We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what you might expect from a guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephant Coast Guest House
Ranked #4 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“what you might expect from a guesthouse”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The elephant coast guesthouse is all you might expect from a guesthouse. Located at the utter point of saint lucia close to the beach and the national park it also attracts some animals slipping into the garden. From the spacious communal room, loaded with cheetah printed furniture and wooden art work everywhere, you can spot them. The rooms are spacious and clean, you have a big bathroom, there is a parking area in the back and a garden including swimming pool at your convience. Breakfast has a good selection. Wifi in the rooms would be nice, it would solve the irritation from the owners that people have to use the communal area for skype or facetime.

So again, all you can expect from a good guesthouse. Still something ticked me off here. Maybe it was the over-familiar reception at the start. Although after 5 minutes of warm welcome marketing lady Myrthle turned to be a great help in explaining what to do around Saint Lucia and helped us book the right tours. But her nosy mother snooping around all the time and constantly interfering with what we were talking about got on my nerves big time. Mind your own bussines granny.

Maybe it was the rules and regulations (no suitcase on the bed? No facetime after 18.oo hours in the communal room?). Maybe I was just out of my comfort zone or am I too hooked on my own privacy and not looking for chitchat with the owners. I don’t know. I can’t find any objective reason why you should not visit the ECG but personally it was just not my kind of place.

Room Tip: We had a room at the souterrain. That we you are close to the pool but you have no direct view on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    70
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
108
275
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warmenhuizen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

beautiful setting, nice staf, good food, enthusiastic ranger. A good place to give you a luxury wildlife feeling. The gamedrives are excellent, but maybe a bit to much cars together on the way. On the other hand, morning and early evening are the best times to spot animals.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a very nice stay in the guest house last month. We visited the guest house for 3 nights. Employers were very helpfull and friendly. They had great tips about the surroundings, safari's, etc. Our room was big and clean. We had a nice view on to the garden en swimming pool.
We would absolutely recommend this guest house to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our family weekend away was comfortable, peaceful, friendly and our suite was spotless. The breakfast was very good with a beautiful setting but a bit of variety for the second day would have been nice. We were very relaxed, just like being at home. A pity that they decided to do some noisy renovation while we were having our breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlarossi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed three nights at this wonderful guesthouse. It has spotless spacious rooms (we had a renovated room 2), a wonderful garden in which you spot small animals like monkeys, duiker and birds. Most of all we appreciated the warm welcome and hospitality of Dutch owners Ciska and Albert and their helpful staff. We gots lots of great suggestions for an unforgettable stay in St Lucia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked a doubleroom and get a whole appartment with two bedrooms and bathes - one of them was partly open and one day I saw a monkey looking at me. Everybody was so friendly so we felt like staying with friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We were warmly welcomed by Cisca and Albert into their immaculate guest house on the outskirts of St Lucia which backs on to nature reserve. Our room was large,modern and very clean. Breakfasts are served on the patio and are excellent. Cisca and Albert provide a lot of information about the local area and attractions, recommended and booked trips for us. The area around St Lucia has several diverse ecosystems to explore and we particularly enjoyed the estuary cruise, and hluhluwe imfolozi. It is a safe 10 min walk to the village centre and there are good places to eat - just take a torch with you, and yes we did see hippo kudu and bush babies on the way -
Just take a detour around the hippo! Elephant Coast guest house is highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkAndlesley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#8 of 29 in St Lucia
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Coast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Coast Guest House

Property: Elephant Coast Guest House
Address: Kingfisher Street | Mtubatuba, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Coast Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elephant Coast Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing