”
Review of Hippo Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hippo Hideaway
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights away with 3 friends. The unit was a self catering, 4 sleeper. There were 2 rooms one with a double bed and the other had 2 single beds. There was one bathroom with a shower and bath. The unit was clean and compact and kitchen had all the utensils required. A daily maid service was also available. These complex is situated on the main road and has ample parking. There are many restaurants within walking distance. We had a wonderful time in the area and this was the perfect base to explore the surroundings.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank dbnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Hippo Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay at this comfortable self catering establishment. We stayed in a comfortable air conditioned 2 bedroom chalet that was clean, neat and tidy and was also equipped with everything we needed.

Beautifully maintained gardens and grounds and the lodge is located within walking distance of restuarants, supermarkets etc. Just the Eskom load shedding that dampened a nearly perfect weekend.

Great place to stay and explore St Lucia.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Ashina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent three nights in saint. lucia. The apartments are well furnished, clean, and we found there everything we needed. The apartments are situated in the main street, only a short walk from all restaurants and shops, just in front of a good supermarket. There is a nice pool with a beautiful view and a play area for children. We stayed in a estuary facing apartment that has a nice garden with a barbecue. The first night we had a family of hippos in our garden!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miliroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Recently visited St Lucia,Hluluwe-Imfolozi,Isimingaliso wetlands.Excellent place to stay.Staff professional and accomadating,namely Pumi.Allowed early checkin and late checkout.Rooms had all selfcatering equipment,comfortable and clean.Very conveniently situated,directly opposite supermarket,close to restaurants and tour operators.Pool and Lapa with braai facilities well maintained and gave a nice "communal living" feel to the place and yet sufficient privacy.Would definitely stay there again on next visit.Great base to explore a world heritage site and game reserves.

Room Tip: we stayed in unit 12 and 14
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momo846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed here with 4 adults and one child and it was great! Great location and the service was very friendly and helpful. The pool was very clean, the housekeeping staff super friendly, and the accommodations clean, comfortable and simple. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 478MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This was an excellent place to stay. We had four days here while exploring the beaches and game parks and were very pleased. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable, the staff pleasant and helpful. The situation is good from the point of view of amenities as it is on the main street yet at the same time it is very quiet. There is good security.

There is a good pool and an excellent boma (I think that is what it is called) with hammocks and barbecues.

The hippos really did come on to the lawn as the back of the hideaway is right on the lagoon. There were no mosquitoes or any other flying nuisances even though it was so close to the water.

Thoroughly recommend it as a place to stay while visiting this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallowsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

A top class establishment. Centrally situated. Nice pool. Safe parking with overnight guard. In the past three years we have been there it was quiet and peaceful.
Unfortunately this year there were certain families who gave their children free rein of the facilities, for example by allowing them to skateboard round the public areas, with no consideration to the other guests.
We would have given the establishment top marks if it hadn't been for the above.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hideaway

Address: 70 McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range: £55 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hippo Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing