We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting & beautiful birds”

Themba's Birding and Ecotours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer a surperb Birdwatching and hiking in the ISimangaliso Wetland Park in the north eastern region of South Africa.This tours accomponed by most expirienced Guides introduce you to many wonders of Nature,including mangrooves swamps,Wildlife,Highest vegetated Sand dunes,beaches Savannas and Lakes. Our birding trips range from 2-3hours -all the way to a multi-day outing. We pick up visitors from where they stay or arrange meeting points. We do all the Zululand north east coastal reserves from St.Lucia,Falsebay,Hluhluwe Imfolozi Park,Mkuze,Sodwana,Tembe Elephant Park,Ndumo and Kosi Bay
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting & beautiful birds”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Themba is a great and knowledgeable guide who knows his birds and where to find them. Worth your time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    7
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had an early morning walk with Themba and saw and learnt a lot, in garden, wetland and forest settings - all in two or three hours. He is very knowledgeable and also excellent at spotting things. I think we listed about 30 or 40 species in the end, including a turaco and a really good long look at a narina trogon. Well worth an early start and well worth the price!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dendy194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Knowledgeable”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Themba's bird and area knowledge is exceptional! We spent 7 hours birding around St Lucia and saw more than 40 species and about 8 lifers! Well worth it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linmic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Investment”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our choice of birding with Themba was a great investment. He spotted and called many species of birds in a variety of settings. We went on walks in St. Lucia forests, fields, wetlands and beach areas and heard many interesting stories of the native birds. Themba is very personable, patient and professional. He also introduced us to the local Zulu culture and we experienced a side we would have missed without his direction and presence.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great way to explore birds of this area”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We had Bheki take us to the canopied area near the estuary.....he definately knew his stuff and we were very impressed with his knowledge of birds, and the ability to mimick their calls! A great way to spend a few hours and discover a side to St Lucia you wouldnt normally see.....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonLynelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Themba's Birding and Ecotours also viewed

St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Themba's Birding and Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing