We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hornbill House
Nearby Hotels
AmaZulu Lodge(St Lucia)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Little Eden St Lucia(St Lucia)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bhangazi Lodge(St Lucia)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlin Lodge St Lucia(St Lucia)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maputaland Guest House(St Lucia)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
14
10
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
10
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnext morningcape vidalinformationhostlucia
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

No credit cards. Hadn't expected to have cats, dogs and chickens wandering the house (I am very allergic to cats) so was glad I had a door to the outside to air out room (although it was cold & pouring rain most of the night and a bushbaby cried all night long). Rooms are nice but hard to drag the suitcases up to. The TV is the same channel throughout the house. Did get free internet after showing their ad to manager. They were nice about throwing in a load of wash for R90. Since I was stuck up in my room - I missed out on the baked goods for breakfast. There was a bunkbed in the "Family Room" - but not much discount was given. We had booked B&B for the chameleon tour - and unfortunately, they were sold out that night :( HUGE disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We stayed 5 days in Hornbill House, and the least we can say is that we had a great time, in this comfortable, affordable and well situated B&B. The room was nice, clean and quiet, with a lovely view on the garden. Breakfast was very good and the service warm, friendly and helpful. The great advantage of Hornbill House is that his owner, Kian, is also a professional guide and will cater for all your touring needs in the area. His guiding skills are top notch. This stay was a highlight of our holidays in South Africa. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rialtox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

A warm welcome awaits you at Hornbill House. We had a nice room with a balcony over the front garden and an en suite. The owners and their menagerie are all very friendly (unless you sit on the chicken’s favourite chair!) and made us feel very much at home. Rather than a small selection of tea and coffee in your room, you are free to try and choose between literally hundreds of teas (as well as the normal varieties). There are a number of trips that Hornbill House can arrange on your behalf, using their own, very knowledgeable guide - we went out on to the nearby wildlife park which boasts no less than five ecosystems. We had a very enjoyable stay and a fantastic day out.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exetertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was lovely. We came here straight from the Hilton in Durban and were very impressed. Its a small guesthouse and i think only one other couple stayed at the same time and we only saw them once. The owner was great - recommending restaurants, getting up early to cook us breakfast as we needed to leave early, organising trips and tours (which meant phoning round several companies). The breakfast was simple - eggs cooked to order, tomatoes and bacon. With cereals, toast, croissants and muffins. The tea selection was phenomenal - i think they must collect them! The only drawback was that the family were having a party one night which kept us awake. Also they only take cash and the day we were leaving the island had a powercut (quite frequent) which meant finding a working cashpoint was almost impossible (we found one near the post office), otherwise it was 1.5 hour long trip to get out of st. lucia to the nearest cashpoint. Fabulous location, great staff, comfy (if dated) room - will be back if we can!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Our stay at Hornbill House was so memorable because of Kian Barker's excellent guiding skills. He also employs other guides to offer other trips as well.

Hornbill House provided a comfortable and friendly base for our 3 night stay in St Lucia. Other reviews had highlighted Kian's expertise which was why we chose to stay here and we were not disappointed. For the whole of our family Kian's guided night tour was the highlight of our two week stay in South Africa. The way he conveyed his vast knowledge of the wildlife in the wetlands had us all spellbound.

Hornbill House provided a relaxed atmosphere from which we based our visit to the area. Breakfast was informal and friendly with an excellent selection of teas and jams. Our comfortable rooms were efficiently maintained and it was only a short 5 minute walk into town for dinner.

We also undertook the cycle tour - which was easily manageable by our whole family and well informed by one of Kian's local guides, and the full day tour including snorkelling at Cape Vidal.

Kian runs a very efficient operation out of Hornbill House and is working hard to support and promote the St Lucia wetlands. Unfortunately we did not have enough time to see the nesting turtles but we hope to return some time in the future to do this.

Gerard, Maggi, Teague and Sorcha

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews