We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly charming hotel in the heart of St. Lucia!”
Review of Hippo Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hippo Hideaway
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly charming hotel in the heart of St. Lucia!”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

This place is an amazingly charming hotel in St. Lucia. The courtyard area includes a pool and sitting area complete with hammocks overlooking the estuary. At night the hippos sometimes graze on the front lawn so if you're looking to spot some it's an excellent choice! Right in the heart of St. Lucia in walking distance to restaurants, shops and markets as well as the hippo river boat tours.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCMURR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    48
    20
    14
    7
See reviews for
59
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Situated conveniently, yet quietly, just off the main street in St Lucia, this place is a hidden gem. Our little cottage was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The location with the supermarket and restaurants nearby was ideal. The whole place including our braai area was immaculately cleaned every day. The communal area with picnic tables, hammocks and a small pool was beautifully kept, in spite of visits by monkeys (tip - don't leave your packet of biscuits unattended!). Complementary Easter eggs were a lovely touch. The boat trip and wilderness walk organised by the staff were both very enjoyable. Sadly no hippos in the garden for us.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EUROPE
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

I chose this accomodation on just two reviews (plus other good reviews on different site) and on the photos on their website. The rooms were a great size (we had a normal room and a family room), the kitchen was fully equipped, the bathroom had nice gels etc. all you need to take is a hairdrier. The only thing I was disappointed with were the photos of the place, makes it look as though there is a massive lawn and a huge pool which there is n't although the brai area is very large. Reception off at 5 pm. No wifi. Could have had better guidance with excursions. In rooms 2 and 3 the daylight streamed in at 5 am due to thin white curtain. Staff pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANEEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We spent 4 nights here while exploring the region. The rooms were clean, spacious, and well looked-after as were the public areas. The staff were pleasant and we had a very relaxing few days here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJF212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

What a great place - right in the middle of St. Lucia, these self contained rooms have all the facilities required for a relaxing stay.

The pool area is lovely as is the the rows of tables to enjoy dinner on after a braai or just chill out with a drink as the sun sets.

There appears to be a range of accomodation options, but the standard rooms with bathroom and kitchen were more than adequate enough. Supermarket across the street for everything you need to rustle up a meal.

Thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Liked — great rooms, good open area with a nice pool
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmaZulu Lodge
AmaZulu Lodge
#9 of 32 in St Lucia
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Lucia Guesthouse
Santa Lucia Guesthouse
#6 of 29 in St Lucia
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hideaway

Property: Hippo Hideaway
Address: 70 McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hippo Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing