We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel With Hippo Visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Lake Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Lucia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel With Hippo Visitors”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

As part of our tour we stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It had the lowest star rating of all our 9 hotels we were to stay in, but for me I would give it 5 stars on friendliness alone. Good sized room with nice big shower. All rooms are on the ground floor with sliding glass doors out to an area with a small table and chairs which opens onto the pool area. On our 2nd night a family of Hippo's came to drink from the pool and graze on the lawn, we had a superb view from our room. We went on the early morning game drive run by the hotel and they packed us a hearty breakfast picnic with coffee. Breakfast in the hotel was also good, I tried the chicken livers and they were very very tasty, but a good selection of fruits, cereals etc for those not wanting to be too adventurous. Being with a group we had a set buffet each night but can say the roast meat was the tenderest and tastiest of all the trip.
Would not hesitate in recommending a stay at this lovely, friendly little hotel and hope to return myself for longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    60
    57
    20
    7
See reviews for
32
65
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We only spent one night at this hotel on our way through St Lucia but it was quite a pleasant stay.
Rooms: spacious and clean with a large modern bathroom - large shower - no bath.
The ground floor rooms all have a sliding glass door which opens out onto the garden which overlooks the estuary.
Dining: A full selection of fruits, cereals, juices, bacon, egg, chicken livers, sausages, etc, etc available for breakfast. Staff very pleasant and attentive.
Reception: friendly and efficient.
Location: right in the middle of town but still on the water's edge which ensured the "bush" atmosphere was not lost. Shops & restaurants within easy 2 min walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KZNTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this delightful little hotel and were greeted by the hotel manager who made us feel very welcome and we found that all the staff were delightful and very friendly. Set in beautiful surroundings near the estuary and we even saw a couple of hippos (non-resident) at night who came up from the river to drink from the pool before heading off into town!. Rooms a bit small and could do with a bit of TLC but the friendly staff and fantastic service more than compensated. Smallish dinging room and food very good quality and well presented and a good bar with a viewing deck looking out onto the pool and garden. A lovely hotel and would thoroughly recommend staying there if visiting the beautiful area of Saint Lucia.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinechalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This hotel was situated near the estuary where the hippos live, and a couple came one evening and drank in the swimming pool! Then they saunter into town, obviously to be avoided but great to see them in their own habitat.
Hotel rooms were smaller than most but very comfortable. Dining room was small but it spread out to a patio outside. The staff here were so friendly, and hard working and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: All rooms face the gardens and swimming pool and the air conditioning was modern and well controllab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelastocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed two nights in March as part of a tour group. We were welcomed by the manager who gave us an introduction to the hotel, its facilities and surrounds. A nice personal touch. All our rooms were on the ground floor and included terraces that lead on to the garden and pool area. The rooms were light and homely. Very convenient for taking a dip in the swimming pool which was a decent size. Dinners and breakfasts were very good with some excellent cuisine and some of the best roast meats I have eaten. A bar is on the first level with a deck outside for viewing the hippos that frequent the hotel's garden after dark. We were fortunate enough to see two hippos on the first evening at about 7:15pm but there were no reappearances the following evening. This little 'novelty' certainly elevates the hotel to being something out of the ordinary.

I would recommend this hotel if staying in Saint Lucia; it is small and the staff were all very accommodating. It has a more personal touch than larger hotels. Excursons are available from the hotel, including boat trips on the UNESCO World Heritage estuary (we observed many hippos and a lone buffalo). Hluhluwe Games Reserve and the Eastern Shores of Saint Lucia are also well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A good hotel which seems to largely cater for bus tours. The room was a good size and comfortable but was in need of a lick of paint. A good breakfast on a nice terrace, pool and loungers in a nice garden setting. The reception staff are very helpful and will organise tours at reasonable prices. The night drive was amazing and watching the hippos grazing was an experience. On our fist evening some hippos had come up from the estuary and walked right past the hotel into town in order to graze on a large local green. There is a good choice of places to eat at night very near to the hotel so you don't have to use your car.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcatsbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

It is the only hotel big enough to accommodate tour buses. The rooms are all well furnished and air conditioned. Ground floor rooms lead to nice big swimming pool. The Staff is friendly and efficient, and the buffet breakfast is excellent. The price is good value for money

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room if you want direct access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Lucia
0.6 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
10.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
20.9 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Lake Hotel

Property: Elephant Lake Hotel
Address: McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elephant Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Elephant Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing