We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a boattrip to remember!”

Heritage Day Tours & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Heritage tours & Safaris was established by people that LOVE wildlife. Family owned and proudly South African, our aim has always been to enthusiastically share that love and passion with all the satisfied tourists that have been though our hands.Heritage Tours & Safaris offers the widest range of Big 5 Safaris, night drives, hippo and croc cruises and Whale Watching.Our safaris/activities are not only affordable but also offer our guests a value-filled product with a personal touch.We invite you to find out for yourself what sets us apart as a safari company.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had the morning boattrip on August 11th, and it was wonderful to see the hippo family awakening and taking a morning dip. We also saw many other animals and learned a lot from our guide. One tip: it was very cold with the wind so put on your warm clothes!

Thank Joletdenboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Hi Jade thank you for the review. Please do note that since this review that we have included nice warm fleece blankets on all of our vessels for those early morning trips.

It is from great reviews and new ideas from our clients that we will continue to offer you more.

From the Heritage Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"night safari"
in 44 reviews
"umlilo lodge"
in 13 reviews
"big safari"
in 10 reviews
"hluhluwe imfolozi"
in 17 reviews
"cape vidal"
in 39 reviews
"suzette"
in 5 reviews
"guide david"
in 12 reviews
"boat trip"
in 27 reviews
"outstanding service"
in 4 reviews
"safari package"
in 4 reviews
"spotting game"
in 4 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 14 reviews
"hippo tour"
in 12 reviews
"hluhluwe game reserve"
in 12 reviews
"go the extra mile"
in 4 reviews
"nice breakfast"
in 5 reviews
"durban airport"
in 5 reviews
Filter

270 - 274 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

I took the 3 night 4 day package, and it was excellent. The tour guide picked my husband and I from the airport as scheduled, and he was able to explain the sights, flora and fuana en route to St Lucia. We really enjoyed the river, day and night safaris, which were professionally run. We managed to see the Big Five, as well as whales in the distance from the beach at Cape Vidal.

The tour company was not able to book their regular hotels for us, so they checked us into a new hotel, which did not provide breakfast. They compensated us with meal vouchers in place of breakfast. There was one packed breakfast they were supposed to provide, but due to some miscommunication amongst their staff, we never received it. However, they immediately refunded us the cost of the missing breakfast, when we gave them feedback.

I was most impressed by their concern for quality. We were asked by their front desk staff for feedback on the hotel and other aspects of the tour.

This is a very reasonably priced tour with good guides.

Thank chattypheyling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

HI Chatty, we would like to thank you very much for the splendid review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Truck not very comfortable but Stacy was a great guide. She and her husband worked hard to make it a great experience.

Thank SanClementeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Hluhluwe Imfolozi remains a true African gem and we are so glad to hear that you had a tremendous time with Stacey.

Since this review we would like to bring it to your attention that we have added 2 new game drive vehicles to our fleet. With your review we have instructed that all seats be upholstered with even more foam ensuring more comfort.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and once again we can not reiterate the importance of our clients letting us now how we can further improve our service.

Kind regards The Heritage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a very great way to guarantee to see hippos, which are not always visible in other parks. The basic tour is about 2.5 hours, and is reasonably priced.

What we liked:
1. Stacy! What an excellent and knowledgeable guide!
2. The size of the boat. It's a pontoon that's small enough to be very personal. Some of the boats are huge and have two decks. Heritage boats take about 15 people, so the guide is able to answer questions and interact more easily with guests.
3. We were able to get fairly close to some beautiful birds, too.

I you're visiting St. Lucia and want to have a great experience looking at hippos close-up, and see birds and possibly crocs, this is the way to go!

1  Thank PANeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

A super exciting and rewarding review thank you so much for posting this incredible review. We truly try and offer superior excursions while out on the water.

With our vessels being smaller in size we do hope that our clients are able to enjoy a more personal and interactive trip.

Thank you again from the Heritage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Jonathan was a great guide-saw so many animals and he was super informative on all the animals, birds, plants, etc... Our family of 4 (15 & 17yr old) loved it along with the Brie lunch he cooked up! Jonathan also kept us safe around an elephant in muskh-we'll never forget this experience!

2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you very much Lisa for this splendid review, Jonathan was super excited when he read this review and it gives us such appreciation when we read these reviews with regards to not only to our safaris but more importantly what our rangers give back.

Kind regards the entire Heritage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heritage Day Tours & Safaris also viewed

 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Heritage Day Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing